Ableton 9: No Comping Features

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
hmj
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 10:00 pm

Ableton 9: No Comping Features

Post by hmj » Sat Dec 01, 2012 4:37 pm

As if PDC wasn't enough, might I remind everyone that Ableton STILL has no comping features. The ONLY major DAW without it. This raises an eyebrow, it really seems like Ableton no longer has any in house programming talent.

I don't know about you but I'd rather have a stable, feature rich DAW than an APC/Launchpad aka Push. Did I miss the mega thread where people were begging for new hardware?

I wonder what happened at Ableton that made all their innovators go to BitWig. Part of being a successful company is KEEPING talent, looks like Gehardt Behles is failing in that department.

Take note, this is the Avid blueprint: No programming talent = sell hardware. We may be in for a long and frustrating 2013.

smaucher
Posts: 466
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 10:12 pm
Location: s/w Germany
Contact:

Re: Ableton 9: No Comping Features

Post by smaucher » Sat Dec 01, 2012 6:42 pm

couldn't have said it better!

+1 from me.

and still NO detachable mixer for using on second screen - disappointing.
you start bleeding - I start sceaming
propaganda 1985

Szuumm
Posts: 209
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 12:05 pm

Re: Ableton 9: No Comping Features

Post by Szuumm » Sat Dec 01, 2012 6:53 pm

It seems to be, if this is the kind of feature I needed, Live would be fairly far down on my list of DAWs to try/buy.

It also seems to me to be pretty alien to the whole Live paradigm.

Thanks for reminding us though.

Tone Deft
Posts: 23565
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: SF, CA

Re: Ableton 9: No Comping Features

Post by Tone Deft » Sat Dec 01, 2012 7:20 pm

holy whinefest.

watched this:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xsp_fM5Eiew

you can do most of that with Live for years. it doesn't have the detailed tools but I've already been doing operations like that, for years.
oddstep wrote:I agree with all of this. I'm just bored of writing "its music, just listen and trust your judgement"

d.reamonn
Posts: 1176
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 9:24 pm

Re: Ableton 9: No Comping Features

Post by d.reamonn » Sat Dec 01, 2012 7:26 pm

I tried comping in Logic. It was gay. Comping in STP was much better, but I still couldn't see the point. Neither methods seemed to speed up my workflow.

Your faces are invalid.

oddstep
Posts: 1732
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 9:47 pm
Location: Plymouth the great

Re: Ableton 9: No Comping Features

Post by oddstep » Sat Dec 01, 2012 7:30 pm

:lol: yeah, just get it right on your first take. Maybe get a better controller?
:wink:

oddstep
Posts: 1732
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 9:47 pm
Location: Plymouth the great

Re: Ableton 9: No Comping Features

Post by oddstep » Sat Dec 01, 2012 7:40 pm

What I don't get is how people can be holding out for this sort of big arranger function when its obvious that Live is more focussed on something totally different... I am still totally elated by the implementation of session recording.... Which seems to me to be completely in keeping with the point of Live as a sequencer instrument. If my focus was on big productions with lots of multi tracked vocals and a big multimiked drum kit I would want to use something else I think. Its not possible to be all things to all people.

d.reamonn
Posts: 1176
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 9:24 pm

Re: Ableton 9: No Comping Features

Post by d.reamonn » Sat Dec 01, 2012 8:00 pm

Just use multiple audio tracks.

d.reamonn
Posts: 1176
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 9:24 pm

Re: Ableton 9: No Comping Features

Post by d.reamonn » Sat Dec 01, 2012 8:00 pm

^ this

simpli.cissimus
Posts: 518
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 5:33 pm

Re: Ableton 9: No Comping Features

Post by simpli.cissimus » Sat Dec 01, 2012 8:06 pm

Try StudioOne !!!

It has comping, extra high quality effects(Live's Effects are not even close to them),
integrated Melodyne(audio2midi...piece of cake), separate mastering section which updates
automatically when you change something in the song, and similar workflow like Live.

High quality sound engine, working 64bit samples on 32bit OS and vice versa !
Very stable and uses half CPU then Live with same set of VST's !

Use Macro-Commands : ...use macro to do complex editing with one click !!!
Great feature !!! :wink:

On top of that, it cost less !!!
No! I'll never use the Push-App Live 9 !!!

Machinesworking
Posts: 11100
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 9:30 pm
Location: Seattle

Re: Ableton 9: No Comping Features

Post by Machinesworking » Sat Dec 01, 2012 9:52 pm

Personally I'm OK with them not having dedicated comping features.
Live for live performance and composition, other DAWs for mixing and mastering.
It's been that way for years for people like me who recorded tracks in a Pro Tools HD studio with a live drummer, then sat there in Digital Performer taking the best bits from the two drum takes we recorded. I've never seen Live marketed as a competition for a dedicated studio DAW like DP or Pro Tools, and it would be weird and sad if Live 9 was all about the recording studio. Composition features like new track/clip automation makes more sense to me than Live competing with Pro Tools, Nuendo, Logic and Digital Performer.

login
Posts: 1816
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 12:41 am

Re: Ableton 9: No Comping Features

Post by login » Sat Dec 01, 2012 11:39 pm

If it doesn't cover your needs why are you using it in the first place?

d.reamonn
Posts: 1176
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 9:24 pm

Re: Ableton 9: No Comping Features

Post by d.reamonn » Sat Dec 01, 2012 11:41 pm

login wrote:If it doesn't cover your needs why are you using it in the first place?
That's why I'm still on Live 1. New features scare me.

miekwave
Posts: 752
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 8:49 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: Ableton 9: No Comping Features

Post by miekwave » Sun Dec 02, 2012 2:43 am

You can Comp using multiple clips on the same channel at "Legato" mode at "none" clip quantize. Record your comp into the Arrangement view in by bussing the Comp track to a new chennel. When you're done, you can create a new clip for that comp performance.
Check out some of my soundtracks. Also Ableton Live Performance video.

ImageImage

Angstrom
Posts: 14662
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Ableton 9: No Comping Features

Post by Angstrom » Sun Dec 02, 2012 3:21 am

How I comp in Live, if I can call it that, which I will.
  • I record many giant and enormous takes in Session clips
  • I set a Clip loop length of whatever I need for the arrangement part
  • I drag that looped clip to arrangement
  • I cut with ctrl & E where I need to try an alternate take
  • In the cut clip section I move the start marker to select an alternate take, or segment
it's a little cumbersome, a little slow to swap out alternate parts, but I use the hotkeys to move the start markers about, so it can get quite quick. Also the crossfades make it all a lot smoother sounding.
I've been doing it this way for years though, so un-intuitive has become intuitive.

here's a cropped example of what's on my screen, you can see the bassline in this section is made out of a giiiiaaant take visible in the clip view.

Image

Post Reply