clip automation in session

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Muzik 4 Machines
Posts: 769
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 9:35 am

clip automation in session

Post by Muzik 4 Machines » Sat Nov 03, 2012 1:45 am

so, right now we have relative automation in session clips, what happens now? will 9 have a switch relative/absolute (otherwise it will fuck up all old projects)
is there a way once you assemble clips in arrange to move all those clip automation to the real automation lanes automagically or do i need to redo all the automation i did in session in the arrange?

glitchrock-buddha
Posts: 4357
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2005 1:29 am
Location: The Ableton Live Forum

Re: clip automation in session

Post by glitchrock-buddha » Sat Nov 03, 2012 4:28 am

Live 9 automation does not replace the clip envelopes, they stay as two different things. Clip automation is like the track automation, it's absolute. So your clip envelopes will still work as normal, now you can just record automation over top as well if you wanted.
Professional Shark Jumper.

Dennis DeSantis
Posts: 670
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2002 3:31 pm
Location: Ableton NYC

Re: clip automation in session

Post by Dennis DeSantis » Sat Nov 03, 2012 10:24 pm

Hi folks,

glitchrock-buddha is right, although we're using the term "clip envelopes" to refer to ANY envelopes that are part of clips (as opposed to the Arrangement timeline.) This now includes both modulation envelopes (which are relative, and were available in earlier versions) and automation envelopes (which are absolute and are new in 9.)

Modulation envelopes are hidden by default to avoid clutter in the envelope choosers. If you open a Set made in an earlier version of Live that contains modulation envelopes, you'll see them right away. Otherwise, you can always show modulation envelopes via a context menu option on a parameter.

Best,

Muzik 4 Machines
Posts: 769
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 9:35 am

Re: clip automation in session

Post by Muzik 4 Machines » Sat Nov 03, 2012 11:34 pm

and what about the convert clip enveloppes to automation lanes, is it possible?

flippo2007
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 11:51 pm

Re: clip automation in session

Post by flippo2007 » Mon Dec 31, 2012 12:48 am

Hey.. Does the upcoming live 9 recording of the automation within the clips include "program changes" to abletons synths or changing the chain of more grouped instruments too?

aubford
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 9:37 pm

Re: clip automation in session

Post by aubford » Sat Feb 23, 2013 7:42 am

Thank you Jesus! Does this mean you are finally doing away with relative clip automation? That's amazing! That was literally the only hopelessly idiotic thing implemented in Ableton. Everything else has at least a reasonable excuse (breakpoints, ect.). That's great news that it's finally done with! My only question is will there be a way to convert that into the new absolute modulation that it seems you're now implementing into the clips...

Post Reply