Live 9 & APC 40

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
purusha
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 9:49 pm
Location: Leeds

Live 9 & APC 40

Post by purusha » Wed Jan 23, 2013 4:33 pm

Hi all,

Does anyone know if Live 9 is still / will be compatible with the APC40?

Thanks!

esky
Posts: 701
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 3:54 pm
Location: Berlin - Kreuzberg 61
Contact:

Re: Live 9 & APC 40

Post by esky » Wed Jan 23, 2013 4:36 pm

Hi, they are still compatible...

JuanSOLO
Posts: 3236
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:21 am
Location: Shreveport LA, sometimes Dallas/Ft Worth TX

Re: Live 9 & APC 40

Post by JuanSOLO » Wed Jan 23, 2013 5:16 pm

Most definitely, and it's hella fun with the new automation recording in Session View.
The MIDI OVERDUB button is now used to engage automation recording, ultra useful, and easy workflow.
Not to mention I'm sure we will see a few new M4L devices or remote scripts emulating Push sequencing etc.

Timbeaux
Posts: 754
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 11:47 am

Re: Live 9 & APC 40

Post by Timbeaux » Wed Jan 23, 2013 5:20 pm

JuanSOLO wrote:Most definitely, and it's hella fun with the new automation recording in Session View.

didnt had this in my mind. really nice.

JuanSOLO
Posts: 3236
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:21 am
Location: Shreveport LA, sometimes Dallas/Ft Worth TX

Re: Live 9 & APC 40

Post by JuanSOLO » Wed Jan 23, 2013 5:26 pm

Timbeaux wrote:didnt had this in my mind. really nice.
it's fantastic.
FINALLY those Knobs do what you've always wanted them too.

purusha
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 9:49 pm
Location: Leeds

Re: Live 9 & APC 40

Post by purusha » Wed Jan 23, 2013 5:40 pm

Right - might actually have to consider buying one then!

:wink:

Thanks!

yur2die4
Posts: 6530
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: Live 9 & APC 40

Post by yur2die4 » Wed Jan 23, 2013 7:50 pm

Soooooo what do I do about the original use of the midi overdub button??? I use that one! Gah!

....maybe I can remap things :/ I don't use Record haha

JuanSOLO
Posts: 3236
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:21 am
Location: Shreveport LA, sometimes Dallas/Ft Worth TX

Re: Live 9 & APC 40

Post by JuanSOLO » Wed Jan 23, 2013 8:02 pm

it pretty much works in the same fashion,
I am assuming if you dont want to record automation when engaged, then don't twist any knobs while overdubbing notes.
Just as if you dont want to record notes in overdub, dont play any.

So far it does not seemed to be conflicting by any means.
This functionality may not even be set in stone, there are many users that still want the dedicated OVR button, and it looks like things may be changing.

That said, I really like the way it's currently working, it's simple and fast for notes, and automation.
I absolutely Love IT!

aioffermann
Posts: 385
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 11:47 pm

Re: Live 9 & APC 40

Post by aioffermann » Wed Jan 23, 2013 8:16 pm

Argh i want live 9 nooooooow. Yes. That was the most constructive comment ever right there.

yur2die4
Posts: 6530
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: Live 9 & APC 40

Post by yur2die4 » Wed Jan 23, 2013 8:32 pm

Constructive indeed. I'm sure most people would insert some random hot actress's name for 'Live 9' :P

But honestly, they don't know what they're missing!

....I can't decide if I should sign up for the beta or not? I get annoyed by installing and uninstalling multiple versions of things... Is it pretty clean cut? Should I hold out?

aioffermann
Posts: 385
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 11:47 pm

Re: Live 9 & APC 40

Post by aioffermann » Wed Jan 23, 2013 8:44 pm

Im holding out. Honestly i dont really neeeeeeed any of the new live 9 features presently so im just waiting for the full-baked version ya know? Well i do seem to need 64 bit for memory problems but those arent so common anymore it seems, for me that is. Would love to hear juansolo chime in on how the oven is smellin with that beta tho. February? March? Q2?

JuanSOLO
Posts: 3236
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:21 am
Location: Shreveport LA, sometimes Dallas/Ft Worth TX

Re: Live 9 & APC 40

Post by JuanSOLO » Wed Jan 23, 2013 8:45 pm

I cant answer that for you.
Weather or not I was going to be installing multiple versions was not even in my train of thought.
I checked the sign up page everyday multiple times because I was dying to get automation recording in session.

To me installing multiple updates is a pleasure not a chore, as each one usually offers better stability and sometimes new features, like M4L in 64bit, another thing I had been dying to get my hands on.
Not because M4L is gonna get some great performance gains they way I use it.
But because I get great sampling performance gains in 64bit, AND I will be able to use my custom APC40 patches in that format.

JuanSOLO
Posts: 3236
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:21 am
Location: Shreveport LA, sometimes Dallas/Ft Worth TX

Re: Live 9 & APC 40

Post by JuanSOLO » Wed Jan 23, 2013 8:53 pm

There's plenty of complaints about Live 9, just as there has been with any version of software.
There's things I wish Ableton would have implemented that I posted at the wishlist forum.
There's ideas people have mentioned that I hadn't thought of, or would even use, but are GREAT IDEAS to improve Live.
Lot's of whining at the Beta forums.
Tons of people asking for features that already exist even.
Lots of hate, lots of entitlement.

Me, I'm completely content and have no complaints, only desires.
I'm anxious to be using Live 9 as a full release, I find it to be the best version of Live ever.

aioffermann
Posts: 385
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 11:47 pm

Re: Live 9 & APC 40

Post by aioffermann » Wed Jan 23, 2013 9:41 pm

Juansolo, you are a good dude. Atleast over the internet. Could you chime in on CPU with live 9 at all? Would love to hear about sampler cpu reduced hehe

JuanSOLO
Posts: 3236
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:21 am
Location: Shreveport LA, sometimes Dallas/Ft Worth TX

Re: Live 9 & APC 40

Post by JuanSOLO » Wed Jan 23, 2013 10:10 pm

I've probably said enough for now, not really supposed to talk about the beta yet.
People are giving mixed reviews about the CPU performance, all and all Ableton seem very interested in making things better in that department, and my experience is they have.

I'll just say this, I run a pretty intense Live set.
I have spent years running 1 Live set that has everything I need, for performing live and creating songs.
I use a bunch of plug-ins, some fx, some instruments.
3 external instruments
custom M4L devices
On 8 Tracks I have an instance of NI's driver (which is the only device I toggle on an off), EQ8, compressor, Guitar Rig with a Flanger, Phaser, Leslie, Chorus, and a reduxFader fxRack.
I use a Guitar Rig Space Echo on a return
I use a Vallhalla Room on a return
I use theFinger and Stutter edit on a return.
Although Ms Pinky is not 64bit compatible yet, I use 2 Ms Pinky M4L devices and on a return a custom Live Looper that allows me to manipulate recorded loops using the Pinky DVS.
My Novation Remote SL61 and APC40 do most of the Ableton control.
I'm on a MBP running ML 4gig ram with an NI Audio 8 DJ.
at a buffer size of 128 Live has been running flawlessly for me, at 64 it works, but occasional hiccups (not surprizing considering what I throw at it)
CPU performance is better than it was in Live 8.
Anxious to fully test that with Ms Pinky in 64bit.
And I'm anxious to upgrade my ram.

I imagine you will be able to try Live 9 yourself and make your own assessments of CPU.
I'm pleased.

Post Reply