Tape Wow Using Transpose?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
milfhuntr
Posts: 288
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 7:19 pm

Tape Wow Using Transpose?

Post by milfhuntr » Thu Jan 10, 2013 4:28 am

I am having trouble using transpose for a tape wow effect because it moves by 1 semitone intervals. Anyone know how to change the grid so I can draw in very subtle wows?

LeifonMars
Posts: 1104
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 11:48 am

Re: Tape Wow Using Transpose?

Post by LeifonMars » Thu Jan 10, 2013 5:28 am

Live has lovely frequency shifter plug in, which is perfect for this purpose, just remember to set phase to 0, so it won't pan all over.
MBP OSX 10.6.8, Live 8.4, MFII, Evolver, Monomachine, Octatrack, APC40, Launchpad

Valiumdupeuple
Posts: 1066
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Tape Wow Using Transpose?

Post by Valiumdupeuple » Thu Jan 10, 2013 8:40 am

You can also do it with simple delay in repitch mode.

milfhuntr
Posts: 288
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 7:19 pm

Re: Tape Wow Using Transpose?

Post by milfhuntr » Thu Jan 10, 2013 4:23 pm

Valiumdupeuple wrote:You can also do it with simple delay in repitch mode.
Thank you so much, this actually works. Everything everyone else has said to me did not really give a warping record effect, this finally did. And the fantastic thing is, it returns to normal when you stop moving the time around.

aioffermann
Posts: 385
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 11:47 pm

Re: Tape Wow Using Transpose?

Post by aioffermann » Thu Jan 10, 2013 7:01 pm

Repitch mode... Two and a half years of Ableton and my dumbass never even heard of this!

Valiumdupeuple
Posts: 1066
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Tape Wow Using Transpose?

Post by Valiumdupeuple » Thu Jan 10, 2013 7:27 pm

^ You should spend some time right-clicking everywhere!

aioffermann
Posts: 385
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 11:47 pm

Re: Tape Wow Using Transpose?

Post by aioffermann » Thu Jan 10, 2013 7:33 pm

Ahhh I wish I could "like" posts on here

LeifonMars
Posts: 1104
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 11:48 am

Re: Tape Wow Using Transpose?

Post by LeifonMars » Fri Jan 11, 2013 3:08 pm

milfhuntr wrote:
Valiumdupeuple wrote:You can also do it with simple delay in repitch mode.
Thank you so much, this actually works. Everything everyone else has said to me did not really give a warping record effect, this finally did. And the fantastic thing is, it returns to normal when you stop moving the time around.
What? I don't really get this how does this create a tape wow effect. You meant the kind of wow an analog tape does when the reels speed of spinning slightly varies?
MBP OSX 10.6.8, Live 8.4, MFII, Evolver, Monomachine, Octatrack, APC40, Launchpad

Valiumdupeuple
Posts: 1066
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Tape Wow Using Transpose?

Post by Valiumdupeuple » Fri Jan 11, 2013 7:26 pm

Ahhh I wish I could "like" posts on here
"I'd rather be dead than cool..."

d.reamonn
Posts: 1176
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 9:24 pm

Re: Tape Wow Using Transpose?

Post by d.reamonn » Sat Jan 12, 2013 4:28 pm

Valiumdupeuple wrote:
Ahhh I wish I could "like" posts on here
"I'd rather be dead than cool..."
^ cool
https://soundcloud.com/maybe-logic

"I wanted to not like your [music], but it's actually pretty awesome. Banana hammock."
- eddiex

milfhuntr
Posts: 288
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 7:19 pm

Re: Tape Wow Using Transpose?

Post by milfhuntr » Sat Jan 12, 2013 8:48 pm

LeifonMars wrote:
milfhuntr wrote:
Valiumdupeuple wrote:You can also do it with simple delay in repitch mode.
Thank you so much, this actually works. Everything everyone else has said to me did not really give a warping record effect, this finally did. And the fantastic thing is, it returns to normal when you stop moving the time around.
What? I don't really get this how does this create a tape wow effect. You meant the kind of wow an analog tape does when the reels speed of spinning slightly varies?
It is more of a warped record thing. For a flutter thing like tape I found Airwindows Flutter which works pretty good.

Valiumdupeuple
Posts: 1066
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Tape Wow Using Transpose?

Post by Valiumdupeuple » Sun Jan 13, 2013 2:07 pm

d.reamonn wrote:
Valiumdupeuple wrote:
Ahhh I wish I could "like" posts on here
"I'd rather be dead than cool..."
^ cool

:lol:

agent314
Posts: 1447
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 3:07 am

Re: Tape Wow Using Transpose?

Post by agent314 » Sun Jan 13, 2013 8:37 pm

I am having trouble using transpose for a tape wow effect because it moves by 1 semitone intervals.
If you use the transpose envelope in an audio clip and hold Ctrl/Cmd when you drag a breakpoint, you can move them in cents rather than semitones. I do this instead of autotuning if I have a bum note here and there in a vocal track

Street Spirit
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2010 10:56 pm
Location: MI

Re: Tape Wow Using Transpose?

Post by Street Spirit » Tue Jan 15, 2013 4:18 pm

Valiumdupeuple wrote:^ You should spend some time right-clicking everywhere!


Ha! so true, I love all those hidden goodies in Live.

milfhuntr
Posts: 288
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 7:19 pm

Re: Tape Wow Using Transpose?

Post by milfhuntr » Fri Jan 25, 2013 3:10 pm

agent314 wrote:
I am having trouble using transpose for a tape wow effect because it moves by 1 semitone intervals.
If you use the transpose envelope in an audio clip and hold Ctrl/Cmd when you drag a breakpoint, you can move them in cents rather than semitones. I do this instead of autotuning if I have a bum note here and there in a vocal track
Thanks for that. Use this tip on a daily basis now.

Post Reply