Does Live have anything for noise reduction

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
kevwestbeats
Posts: 255
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 1:05 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Does Live have anything for noise reduction

Post by kevwestbeats » Wed Dec 26, 2012 12:08 am

I am using the standard version not the suite. I am looking through my Live devices and do not see anything out the box for noise reduction at all. Did I miss something? If not what are some decent plug ins for noise reduction?
http://www.KevWestBeats.com
http://www.YouTube.com/DjKevWest
http://www.Facebook.com/KevWestbeats
http://www.Twitter.com/KevWestBeats

Live 9, Komplete 9, Maschine MK2, IK Total Studio, XLN Audio Addictive Keys and Addictive Drums, All of FXpansion's fx.

Eventful
Posts: 187
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2012 4:27 am
Location: Are you a cop?

Re: Does Live have anything for noise reduction

Post by Eventful » Wed Dec 26, 2012 12:12 am

You could google "Noise reducing vst" or something. Or noise gate, I suppose. Pod farm has a great built-in noise reduction, but it's $99. Soooo.

Also, if you're a ninja, you can use a compressor as a noise gate. .u.b
funken wrote: The whipping must put air in and this stops it exploding.

kevwestbeats
Posts: 255
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 1:05 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Does Live have anything for noise reduction

Post by kevwestbeats » Wed Dec 26, 2012 10:02 am

I never tried a gate or a compressor for this. I have the new IK channel strip and it has a gate on it I will give that a shot thanks
http://www.KevWestBeats.com
http://www.YouTube.com/DjKevWest
http://www.Facebook.com/KevWestbeats
http://www.Twitter.com/KevWestBeats

Live 9, Komplete 9, Maschine MK2, IK Total Studio, XLN Audio Addictive Keys and Addictive Drums, All of FXpansion's fx.

GUY SMILEY
Posts: 711
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 2:35 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Does Live have anything for noise reduction

Post by GUY SMILEY » Wed Dec 26, 2012 10:42 am

no, basically.
try these third party (inexpensive) options :
http://www.voxengo.com/product/redunoise/
http://www.clickrepair.net

witteredink
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 9:36 pm

Re: Does Live have anything for noise reduction

Post by witteredink » Wed Dec 26, 2012 12:06 pm

If the noise is really constant, like an AC hum:

Track 1: your audio with noise
Track 2: a clip with only noise, add a utility and reverse the phase
Send both tracks to the same track, e.g. master, and the noise from track 2 should be subtracted from the audio.

re:dream
Posts: 4559
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 9:42 am
Location: Hoerikwaggo's sunset side...
Contact:

Re: Does Live have anything for noise reduction

Post by re:dream » Thu Dec 27, 2012 7:34 am

GUY SMILEY wrote:no, basically.
try these third party (inexpensive) options :
http://www.voxengo.com/product/redunoise/
http://www.clickrepair.net
hmm redunoise looks interesting. Can I run it with Wavelab? I am looking for something that I can use to clean samples prior to use in Ableton...

crumhorn
Posts: 2503
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 6:04 pm

Re: Does Live have anything for noise reduction

Post by crumhorn » Thu Dec 27, 2012 9:17 am

If the noise is in specific frequency band then you can try using the multiband dynamics effect That way you can limit the gating effect to just the relevant frequencies.
"The banjo is the perfect instrument for the antisocial."

(Allow me to plug my guitar scale visualiser thingy - www.fretlearner.com)

doghouse
Posts: 1413
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 5:30 pm

Re: Does Live have anything for noise reduction

Post by doghouse » Thu Dec 27, 2012 12:54 pm

There is a gate in all versions of Live and the Multiband Dynamics in Suite can be used for downward expansion, another common noise reduction method.

Of course, the best noise reduction is done at the source :wink:

Post Reply