Need some help on a known stab sound (techno/house)

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
TechnoLover

Need some help on a known stab sound (techno/house)

Post by TechnoLover » Sun Dec 02, 2012 3:24 pm

Hi everyone,

I come with something quite usual but I am not able to get the exact result I am looking for...

I would like to get some help on the sound design point but also the chords... And I would like to be able to make it on one of the Ableton native VST. (such as Operator or Analog) I own some great other VST but when it comes to "learning" I find it simple to make it on Ableton.

It comes from a track I discovered a few weeks ago (I am new to techno but love it!) : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7_jyDWMCTQc

You can hear the stab start evolving at 0:30 (filtered) and you can hear it really clearly during the first break (at 0:50 - 1:00)

Some points :

- I think the chord used is a Gm7 but I am not sure at all...
- I tried to use a one oscillator saw wav with a slow filter envelope for the sound

If anyone can help me to build it (or share an ableton preset of it), it would be really helpful.

Re: Need some help on a known stab sound (techno/house)

Post by 102455 » Sun Dec 02, 2012 4:24 pm

beatmunga

Post by beatmunga » Sun Dec 02, 2012 5:33 pm

It's a standard minor chord on a synth - use a sawtooth wave with a quite quickly decaying lowpass filter envelope. Perhaps with the root note played in unison an octave or two down.

As made famous by Kevin Saunderson on 'Big Fun' in the 80s. He sampled it from Nitro Deluxe's 'Let's Get Brutal'.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2r1h2XmWXBI

Play the minor chord through some nice reverb, resample the results on to 1 key of your sampler, record a riff using one key at a time, and get filtering for Dave Clark style shenanigans.
mendeldrive wrote:NOBODY designs their own sounds... There is ZERO point in reinventing the wheel.

antarktika

Post by antarktika » Sun Dec 02, 2012 6:00 pm

102455 wrote:Click here