All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Help for creating that rack
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 11:01 am 

Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 10:05 am
Posts: 254
Hi, i need to have 5 different effects rack in the same track, and i want them to work one at a time, in other words if i turn on rack 3 the other 1-2-4-5 racks must be turned off.

I would like to use 5 BUTTONS (one for each rack) in order to mapping them.

Do you have suggestions on how to do it in any way?
-max for live is welcome-

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/soulnaut


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help for creating that rack
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 11:32 am 

Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 1:34 am
Posts: 824
Put the racks in a rack?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help for creating that rack
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 11:35 am 

Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 10:05 am
Posts: 254
what do you mean?
there are no buttons to choose from in a rack.

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/soulnaut


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help for creating that rack
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 3:41 pm 

Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 10:05 am
Posts: 254
Would be useful a Max device instead of usual dummy clips.

What do you think?

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/soulnaut


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help for creating that rack
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 8:00 pm 

Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 1:34 am
Posts: 824
filter_7 wrote:
I would like to use 5 BUTTONS (one for each rack) in order to mapping them.


I guess I'm misunderstanding this sentence. I took it to mean you want to assign 5 Pads on a MIDI controller to switch between the different effect racks. In which case, if you group the racks you can swap between them by mapping the chain select knob.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help for creating that rack
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 10:46 pm 

Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 4:04 pm
Posts: 125
Map 5 buttons to the "on/off" buttons of each rack.

now when you need to turn rack 3 on, and rack 4 is already in use, just hit button 3 + 4...

3 will turn on, 4 will turn off

_________________
Image
http://marksbasementrecords.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help for creating that rack
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 11:04 pm 

Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 5:50 pm
Posts: 7024
Right, but the only thing is is if the effect has a trail like delay or reverb it will cut off abruptly.

For mapping each effect to a button, I use the Clyphx usersettings.txt to map notes or cc's from my controller to a specific number of a macro knob setting where the effect will be.

So, you have your 5 effects in a rack and you map the chain selector to a macro knob, and your chains are placed in the areas below. Let's say
Effect 1 = 0
Effect 2 = 8
Effect 3 = 16
Effect 4 = 24
Effect 5 = 32

You'd have it in the Usersettings.txt like:

Effect_1 = cc, 1, 0, dev1 p1 0
Effect_2 = cc, 1, 8, dev1 p1 8
Effect_3 = cc, 1, 16, dev1 p1 16
Effect_4 = cc, 1, 24, dev1 p1 24
Effect_5 = cc, 1, 32, dev1 p1 32

the "1" in the midi channel, after that is the cc number, dev1 = the rack (1st device in the track), "p1" is macro knob 1, then the numbers after that is the where macro knob sets.

Clyphx manual explains it all.

_________________
ImageImageshad4live.tumblr.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help for creating that rack
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 11:19 pm 

Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 4:04 pm
Posts: 125
and... I learned something today :)

_________________
Image
http://marksbasementrecords.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help for creating that rack
PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2013 12:06 am 

Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 5:50 pm
Posts: 7024
Woohoo!

I forgot, even though I was just giving an idea, to put in which track it should work on, so it'd be like this:

Effect_1 = cc, 1, 0, "drums"/dev1 p1 0
Effect_2 = cc, 1, 8, "drums"/dev1 p1 8
Effect_3 = cc, 1, 16, "drums"/dev1 p1 16
Effect_4 = cc, 1, 24, "drums"/dev1 p1 24
Effect_5 = cc, 1, 32, "drums"/dev1 p1 32

You can either use the track number or name in quotations like above.

To take it further, if you want the effects to be momentary, you add a colon after the first command, and add the 2nd command after the colon which would be what happens after you take your finger off the button, like:

Effect_1 = cc, 1, 0, "drums"/dev1 p1 0 , "drums"/dev1 p1 127
Effect_2 = cc, 1, 8, "drums"/dev1 p1 8 , "drums"/dev1 p1 127
Effect_3 = cc, 1, 16, "drums"/dev1 p1 16 , "drums"/dev1 p1 127
Effect_4 = cc, 1, 24, "drums"/dev1 p1 24 , "drums"/dev1 p1 127
Effect_5 = cc, 1, 32, "drums"/dev1 p1 32 , "drums"/dev1 p1 127

So, you have a button for each of those commands, and when you take your finger off any of them, the macro knob goes to 127, which would have no effects on it, just dry signal going through.

_________________
ImageImageshad4live.tumblr.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Help for creating that rack
PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2013 12:12 pm 

Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 10:05 am
Posts: 254
Ehy shadx312 could you give me some other hints on how to achieve this?

_________________
https://soundcloud.com/soulnaut


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group