Sidechaining to layered kicks

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
boderekstits

Sidechaining to layered kicks

Post by boderekstits » Mon Jan 14, 2013 1:51 am

I've got a beat I made in my custom "Pete Rock" drum rack, which has 5-6 cells with 128 samplers in them. Kicks, snares, hi hats, etc. I'll use 2 or 3 cells of the same Kick Sampler Rack so that I can select different kick samples, and layer up several of them on each other. Edit accordingly.

Many people work this way, I'm sure. I am still learning the nuances.

Say I want to sidechain a synth track to the Kick. But I have several Kick tracks within the Drum Rack. How do I get that synth sidechained to all of them?

I hope I made sense here.

Vios

Re: Sidechaining to layered kicks

Post by Vios » Mon Jan 14, 2013 2:49 am

When you have multiple kick drums in a drum rack with other instruments, there's no way to do this. If this is really what you want to do, then I would duplicate your drum rack and use one drum rack for only your kicks, and then use the other for your other drums. You probably want to add some compression and effects to all of your kick drums together anyways to help "glue" them together, and you can't do this with other drums playing in the rack without affecting them.

Otherwise, just use one kick for your sidechain. It often sounds really good to have your sidechain compressor use a different kick drum than is used in the track (aka ghost kick)! Lots of producers do this. If you play around with them, you may find that sidechain compression from one of the kicks sounds better than from the others. Otherwise, here are some other sidechaining ideas to get you thinking:

Sidechain Compression Methods Using Operator and Auto Pan

Also where in Colorado do you live? The Denver Ableton community is really good!

southsounder

Post by southsounder » Mon Jan 14, 2013 3:17 am