Looper, and how to use it.

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
ze2be

Looper, and how to use it.

Post by ze2be » Sat Dec 01, 2012 5:07 am

Hi. Im new to Looper. Ive been through the manual and all the little info views, with no luck. What im trying to do is just hit a button, and have Looper play the last bar of whatever ive just been playng. The only way I can get it to work so far is to hit its record button, then play an instrument, then hit again to start looping. But thats no different then recording audio to Session clips. I might be doing something wrong.

If playing a guitar with both hands, while using a wah wah pedal continualy with one foot, I dont want to break the first seconds of the loop by releasing my foot from the wah wah, to step on the Looper foot switch. That will not be a fluent loop. I want it to continally record, and if I hit Looper at some point before a new bar has passed, it would play/loop the previous bar.

Is it possible?

Upright

Re: Looper, and how to use it.

Post by Upright » Sat Dec 01, 2012 11:14 am

ze2be

Post by ze2be » Sat Dec 01, 2012 1:57 pm

Upright wrote:I don't know if you've seen these...I just caught them yesterday :)
Thanks, but none of those tell if you can do one click looping or not. I guess you cant. I need something that continuosly records and keeps a buffer of a few bars back in time. Whenever you hit record, it loops the last bar you just played. When it repeats you now have just enough time to switch instrument seamlessly.

Ok then, its M4L I guess. I have the license. Never used it though. Maybe this is a good time.
I also have Traktor Pro, maybe it can do it. Hmm..

chapelier fou

Post by chapelier fou » Sat Dec 01, 2012 2:04 pm

I'm just throwing an idea here :
maybe you could think of a system with 2 loopers alternating recordings and make a clever midi mapping, maybe using clips and virtual midi devices to trigger the playing of the wanted looper. i hope you get the idea...