Progressive Trance Questions

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
Andreilg3

Progressive Trance Questions

Post by Andreilg3 » Mon Nov 12, 2012 1:19 am

Hey I am a progressive trance producer and I have come across a few mixing obstacles that I would really appreciate some advice on.

1. My snare is centered in my track but it is about 1db louder on the left side than the right (according to ableton's meter). I tried making it mono, which fixed the meter issue but it sounded awful and way too "centered" at that point. Is it bad that the snare is louder on the left or does it really not matter? The best option I have tried is using Sonalksis Stereo Enhancer and lowering the db on the left side so now they are even and sound about the same but honestly my ears are dead after producing all day so I can't tell anymore.

2. My track is in the key of d minor but my snare is tuned to (d in the lows) primarily B. It sounds far better in the mix as a B than the alternative which is A, but I am sure that is for a lot more reasons than pitch. Does this mean though that being "technically" out of key is always wrong for percussion or is it being considered d melodic minor where the B is acceptable? I have also noticed for some reason that B-flat sounds awful in my track but I can't seem to figure out why, the only B-flat I have going that doesn't sound terrible is in this bass.

3. If my bass has a B-flat and thus is in d natural/harmonic minor, does this make it out of tune if it is playing at the same time as something that is playing (or percussion tuned) in the key of d melodic minor or can two different minor keys be simultaneously played?

4. Should I be putting mono below 120hz-200hz on mostly everything or is that just a vinyl thing. Also frankly if I should be making everything mono below a certain point wouldn't the mastering engineer just do that for me? (and wouldn't this mean that I should just leave it stereo the way it is now?)