How to make VSTs and Internet browser work at the same time?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
t0mek220
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 10:42 pm

How to make VSTs and Internet browser work at the same time?

Post by t0mek220 » Tue Dec 11, 2012 4:47 pm

I've downloaded Massive and opened in Ableton. I had to choose audio device, so I chose ASIO (i guess it's the only one device that support VSTs?) and then the problem appeared. When i have Ableton or even only Massive opened other sounds don't work. I mean I can't watch youtube movies etc. I use Windows 7 and Realtek HD Audio.

Szuumm
Posts: 209
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 12:05 pm

Re: How to make VSTs and Internet browser work at the same time?

Post by Szuumm » Tue Dec 11, 2012 4:52 pm

As far as I know, ASIO drivers are usually single client (i.e only one application can use them at a time).

t0mek220
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 10:42 pm

Re: How to make VSTs and Internet browser work at the same time?

Post by t0mek220 » Tue Dec 11, 2012 4:58 pm

So it's impossible to use Massive and watch Youtube movie at the same time? There's no way to solve this? You said that only one application can use them, but why it blocks other sounds?

simmerdown
Posts: 3761
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2011 3:36 pm
Location: Northwest Nowhere

Re: How to make VSTs and Internet browser work at the same time?

Post by simmerdown » Tue Dec 11, 2012 5:15 pm

when you need to be doing that you can choose MME instead (or whatever your native driver is)

i usually just turn off live's sound engine momentarily, do web stuff, then turn it back on

there exists an asio multi-in patch software, it was about $30, but i forget the name, never really needed it....

t0mek220
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 10:42 pm

Re: How to make VSTs and Internet browser work at the same time?

Post by t0mek220 » Tue Dec 11, 2012 5:27 pm

It sucks if I have to turn off engine every time I need to check something. Can you tell me what is MME?

simmerdown
Posts: 3761
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2011 3:36 pm
Location: Northwest Nowhere

Re: How to make VSTs and Internet browser work at the same time?

Post by simmerdown » Tue Dec 11, 2012 6:06 pm

in prefs dropdown where you chose asio you should have another option, the builtin driver, for me its MME, for you it might be some other

t0mek220
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 10:42 pm

Re: How to make VSTs and Internet browser work at the same time?

Post by t0mek220 » Tue Dec 11, 2012 6:15 pm

Found it, but changing driver to MME disables Massive, and sounds don't work.

darkenedsoul
Posts: 1223
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 10:21 pm
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Contact:

Re: How to make VSTs and Internet browser work at the same time?

Post by darkenedsoul » Tue Dec 11, 2012 6:22 pm

Welcome to the world of ASIO drivers. I have the same issue with my Laptop. My DAW is running firewire so I don't think I'll run into this issue since I am not using the Realtek HD audio drivers at all. And yes, when you switch that to MME you should lose audio for Massive. And why do you care if you lose audio (unless you are trying mimic a sound from youtube in massive) in it? You are doing one thing or the other in regards to working on music or watching youtube.
http://www.darkenedsoul.net - main website
Ableton Live 8.x/9.x : NI Komplete 8 : Home built 4690K 16GB 500GB SSD, 1TB 7200, 2x2TB.

MOSQUITOMAN
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 4:53 pm

Re: How to make VSTs and Internet browser work at the same time?

Post by MOSQUITOMAN » Tue Dec 11, 2012 6:28 pm

Hi

Did you try JACK Audio Connection Kit? its possible it can help you.

http://jackaudio.org/

simmerdown
Posts: 3761
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2011 3:36 pm
Location: Northwest Nowhere

Re: How to make VSTs and Internet browser work at the same time?

Post by simmerdown » Tue Dec 11, 2012 6:30 pm

so massive is not mme compatible? bizzarro

Tone Deft
Posts: 24153
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm

Re: How to make VSTs and Internet browser work at the same time?

Post by Tone Deft » Tue Dec 11, 2012 6:44 pm

use ASIO4ALL, it will let you run multiple audio sources at once.

you just have to make sure all the pieces of software are running at the same sample rate.
In my life
Why do I smile
At people who I'd much rather kick in the eye?
-Moz

darkenedsoul
Posts: 1223
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 10:21 pm
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Contact:

Re: How to make VSTs and Internet browser work at the same time?

Post by darkenedsoul » Tue Dec 11, 2012 6:48 pm

Tone Deft wrote:use ASIO4ALL, it will let you run multiple audio sources at once.

you just have to make sure all the pieces of software are running at the same sample rate.
So if my preferences is 16 bit 44.1k in Live, ensure same for system playback (if settings available) then point to ASIO4all wherever in audio preferences for driver/playback? Been a bit since i mucked around with that. If that's the case then I need to look at what is set up on my laptop and adjust accordingly.

And in regards to Massive not being MME compatible, I am not sure but I would think it would be, just sound rather crappy ;-)
http://www.darkenedsoul.net - main website
Ableton Live 8.x/9.x : NI Komplete 8 : Home built 4690K 16GB 500GB SSD, 1TB 7200, 2x2TB.

H20nly
Posts: 15854
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:15 pm
Location: The Wild West

Re: How to make VSTs and Internet browser work at the same time?

Post by H20nly » Tue Dec 11, 2012 6:52 pm

Tone Deft wrote:use ASIO4ALL, it will let you run multiple audio sources at once.
this

... or you can try using the internal/onboard audio instead of your interface for everything... this will be a problem if you want to record audio and watch youtube at the same time though.


another option... create a shortcut to Start > Control Panel > Sound
the Sound settings are what is getting in your way. if you pin them to the taskbar or Start menu you can toggle quickly, but yeah... you will have to do this manually.

Tone Deft
Posts: 24153
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm

Re: How to make VSTs and Internet browser work at the same time?

Post by Tone Deft » Tue Dec 11, 2012 6:55 pm

darkenedsoul wrote:
Tone Deft wrote:use ASIO4ALL, it will let you run multiple audio sources at once.

you just have to make sure all the pieces of software are running at the same sample rate.
So if my preferences is 16 bit 44.1k in Live, ensure same for system playback (if settings available) then point to ASIO4all wherever in audio preferences for driver/playback?
yup.

Been a bit since i mucked around with that. If that's the case then I need to look at what is set up on my laptop and adjust accordingly.

And in regards to Massive not being MME compatible, I am not sure but I would think it would be, just sound rather crappy ;-)
it will sound fine.
In my life
Why do I smile
At people who I'd much rather kick in the eye?
-Moz

login
Posts: 1822
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 12:41 am

Re: How to make VSTs and Internet browser work at the same time?

Post by login » Tue Dec 11, 2012 7:58 pm

it's sound card dependent I belive, I can do it on RME UC

Post Reply