Dedicated Ableton Program for iPad?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Muzik 4 Machines
Posts: 769
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 9:35 am

Re: Dedicated Ableton Program for iPad?

Post by Muzik 4 Machines » Fri Jan 18, 2013 9:55 pm

griid is the giant launchpad, it includes cliip and miix

channelite
Posts: 472
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Nevada, USA

Re: Dedicated Ableton Program for iPad?

Post by channelite » Sun Apr 14, 2013 4:30 am

I'm surprised Ableton has not made Live Lite or something like that for the Ipad. They could team up with Akai Pro to make some sort of Push type controller for it. Since I don't have the time I used to make music in my studio, an Ipad seems like the way to go.

glennbinary
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012 4:19 pm

Re: Dedicated Ableton Program for iPad?

Post by glennbinary » Mon Jul 29, 2013 6:53 pm

I think Ableton probably decided that hardware controllers are better than software and only a few years ago that was still true. Now I think there are enough people using touch screen devices to warrant a rethink.

I have an iPad but its fiddly as hell and not that big. I can't afford another controller, I would love Push but it's way too expensive for me.

How does a software company bring good hardware controllers that are designed to work with their products to market? Partner with a company that specialises in hardware controllers, in Ableton's case that's Akai.

Unfortunately that probably means some kind of contractual issues. Ableton risk hurting that relationship if they bypass the need to buy a hardware controller, at least for now.

I suppose there are apps for iPad such as Lemur an LivKontrol for Android but again I think the screens are too small.

In future I will consider a 27" Windows 8 touchscreen workstation or laptop, maybe both for multi-screen use.
Feeltune Rhizome LE, Vestax VCM-600, JP-8080, Novation Remote Zero SL

savyurrecords
Posts: 320
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 10:38 am
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Contact:

Re: Dedicated Ableton Program for iPad?

Post by savyurrecords » Mon Jul 29, 2013 7:19 pm

Psychoactive_Music wrote:What about those laptops that work as a tablet when closed? they run windows 8 ... would live work with the touch screen on one of those laptops when folded...?
You would think it would work right? The problem is that with normal screen resolutions it is rather hard to control Live with a small touchscreen. Knobs especially are not very intuitive, a lot of other things get 'finicky' and you end up selecting stuff you didn't mean to. I did use it with a Smart touchscreen overlay on a 46" LCD and while it did work much better I still couldn't see myself working this way for a long period of time.

joeyfivecents
Posts: 544
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:18 am
Location: Augusta, GA USA
Contact:

Re: Dedicated Ableton Program for iPad?

Post by joeyfivecents » Tue Jul 30, 2013 2:27 am

The new Logic Pro comes with an iPad app that works better than anything I've ever used. Perfectly integrated with the software. I can't believe Ableton has not done this yet. And I also can't believe I fell for their whole marketing scheme again and paid for this upgrade again. Oh and here's some more very basic stuff Live does not have:
Tuner
Pitch
Comping
Audio Editor
EVERY other DAW on the market now has these very basic plugins. Unbelievable Ableton.
Instead we get Push. I don't own one and seriously doubt I'll ever get it but damn, that shit looks confusing.
iMac, MacBook Pro, Live Suite, Reason, Logic Pro, Melodyne, FL Studio, iConnect Audio4+, Little Martin, ukelele, Fender Jaguar, pedalboard, amps, mics .
http://www.soundcloud.com/gradynickel

dna598
Posts: 827
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 3:42 am

Re: Dedicated Ableton Program for iPad?

Post by dna598 » Tue Jul 30, 2013 9:21 am

savyurrecords wrote:The new Logic Pro comes with an iPad app that works better than anything I've ever used. Perfectly integrated with the software. I can't believe Ableton has not done this yet.
This.

I played about with it the other day, and boy did it beat my expectations.
Better than any of those 3rd party apps for Live IMO.
ctrl + left/right = select transient

ctrl + shift + left/right = select between transients

ctrl + space = play selection

H20nly
Posts: 15836
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:15 pm
Location: The Wild West

Re: Dedicated Ableton Program for iPad?

Post by H20nly » Tue Jul 30, 2013 3:56 pm

:idea: maybe a company that is paired up with a controller manufacturer isn't as swift to make their software work sans controller :idea:

misa
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: Dedicated Ableton Program for iPad?

Post by misa » Tue Jul 30, 2013 9:51 pm

LiveControl 2 from Liine seems like the best option to me at the moment, but it does require purchasing Lemur and having Max for Live if I'm not mistaken.

And as others have voiced, until Ableton is forced to release a proprietary app because of market pressure, there is very little incentive. They are providing a (likely) profitable hardware controller and third-parties are already developing viable apps. Plus, I think they should keep focusing their effort on refining their DAW as it is falling a bit behind the curve of its competitors in my opinion.

continuous
Posts: 1012
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 7:11 pm
Location: PDX

Re: Dedicated Ableton Program for iPad?

Post by continuous » Wed Jul 31, 2013 2:15 am

^
Doesn't need M4L... but does leave a little bit to be desired, though, I am very new to it.

Broomptish
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 11:48 am

Re: Dedicated Ableton Program for iPad?

Post by Broomptish » Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:37 am

continuous wrote:^
Doesn't need M4L... but does leave a little bit to be desired, though, I am very new to it.
Im well impresseed with it, its took the best bits of MU and Griid and stuck them together, plus you can control vst's which MU didnt do, unless you created your own template it also gives you control over any live device too, MU only had a few devices for control, this gives you control over everything you put in there. Being able to launch clips and have a midi editor all in one is great, then you have the harmonic player which has certain controls of the selected device in the same page so you can play notes while changing parameters, its the first app where Im using the controller more than the mouse, granted I dont have push but this livecontrol 2 is the shit I love it so much.

continuous
Posts: 1012
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 7:11 pm
Location: PDX

Re: Dedicated Ableton Program for iPad?

Post by continuous » Thu Aug 01, 2013 5:06 am

^

That's good news... my frustration has been with the sequencer not activating when I select a clip... also I wish selecting a clip didn't 'fire' the clip. It could be that I am connecting via ad-hoc network, but I have also been unable to 'select devices'. A Lemur noob, I am.... probably just user error.

This is OT but... Broomptish, do you use the iPad to sequence?

Broomptish
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 11:48 am

Re: Dedicated Ableton Program for iPad?

Post by Broomptish » Thu Aug 01, 2013 8:31 am

continuous wrote:^

That's good news... my frustration has been with the sequencer not activating when I select a clip... also I wish selecting a clip didn't 'fire' the clip. It could be that I am connecting via ad-hoc network, but I have also been unable to 'select devices'. A Lemur noob, I am.... probably just user error.

This is OT but... Broomptish, do you use the iPad to sequence?
Yes I do you press select button in session view and select the clip you want to sequence then go to sequencer tab and thats it, ready to sequence the clip. The select button is the bottom left corner of session view, works fine with me, though did have issues at the start but my midi settings werent right. Im just connecting through my normal wifi and its working fine, few drop outs on occasion but generally its pretty solid, sure it would be even more solid if I used an ad-hoc netowrk. The sequencer is much better than griid sequencer, it was always a bit awkward. You can add chords too which is well cool. When you go to modulate window you can select devices there to control, go to device select, bottom right and they all come up in a similiar fashion to MU you pick one and all the parameters are there to control, really straight forward. I had issues with setting up, was actually pretty simple my lemur settings were from loopmidi Port A to Loop Midi Port B when it should be b>a instead, that sorted some of my issues, also if you email support they will try there best to help you, hope that helps :wink:

Post Reply