ILok

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Keydaking01
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 3:57 am

ILok

Post by Keydaking01 » Fri Nov 23, 2012 6:56 pm

I just came up on a copy of Protools 10. So i get home, load it up and it says i need an ILok authorization. Can i buy a new ILok or do i need the one that came with the original disc?

filosofem
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 3:12 am
Location: Christchurch NZ

Re: ILok

Post by filosofem » Fri Nov 23, 2012 8:09 pm

Interesting you ask this on Ableton forums, anyways, you need both, Pro Tools 10 authorization and an iLok USB Smart Key. The Pro Tools 10 authorization is then transferred to your iLok account and downloaded to your iLok USB Smart Key which in turn authorizes Pro Tools.
Aaron Mulqueen

XSIMan
Posts: 550
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 7:22 pm
Location: England

Re: ILok

Post by XSIMan » Sat Nov 24, 2012 5:54 pm

Buy an iLok 2
then make an ilok account at ilok.com
then when you buy protools you fill in the bit where it says ilok account name.
The ilok licence will show up in your ilok account on ilok.com where you can install it into your ilok.

Post Reply