Can you use Space Designer in Ableton 8 -whats the best way?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Geo Safari
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 12:49 pm

Can you use Space Designer in Ableton 8 -whats the best way?

Post by Geo Safari » Wed Jan 09, 2013 2:52 am

Hi,
I recently came across this thread that's a few years old.
viewtopic.php?t=86890
I was just wondering if anyone uses Logic's Space Designer in Ableton and if there's a particularly brilliant, RAM efficient way to do so? In a few months I'll get an 8gig RAM macbook and I'd love to use this reverb live because it's so lush. Any help would be great.

Thanks for your time.

fishmonkey
Posts: 4134
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:50 am

Re: Can you use Space Designer in Ableton 8 -whats the best way?

Post by fishmonkey » Wed Jan 09, 2013 4:10 am

i wouldn't bother with all that. Space Designer is just a convolution reverb, and there are lots of alternatives.

Geo Safari
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 12:49 pm

Re: Can you use Space Designer in Ableton 8 -whats the best way?

Post by Geo Safari » Wed Jan 09, 2013 5:24 am

I was hoping it might be a good cost-effective way for me, as I already have logic 9 and I find it a very intuitive reverb to tweak. I've got a TC reverb that's not bad but if possible, I'd dig being able to run Space Designer in my Live 8 sets. I've got pro tools with d-verb,etc, as well, but Space Designer just suits me more, so I'd appreciate any tips. Cheers.

Machinesworking
Posts: 11118
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 9:30 pm
Location: Seattle

Re: Can you use Space Designer in Ableton 8 -whats the best way?

Post by Machinesworking » Wed Jan 09, 2013 8:33 am

It's slightly complicated, but if you bought Logic 9 as a hardware DVD in a box etc. you also got MainStage which runs Space Designer as a plug in. The advantage of Mainstage is that you can use program change messages from Live to change presets in Space designer, or even switch to other Logic plug ins.

What you would do is run Mainstage, and use Soundflower, (a free audio anywhere routing software from Cycling 47) to send the audio to and from Mainstage and Live. You would also want to go into Audio MIDI Setup in OSX and turn on the IAC MIDI in the MIDI window. This will allow you to send MIDI direct from Live to Mainstage. Once it's all set up you can send audio via a bus or what not to Space Designer.

Once it's all set up you can pretty quickly set it up again. Honestly though, I would go with a regular AU or VST for reverb live, if something is going to suddenly misbehave, it's going to be when you have people watching! :lol:

fishmonkey
Posts: 4134
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:50 am

Re: Can you use Space Designer in Ableton 8 -whats the best way?

Post by fishmonkey » Wed Jan 09, 2013 10:12 am

LiquidSonics Reverberate is a good cheap alternative (there are a few versions to choose from):

http://www.liquidsonics.com/software.htm

another advantage of Reverberate over Space Designer is lower latency.

Post Reply