Those damned F keys in Live...

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
sporkles
Posts: 3208
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 8:43 pm
Location: Schmocation

Those damned F keys in Live...

Post by sporkles » Thu Nov 15, 2012 10:11 pm

I can't understand why Ableton have the F keys locked to specific functions. Particularly the F1-F8 keys are completely wasted.

I thought I could override this with Bome's MIDI Translator, but the keys still mute/unmute tracks 1-8.

Free them up, already! :x

stringtapper
Posts: 6285
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 6:21 pm

Re: Those damned F keys in Live...

Post by stringtapper » Thu Nov 15, 2012 10:14 pm

I was going to say "Try it in B-flat", then I read the post…

:|
Unsound Designer

sporkles
Posts: 3208
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 8:43 pm
Location: Schmocation

Re: Those damned F keys in Live...

Post by sporkles » Thu Nov 15, 2012 11:57 pm

I mean... The F keys are the ones that stand out and are least prone to cocking things up. They should be freely assignable.

rakim87
Posts: 399
Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 8:06 pm
Location: New England
Contact:

Re: Those damned F keys in Live...

Post by rakim87 » Fri Nov 16, 2012 12:09 am

I haven't had problems with them.
ImageImage

Gab
Posts: 280
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 2:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Those damned F keys in Live...

Post by Gab » Fri Nov 16, 2012 12:16 am

You can use AutoHotKey to either disable them in Live or assign something different to them.

Yes, it adds an utility running in the background, but AHK is worth it.
'If they act too hip, you know they can’t play shit.'

sporkles
Posts: 3208
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 8:43 pm
Location: Schmocation

Re: Those damned F keys in Live...

Post by sporkles » Fri Nov 16, 2012 3:38 pm

Ok, so, unlike Bome's, AHK will actually not pass on a regular "F message" to Live? That's cool, and I will try it.

I was leaning towards Bome's in the first place because I wanted to try to move the Launchpad control frame in Session view, simultaneously updating the Launchpad, with keyboard keys - 8 tracks/scenes at a time, as this takes two button presses on the LP, but no luck... :x

I'll give AHK a go, but I still wish Ableton would remove the necessity for 3rd party apps JUST to free up keys for mapping. For more complex things, sure, but keeping the F keys locked like that is silly.

Gab
Posts: 280
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 2:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Those damned F keys in Live...

Post by Gab » Fri Nov 16, 2012 3:54 pm

To modify the behavior of the F keys in Live, just add the following to your AHK script file :

Code: Select all

#IfWinActive, ahk_class Afx:00400000:0:00000000:01900015:00000000 
F1::
F2::
F3::
#IfWinActive
This will change the way the F keys behave only in Live, thanks to the #IfWinActive, ahk_class Afx:00400000:0:00000000:01900015:00000000 line.

If you add nothing after "F1::", F1 will not do anything in Live (but may still respond globally if other applications use the key in this way). Otherwise, just type the character you want to map F1 to after the two ::.
'If they act too hip, you know they can’t play shit.'

sporkles
Posts: 3208
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 8:43 pm
Location: Schmocation

Re: Those damned F keys in Live...

Post by sporkles » Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:19 pm

Awesome! Thank you very much! :D And that active window string will work regardless of Windows version, etc.? Those numbers didn't mean a lot to me ;)

Gab
Posts: 280
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 2:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Those damned F keys in Live...

Post by Gab » Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:28 pm

Yes, this should work with any version of Windows, actually "Afx:00400000:0:00000000:01900015:00000000 " is the name of the Ableton window, not of a Windows variable.

It that does not work, use the AU3_Spy.exe file (in your AutoHotKey install folder) to monitor your mouse/keyboard/window focus, select the Ableton Windows to get its name/code, and modify the script accordingly. But it should work as provided ;)
'If they act too hip, you know they can’t play shit.'

sporkles
Posts: 3208
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 8:43 pm
Location: Schmocation

Re: Those damned F keys in Live...

Post by sporkles » Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:44 pm

Cool! Thanks again, mate.

payday0023
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2019 6:07 pm

Re: Those damned F keys in Live...

Post by payday0023 » Tue Sep 03, 2019 6:10 pm

This worked for me! My AHK script was a little different:
#IfWinActive, ahk_exe Ableton Live 10 Intro.exe
F1::
F2::
F3::
F4::
F5::
F6::
F7::
F8::
F9::
#IfWinActive

I used the WindowSpy to grab the updated program code. I kept F11 and F12 normal because those toggle Fullscreen and Audio track View vs. FX view, respectively. Also, I needed to disable the Function Hotkeys in my BIOS (Windows 10, Lenovo laptop) so that just pressing a function button did the actual function #, and not so that it engaged one of the Windows hot key functions (e.g. volume up, down, brightness up, down, etc.)

Post Reply