All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

Stems of tracks or full mastered tunes?
Stems. 100%  100%  [ 7 ]
Full mix mastered tunes. 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
Total votes : 7
Author Message
 Post subject: Stems or full mastered tracks for live set/performance?
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2012 12:58 am 

Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 11:40 pm
Posts: 19
I'm finding myself a bit on doubt about which one is the most practice yet dynamic way to build and spin a live set.
I produce Drum'n Bass.

On my previous set I was using only the bounce of every single element/track, without mastering processors on the stemed tracks.
Placing all the stems of every tune, on the grid of ableton, divided by categories (drums 1/2, bass sub, reece, keys/pads, atmos, choir/vox, fx), all bussed thru different groups and routings and ending on a premaster channel where I placed my "gentle" mastering processors with comp, light eq and a very little of limiter to avoid clipping before to go into the external mixer/PA.

My current set it will be for a 150', and I would love to play and mix tunes from other established artistes in a DJ style, but with Live manipulation.

As my stems are not mastered ( and the mastering chain is obviously a gentle and general squeeze, not specific), the other tracks they sounds much louder and detailed compared and mixed with my tunes.
I found that using a three pole EQ and a gain control for each buss (virtual deck A, B, C), it gives me a good live control on matching the levels and freqs while mixing, although, the channel often goes in red but not huge distorcion is audible.

I was wandering if someone in here had to deal for the same or similar situation.

In conclusion, which formats will you go for your live performance? Stems? Full mastered version?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stems or full mastered tracks for live set/performance?
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2012 1:13 am 

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Posts: 12971
Location: Seattle
I go for stems myself, if you're playing on a rig live, then you don't have to worry about volume, it'll be loud enough as long as you're somewhat sensible in the signal level you send the pa. If you're mixing in mastered material, just turn that stuff down until it sounds better when mixed with your stuff. I use the Clip Volume controls for this.

_________________
Erik M.
InnerPortalStudio.com Professional Mastering - Mixdowns - Track Consulting. Click for details.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stems or full mastered tracks for live set/performance?
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2012 4:10 am 

Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 11:40 pm
Posts: 19
Tarekith wrote:
I go for stems myself, if you're playing on a rig live, then you don't have to worry about volume, it'll be loud enough as long as you're somewhat sensible in the signal level you send the pa. If you're mixing in mastered material, just turn that stuff down until it sounds better when mixed with your stuff. I use the Clip Volume controls for this.


Thanks for the reply.
With that you'll recommend to keep all levels down in a way to don't let the buss channels to saturate?

It's weird how the EQ three of live, settled to 0db gains, boost the peak meter of the track over 2 db. It is actually quite annoying.

Is it normal to have some stuff saturating on a live?
To my ears even if the meters goes up to +4 (peak) it doesn't really gives big impression of distorcion or saturation.
But probably on a rig will affect the punch?

Will your advice be to select all the millions of clips on the set and pull all theirs clip gain down for a 3 or 4 db?
Better to lose a bit of db on output rather than saturate?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stems or full mastered tracks for live set/performance?
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2012 3:26 pm 

Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2012 4:27 am
Posts: 189
Location: Are you a cop?
I have a simple, gentle mastering chain on the Master track.
BUT THEN.
I have a Sausage Fattener MIDI mapped to a knob that I always have on hand, so I can tweak it in real time to what sounds good.

_________________
funken wrote:
The whipping must put air in and this stops it exploding.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stems or full mastered tracks for live set/performance?
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2012 3:56 pm 

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 11:16 pm
Posts: 1085
Location: London
Rajstah wrote:
Is it normal to have some stuff saturating on a live?

No, best avoided unless intentional. I personally turn down all clips by 6dB at least. You don't lose anything by turning down a bit, as PAs can easily be turned up.

_________________
3rd Storey Chemist, Parva Hinton


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stems or full mastered tracks for live set/performance?
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2012 4:04 pm 

Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 11:40 pm
Posts: 19
Sage wrote:
Rajstah wrote:
Is it normal to have some stuff saturating on a live?

No, best avoided unless intentional. I personally turn down all clips by 6dB at least. You don't lose anything by turning down a bit, as PAs can easily be turned up.

I'll follow up your advice then.,. Sounds convincing. Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stems or full mastered tracks for live set/performance?
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2012 5:27 pm 

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Posts: 12971
Location: Seattle
With that you'll recommend to keep all levels down in a way to don't let the buss channels to saturate?

>>>I recommend that yes. <<<

It's weird how the EQ three of live, settled to 0db gains, boost the peak meter of the track over 2 db. It is actually quite annoying.

>>>EQ3 is not a very nuetral sounding EQ, it affects the audio even when all the gains are set to 0dB. I made a copy of it using EQ8 that does not have this issue, you can download it here (called EQ3.8):

http://tarekith.com/assets/TarekithDJEFXv8.5.zip

<<<


Is it normal to have some stuff saturating on a live?

>>> No, it's not normal, that's why Live's meters turn red when you go over 0dB. <<<

To my ears even if the meters goes up to +4 (peak) it doesn't really gives big impression of distorcion or saturation.
But probably on a rig will affect the punch?

>>> It depends on which meters. Technically it's almost impossible to clip the channel meters, they have enough headroom built in to accomidate the occasional over. So really the only place you can clip and cause distortion is if the master channel meter is showing red. That said, just because Ableton built in a safety net on the individual tracks, doesn't mean you should rely on that instead of following good audio enginnering practices when it comes to your levels. <<<

Will your advice be to select all the millions of clips on the set and pull all theirs clip gain down for a 3 or 4 db?
Better to lose a bit of db on output rather than saturate?

>>>IMVHO yes. <<<

_________________
Erik M.
InnerPortalStudio.com Professional Mastering - Mixdowns - Track Consulting. Click for details.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stems or full mastered tracks for live set/performance?
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2012 11:26 pm 

Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 11:40 pm
Posts: 19
Tarekith wrote:
With that you'll recommend to keep all levels down in a way to don't let the buss channels to saturate?

>>>I recommend that yes. <<<

It's weird how the EQ three of live, settled to 0db gains, boost the peak meter of the track over 2 db. It is actually quite annoying.

>>>EQ3 is not a very nuetral sounding EQ, it affects the audio even when all the gains are set to 0dB. I made a copy of it using EQ8 that does not have this issue, you can download it here (called EQ3.8):

http://tarekith.com/assets/TarekithDJEFXv8.5.zip

<<<


Is it normal to have some stuff saturating on a live?

>>> No, it's not normal, that's why Live's meters turn red when you go over 0dB. <<<

To my ears even if the meters goes up to +4 (peak) it doesn't really gives big impression of distorcion or saturation.
But probably on a rig will affect the punch?

>>> It depends on which meters. Technically it's almost impossible to clip the channel meters, they have enough headroom built in to accomidate the occasional over. So really the only place you can clip and cause distortion is if the master channel meter is showing red. That said, just because Ableton built in a safety net on the individual tracks, doesn't mean you should rely on that instead of following good audio enginnering practices when it comes to your levels. <<<

Will your advice be to select all the millions of clips on the set and pull all theirs clip gain down for a 3 or 4 db?
Better to lose a bit of db on output rather than saturate?

>>>IMVHO yes. <<<

Best answer so far!
I was having a feel of all of that, I just was looking for confirmation from external brains... lol
Very much appreciated your support!
Ah... Happy nu year, abletoners!!!!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group