All times are UTC

Post subject: Putting together an hour-long original mix -Quick Questions-
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2012 8:59 pm 

I'm in the process of writing a mix in which I plan to be at least an hour or so long.

I've never done this kind of project before and I'm not sure whether or not to write all of the content on one project file, or have multiple projects for each song/beat and then sync them all together afterwards in a 'main' project.

I imagine that one project would become way too busy/cluttered and Cpu-intensive with so many instruments and FX running at once. However, being able to export the entire mix as a single file is an attractive idea. Is that naive? :lol:

Is there a preferred process for this kind of thing?

Does it make more sense to load each completed project file into an Audio track and then match everything together? Is there a way to avoid any possible quality loss by exporting a file twice?

Thanks!

Post subject: Re: Putting together an hour-long original mix -Quick Questions-
PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2013 2:36 am 

You can load the finished audio files into a new set for the mix without losing quality. I would avoid converting to mp3 of course.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2013 2:49 am 

Cool, Thanks for the input!

PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2013 6:44 am 

Is this project going to be your live set with all your original tracks?
If that's the case, why don't you just bounce group of tracks and use them as stems? You don't really need to have real time processors like soft synths and drum machines. The maximum you can use is a couple of samplers loade with your sounds. No more.
When you do a live, keeping the mix and timing and balance between the transitions and esecurions is already a consuming task, you won't charge also the tension of the esescution live of play performance... You will get lost and miss the attention to your audience... At the end of the day, crowd, they wanna see you acting and hear a flowing set.