All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Beginner Question... Ableton + Waves
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2012 11:54 am 

Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2012 11:53 am
Posts: 6
Hi,

I bought Waves Renaissance for my desktop but the whole computer is after crashing. I am going to try it on my laptop using an Ableton demo.

However, I'm not too familiar with Ableton and was wondering if someone could help me out.

I go to live->Preferences->live folder to pick where my vsts are.

I click on /Library/Audio/Plugins/Components and both my omnisphere and waves components (waveshell) are in there. I scan this folder with ableton.

When I go back into ableton, only omnisphere and a few apple plugins are appearing in the plugin tab on the left, there is no sign of waves.

Could someone help me out please?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beginner Question... Ableton + Waves
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2012 12:34 pm 

Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 7:22 pm
Posts: 353
Location: England
Did you install Waves licensing software and activate the plug?

I prefair to keep all my third party plugs in a folder called 64bit Plugs and tell Live just to scan that folder as it crashes scanning all of the program files folder.

_________________
SoundCloud https://soundcloud.com/lee-michael-ashworth


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beginner Question... Ableton + Waves
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2012 12:54 pm 

Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2012 11:53 am
Posts: 6
Hey,

So I installed the v9 software, have my dongle attached etc.

The waveshell.AU 9.2.component in /Library/Audio/Plugins/Components so I am guessing that it is installed correctly?

Are you saying that I should move this component file elsewhere? Or are there other component files elsewhere usually?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beginner Question... Ableton + Waves
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2012 1:00 pm 

Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm
Posts: 9955
well...Waves supports only VST format for live...

turn vst custom folder off in the live preferences...

put the Waveshell.VST.dll in the "custom VST folder" (not in the system vst folder)
then turn the vst custom folder on in Live.
Live will rescan the plugins and the waves plugins should show up...

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beginner Question... Ableton + Waves
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2012 1:27 pm 

Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2012 11:53 am
Posts: 6
Hi,

Thanks for your help.

I'm on a mac so I think it's a bit different - for example there aren't any .dll files for macs.

I am after reinstalling everything. Inside my components folder, I have an omnisphere component and a waves component.

However, Waves are not appearing in the plugin section in Ableton.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beginner Question... Ableton + Waves
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2012 1:39 pm 

Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm
Posts: 9955
I know you're on mac..
pc don't have system plugin folder / custom plugin folder
AU format isn't supported by waves.. but you can try and use it if you want..
I'm talking about vst (2.4) format.

I'm not on a mac but pretty handy with them...
you can find it in applications>>waves>>waveshells and copy it over to your custom vst folder.
if youdon't have a custom plugin folder make one.. put it there.. and point live to it
(mind the difference between 64bit and 32bit waveshell files)

_________________
Image


Last edited by 3dot... on Sun Dec 30, 2012 1:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beginner Question... Ableton + Waves
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2012 1:42 pm 

Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 10:24 am
Posts: 1224
As has been said, Waves doesn't support AUs in Live on a Mac, only VSTs. Ignore the AUs, for Waves in Live on a Mac, gotta use VST.

3dot - what' ss strange about the fact that there aren't dll files on a Mac..?

EDIT: ah, you edited that bit out. Never mind.

_________________
http://soundcloud.com/revdaxx


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beginner Question... Ableton + Waves
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2012 1:45 pm 

Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm
Posts: 9955
whatever.. dll or whatever they made for it on mac...
I'm talking about WaveshellVST and WaveshellVSTx64... whatever extension (pretty certain its a dll but whatever)

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beginner Question... Ableton + Waves
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2012 1:56 pm 

Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 10:24 am
Posts: 1224
n/m


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beginner Question... Ableton + Waves
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2012 2:10 pm 

Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2012 11:53 am
Posts: 6
hey, thanks for the tips. So I went into the waves folder and copied the waveshells contents into a custom VST folder on the desktop. I then went into Preferences in ableton, tuened of AU, only left on 'Use VST Plugin Custom Folder' and tried rescan etc but the plugins still aren't appearing under plugin devices?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beginner Question... Ableton + Waves
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2012 2:52 pm 

Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm
Posts: 9955
when you installed did you check the box next to renmaxx?

did you use the "license center" to activate the stuff?

(turn custom folders off/on when you want a complete rescan)

why did you put it on the desktop of all places?



if you've done all that and it's still not there I'd contact waves support..

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beginner Question... Ableton + Waves
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2012 3:59 pm 

Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2012 11:53 am
Posts: 6
Hi,

Yeah I have my USB dongle thing which has the licence on it. I used the desktop because it was the 1st thing that came into my mind, it's only a demo of ableton so I'm not worried about long term for the minute. I'm going to go to Waves for a refund.

Thanks for your help.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beginner Question... Ableton + Waves
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2012 9:57 pm 

Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm
Posts: 9955
by USB dongle... do you mean iLok?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beginner Question... Ableton + Waves
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2012 1:21 am 

Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2012 11:53 am
Posts: 6
nah, they don't require ilok anymore


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Beginner Question... Ableton + Waves
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2012 8:27 am 

Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 10:12 am
Posts: 458
i got a couple of those $9 plugins, renaissance axx and mondomod. They show up in audio units, but you guys are telling me thats no good. I have copied the waveshell into my plug in folder in Mac>Library>audio>plugins. nothing is changnin in my vst folder. am i doing this wrong.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group