All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Time to start using production Templates?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2013 4:15 pm 

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 6:30 pm
Posts: 271
Location: Third Rock from the Sun
So I've been asking myself - when would it be good enough time to start using some of the production templates!??!..
After a year, two, earlier???

For the time being I don't want to use those as I feel my learning pace suits me, and I'm a bit scared using templates would impact my curiosity and constant questioning - what happens if (I select this/that, etc)...

On the other hand I know it's a great way to speed up the work at least when someone is a bit in hurry.
Not sure myself what else to think of it so let us hear what you've got to say
:roll:

_________________
Constantly moving borders - Lapis Tertius a Sole
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZQl5Vt4l9bk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: When it's time to start using production Templat
PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2013 4:32 pm 

Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 5:30 pm
Posts: 677
As soon as you can use a template is the time to start using them.

A template is nothing more than a Live Set that's got tracks already set up with your favorite plugs, send/returns, groups, racks, etc. but nothing recorded. In that sense, the "empty" set Live provides you with one audio and one MIDI track is just a very simple template.

Everyone's templates are going to look different and how/when they choose to use them will be different, too.

_________________
Motif XF, Evolver, Moog Voyager, Live9


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Time to start using production Templates?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2013 5:09 pm 

Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2011 3:36 pm
Posts: 3764
Location: Northwest Nowhere
if you are wondering then it is time

no impedence to creativity, and you dont have to use it, or all of it, every time anyway


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Time to start using production Templates?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2013 5:20 pm 

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 6:30 pm
Posts: 271
Location: Third Rock from the Sun
Quite true simmerdown
:D

_________________
Constantly moving borders - Lapis Tertius a Sole
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZQl5Vt4l9bk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Time to start using production Templates?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2013 4:04 am 

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 6:38 am
Posts: 1111
What are you wanting to produce?

A template can help save a huge amount of work if you are doing the same things over and over. Instrument racks can also be just as handy as a template.

I tend to open previous tracks and just remove what I don't need because I explore different techniques and samples/plugs all the time. Sometimes I find a cool way of doing something and want to reuse it but I don't want to create another template to do it. I use to have full-blown templates when I would load my new project but I would always just start ripping out the components and redoing them all anyway.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Time to start using production Templates?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2013 9:14 am 

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 6:30 pm
Posts: 271
Location: Third Rock from the Sun
Hi jestermgee,
Well I'm interested to start doing 5-6 tech house tracks, and would most probably follow your way of doing things, in case I'd have a template I like (more or less) I'd probably add/remove some instruments/effects, etc and see where it takes me.
Still, I don't want to relay only to templates every single time..

_________________
Constantly moving borders - Lapis Tertius a Sole
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZQl5Vt4l9bk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Time to start using production Templates?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2013 5:05 am 

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 6:38 am
Posts: 1111
I do have a "default" template that opens when Ableton opens but this is purely for MIDI and Key mapping throughout the software due to the controller setup I have. The actual project is always empty except for a master compressor and a Reverb in a send track.

It's just my experience but over the years I have lost hours and hours of time creating and building numerous templates thinking it would save me heaps of time only to either never use them or open them and continuously keep fiddling with stuff anyway. I still have a load of templates for different stuff but with hundreds of already created tracks I know that one has something I am after anyway so I just do it that way.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Time to start using production Templates?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2013 6:39 pm 

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 4:55 pm
Posts: 575
I've put off setting up a template for many years, mostly because I sort of felt like it would unnecessarily push me in a certain direction.

About two weeks ago I set up a very basic template, and I'm finding it extremely helpful, specifically in the Sends department. Most of my songs have a simple reverb, and huge 60s reverb for breakdowns/hits/etc, and I always forget to use play with some delay, but now that it's in my starting template, it's just there. I've also been playing with ridiculous feedback on delays, and this is in my template as well, and I find that I end up experimenting and learning it more.

I also have one channel with a drum rack loaded without any samples, and one channel with Operator loaded in a sort of 303ish bass setup that may or may not get tweaked or even used.

In general, I'd say it hasn't limited my creativity, but in fact has helped remind me of things I know I want to do but don't think of immediately -- giving me more opportunity to learn how to do them better.

Edit: And don't forget, once you build your first production template, you aren't stuck on it forever. Maybe lately you've been digging experimenting with a vocoder on your drums -- save it on your template until you're sick of it.

_________________
Tim Tilberg - Duluth, MN | SoundCloud - Arsenal
2011 13" MBP w/8GB ram | Live 9 Suite, Reason 6.5, FXPansion DCAM/Etch/Maul, Izotope Ozone 5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Time to start using production Templates?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2013 6:56 pm 

Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 12:54 am
Posts: 823
Why not just dip your feet in the water? I have an incredibly basic template, literally just a 1/4 delay, 1/8 delay, and room and hall reverbs placed on 3 return tracks, as well as a drum rack with a compressor, exciter, and a couple "audio to" chains that output to the return tracks.
There are always some things you are going to end up using, so why not have those ready to go when you open a new project?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Time to start using production Templates?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2013 2:11 pm 

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 6:30 pm
Posts: 271
Location: Third Rock from the Sun
Well, quite nice..Basically my template can become any sort of setting I expect to be using few times so I don't bother with constantly bringing in all the same instruments, effects, etc..
Or it can be what I'd call "partial template" to help with certain elements, for example drums.
Cheers, all great suggestions..I'm gonna try some things out from your suggestions, as the last response (antarktika) at this post said - dip my feet in the water :lol:

_________________
Constantly moving borders - Lapis Tertius a Sole
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZQl5Vt4l9bk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Time to start using production Templates?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2013 4:46 pm 

Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2011 3:36 pm
Posts: 3764
Location: Northwest Nowhere
my default template is what you would call 'partial'...Last Ever drumrack(mapped), blank audio track set to rec external bass, two empty audio, two midi with my go-to synths, returns set up with fx chains, reverb, delay etc...basic shit just so i dont have to set up every time

i often do what was mentioned above, grab a set i liked and clear it all out except the instruments and fx, time saver as well


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Time to start using production Templates?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2013 10:49 pm 

Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 9:42 am
Posts: 2658
Location: beneath mouse mountain
how do you go about having more than one template though?

As far as I can see Live only allows me to use one. I would love to have more than one template - for production, fo DJing, etc.

_________________
workshop
soundcloud
mixes


live 9.1.2, OS mavericks, push, stray's script, MPD32/LD8, stc, access virus kc, and my life is a never ending tub of awesome


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Time to start using production Templates?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2013 11:06 pm 

Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2011 3:36 pm
Posts: 3764
Location: Northwest Nowhere
true, there is just the 1 default template, and i think that's the only one that can reliably retain midi mappings (someone else can verify)...so, additional 'templates' are just sets, when you have built something up in one you do a "Save As" and continue with that version, keeping the 'template' set blank (close, when it asks to save changes you hit 'no')


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group