Confused by Live 9's Transport Controls

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
LithiuMind
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 11:34 pm

Confused by Live 9's Transport Controls

Post by LithiuMind » Sat Jan 19, 2013 12:12 am

Curious to hear someone explain the concept behind the design choices made in Ableton's new Transport controls... I'm finding it a touch confusing!

There are Session and Arrangement Record buttons, which makes sense given the new "Record Automation to Clip" functionality. But then there is also an "Automation Arm" button? I thought that once the record buttons were armed, that automatically armed automation as well... it seems I have to arm three different buttons to record to a clip. (Track record, session record, and automation record)

Does this mean that I have to "arm automation" in order to record automation to the arrangement view? Or is it only for the session view? And if that little button only applies to session view, why not have it clumped together in the display with the "Record to Session" button... or even better have those two buttons be the same button.

Can anyone shed some light?

doghouse
Posts: 1449
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 5:30 pm

Re: Confused by Live 9's Transport Controls

Post by doghouse » Sat Jan 19, 2013 1:47 am

Three record buttons? How does that work with controllers that have one record button for transport? 8O

Hermanus
Posts: 1657
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 7:47 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Confused by Live 9's Transport Controls

Post by Hermanus » Sat Jan 19, 2013 3:14 am

I assume you are beta testing.

Only real place to discuss Live 9 is the beta forum, you can find the link on your account page

https://www.ableton.com/en/beta-signup/


Give it a try and see by yourself :wink:

doghouse
Posts: 1449
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 5:30 pm

Re: Confused by Live 9's Transport Controls

Post by doghouse » Sat Jan 19, 2013 3:18 pm

Hermanus wrote:Give it a try and see by yourself :wink:
I can't since I don't have Live 9 :?

XSIMan
Posts: 552
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 7:22 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Confused by Live 9's Transport Controls

Post by XSIMan » Sun Jan 20, 2013 8:12 am

If you have a version of Live 8 registered in your Ableton account you can download Live 9 suite 32 or 64bit beta now and run it till Live 9 goes on sale.

Live 9 beta download link https://www.ableton.com/en/articles/live-9-beta/ must already have Live 8 in your account page.

Live 9 beta 64bit now has Max for Live 6 64bit.

Hermanus
Posts: 1657
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 7:47 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Confused by Live 9's Transport Controls

Post by Hermanus » Sun Jan 20, 2013 1:32 pm

doghouse wrote:
Hermanus wrote:Give it a try and see by yourself :wink:
I can't since I don't have Live 9 :?
You mean Live 8?

If you have a real serial number for live 8 you are good for beta testing live 9...

It is totally - with no restriction - opened to live users since several weeks

EDIT: in fact XSIMan has explained it better :wink:

best

Post Reply