All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 43 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: If you use a Drum Machine, which one is it?!
PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 6:03 pm 

Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 7:39 pm
Posts: 308
Location: Newcastle, UK
djadonis206 wrote:
Fxspansion's Geist! Get that, you wont regret it.

http://www.fxpansion.com/index.php?page=120

And holy Sh*t! It's on sale!



Thanks for the heads-up! Just got it for £66 =D

_________________
Suite 9.1.1 | Push | Remote 37SL | padKONTROL
8030a | 7050b | UAD-2 | RME UCX | ARC

Soundcloud all this gear and no idea


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: If you use a Drum Machine, which one is it?!
PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2012 5:55 pm 

Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 3:52 am
Posts: 731
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
I had rejected Guru because it didn't support Time Signatures other than duple meter. I forgot about that and sprung for Geist..

Got me this time! (I need 3/4)

THERE IS NO SUPPORT FOR TIME SIGNATURES IN GEIST! (Make sure you know what time signatures are; do not confuse that with number of steps). So the tempo to a 3/4 audio loop cannot be synced to a midi sequence of 12 steps. (Live 9 has it right in its audio to midi conversion)

T/s at Geist says they'll get to it "some day"... (BFD that is, Big Fricken Deal....)

Cowlash wrote:
djadonis206 wrote:
Fxspansion's Geist! Get that, you wont regret it.
http://www.fxpansion.com/index.php?page=120
And holy Sh*t! It's on sale!



Thanks for the heads-up! Just got it for £66 =D

_________________
http://www.flamencochuck.com

Scales and chords: viewtopic.php?f=55&t=202364


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: If you use a Drum Machine, which one is it?!
PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2012 6:53 pm 

Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 4:23 pm
Posts: 6473
Location: Seattle, WA.
botstein wrote:
Does anyone want to weigh in on what Geist can do that I can't already with Maschine, Live, Kontakt, etc?

Thanks!


For starters you can layer drums in Geist and control each layers volume, filter, envelopes, etc - you can't do this in Maschine. You can do this in Live

I also prefer Geist's browser to Maschines - maschine uses some dated tree method of browsing folders. Geist is how Live does it, no trees and folder lists

Plus, the favorite's thing in geist is cool

Geist has a REMIX feature which is hard to explain but cool

I also like Geist's scene mode which gives you options for how scene's are triggered.

All around an easy program to use that sounds amazing

_________________
Ableton | Elektron | Access

Music


Last edited by djadonis206 on Fri Dec 21, 2012 11:46 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: If you use a Drum Machine, which one is it?!
PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2012 8:20 pm 

Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:21 am
Posts: 3127
Location: Shreveport LA, sometimes Dallas/Ft Worth TX
TEMPEST

_________________
soundcloud
vimeo


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: If you use a Drum Machine, which one is it?!
PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2012 8:58 pm 

Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 3:52 am
Posts: 731
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Looks like you can't import .wav samples (Let me know if I'm wrong)

Also... VERY expensive...

JuanSOLO wrote:
TEMPEST

_________________
http://www.flamencochuck.com

Scales and chords: viewtopic.php?f=55&t=202364


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: If you use a Drum Machine, which one is it?!
PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2012 9:08 pm 

Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:21 am
Posts: 3127
Location: Shreveport LA, sometimes Dallas/Ft Worth TX
no sample import.
yes expensive.
super fun and sounds great!

_________________
soundcloud
vimeo


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: If you use a Drum Machine, which one is it?!
PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2012 11:52 pm 

Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 9:43 pm
Posts: 377
Location: vienna
+1 for tempest

one day....... i will buy a tempest!
its the most amazing hardware drummachine i have seen in my whole life. i sold all my hardwaresynths and sequencers 5 years ago and changed to a software-only-setup with a bunch of dedicated midi controllers. tempest is the first time i could not stop thinking of buying hardware a . only the price prevented me to buy one `til now. but i`m planning to become a millionaire in 2013 and then its the first thing i am going to buy

_________________
http://www.soundcloud.com/miomoi (for dirty bassmusic lovers)
[url]http://www.soundcloud.com/flicflac [url] (deep house project)
http://www.youtube.com/user/stoersignal25 (ableton live+maxforlive tutorials)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: If you use a Drum Machine, which one is it?!
PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2012 11:42 am 

Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 8:08 pm
Posts: 31
mpc 3000 with Vailixi.

(and an ASR-10 rack for when I want to get really old skool)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: If you use a Drum Machine, which one is it?!
PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2012 2:13 pm 

Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 9:12 pm
Posts: 55
I've a korg electribe R mkII

fun box, 4 synth based drum parts, 4 pcm sample based parts, 2 audio in rhythm parts for vocal chopping or lazy bass timing fix.

I got it cheap on ebay.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: If you use a Drum Machine, which one is it?!
PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2012 3:05 pm 

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Posts: 12974
Location: Seattle
Machinedrum, works great with Live :)

_________________
Erik M.
InnerPortalStudio.com Professional Mastering - Mixdowns - Track Consulting. Click for details.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: If you use a Drum Machine, which one is it?!
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 3:04 am 

Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 7:48 am
Posts: 123
Location: nice/france
i have a machinedrum elektron..
i m looking for a tr808


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: If you use a Drum Machine, which one is it?!
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 3:09 am 

Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:21 am
Posts: 3127
Location: Shreveport LA, sometimes Dallas/Ft Worth TX
acid lab Miami 808, it's cheaper, sounds incredibly good.

_________________
soundcloud
vimeo


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: If you use a Drum Machine, which one is it?!
PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2013 7:04 am 

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:18 am
Posts: 415
Location: Augusta, GA USA
iMPC on the iPad- pad response is good and works just like the hardware

_________________
MacBook Pro, Push, Sub Phatty, Minitaur, OP-1, microKorg, KP3,guitars, bass, pedals, harmonicas, Ebow, slide, etc.
http://www.soundcloud.com/gradynickel


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: If you use a Drum Machine, which one is it?!
PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2013 3:19 am 

Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 4:23 pm
Posts: 6473
Location: Seattle, WA.
Plus 3 on the Machinedrum or Octatrack. I think I gave a cheaper alternative as well, Geist

_________________
Ableton | Elektron | Access

Music


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: If you use a Drum Machine, which one is it?!
PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2013 9:48 pm 

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 8:28 pm
Posts: 1324
tigali wrote:
Basically, the MPC just feels more mobile (I have the 1k) and I like to get away from the computer screen for a while so I still love it as a way to play.

Maschine and a laptop is still more mobile than a MPC1000 since you can run Maschine off the laptop battery and it would still be lighter to carry than the MPC. Also, Maschine lets you do pretty much everything from just its hardware. The computer screen doesn't even have to be on or in sight if you have a long enough usb cable.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 43 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group