All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: How do I use Apple Logic instruments with Ableton live?
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 3:25 am 

Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 3:17 am
Posts: 3
I am wondering if someone might be able to help me figure out how I can use the instruments in Apple Logic with Ableton live.

Apple Logic has good synthesizers like the EXS24, ES2, EVP88 etc...

Is it possible to use these fine instruments in Ableton Live?
If so, could you please help me understand how to do it?

I want to be able to use it like a VST plug-in.

Thank you for your time!
Cheers
-Nathan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How do I use Apple Logic instruments with Ableton live?
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 3:45 am 

Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 12:41 am
Posts: 734
No, it's not possible


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How do I use Apple Logic instruments with Ableton live?
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 9:09 am 

Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2010 2:33 am
Posts: 28
You can purchase Apples Mainstage from the app store and use it as an external instrument to Ableton. This gives you access to all the Logic instruments and includes all the loops (many gigs) and patches that come with Logic but for about $30 - an incredible deal.

_________________
------------------------------------------
http://fidelitarium.blogspot.com
------------------------------------------


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How do I use Apple Logic instruments with Ableton live?
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 2:59 pm 

Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 3:17 am
Posts: 3
Thank you so much for the replies.

When I bought Apple Logic it came with Mainstage 2 and I do have Mainstage as an app on my computer...in my Applications folder.

It is great news to hear that I can use it as an external instrument for Ableton Live but I do not know where to begin on setting it up to be recognized by Ableton.

If you have any hints or if there are already tutorials on this that shows me the steps I would greatly appreciate any tips on where I should begin.

Thank you again for your help.
Cheers
-Nathan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How do I use Apple Logic instruments with Ableton live?
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 4:32 pm 

Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 12:54 am
Posts: 826
Mainstage is a rewire master, not a slave, so you would not be able to control it from within Live. You can, however, play instruments from Logic, and record the audio into Live by opening Live first, then Logic, which prevents it from establishing a rewire connection (which would severely limit Live's usability), and use Soundflower or Jack to route the audio into Live for recording.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How do I use Apple Logic instruments with Ableton live?
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 8:50 pm 

Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 3:17 am
Posts: 3
Soundflower. Yes. Thank you so much for your input.
I am successful. I appreciate your time in helping me.

Cheers
-Nathan


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group