SAMPLER: sample speeds up as pitch rises?

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
adamdegraff

SAMPLER: sample speeds up as pitch rises?

Post by adamdegraff » Sun Nov 11, 2012 2:08 am

I dragged a sound into sampler and I'm totally digging it. (Yeah, I'm new to SAMPLER.) Anyway, as I increase pitch, my sample plays faster. Is there a way to get it to play at the same speed regardless of pitch? Or is that how it works?

Thanks

antarktika

Re: SAMPLER: sample speeds up as pitch rises?

Post by antarktika » Sun Nov 11, 2012 4:31 am

That's how it works.

This might help:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=p ... i9TFTZFZGs

glitchrock-buddha

Post by glitchrock-buddha » Sun Nov 11, 2012 11:21 am

For it to change pitch without changing the sample playback speed, it would need a timestretch mode. Many of us have been requesting it since it first came out, but apparently their top of the line sampler does not need timestretch.
Professional Shark Jumper.

oddstep

Post by oddstep » Sun Nov 11, 2012 12:23 pm

You can get a Samplers sample playback time to be constant by making the sample loop really short and modulating sample start with a positive saw lfo, the lfo rate is the duration of the sample. Its not perfect though. I'd like live 9 to include smoother timestretching in Sampler.

massenmedium

Post by massenmedium » Sun Nov 11, 2012 1:02 pm

You can also use a clip mapped to a key range instead of Sampler. Monophonic only and with some very different limitations / features but it's an option that's there.

esp81

Post by esp81 » Sun Nov 11, 2012 5:35 pm

That's how most samplers work unless they are using a time stretching effect.

Willyum

Post by Willyum » Sun Nov 11, 2012 5:43 pm

adamdegraff wrote:Or is that how it works?
Ableton's Sampler is one of the only pay-for samplers on the market that doesn't have pitch shift/time stretch. It makes absolutely no sense!

glitchrock-buddha

Post by glitchrock-buddha » Sun Nov 11, 2012 5:57 pm

Willyum wrote: