All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Keith McMillen SoftStep with Win7 x64 / Ableton ??
PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2012 2:47 am 

Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2010 3:52 pm
Posts: 130
I'm thinking of getting a softstep, but I'd like to know first if there are many of you using it with Win7 x64 & preferable Live x64. I know that mid yoke doesn't work with Live x64 but I think there's another midi port app called loopmidi that does. I'm also wondering how well the softstep program runs in Win7 x64, is it buggy does it crash a lot. I think that if you don't want to go too crazy with the softstep preset parameters, you can use it in standalone mode with out having to use midi yoke or loopmidi. Is that true?

Any input you might have would be great thanks :)

_________________
Image Image Image Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Keith McMillen SoftStep with Win7 x64 / Ableton ??
PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2012 8:23 pm 

Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2010 3:52 pm
Posts: 130
Well I ordered it anyway from Thomann, hopefully it gets here this week. I've installed Loopmidi just to check & its showing up fine in Ableton Beta x64. So fingers crossed its not toooo hard to setup &/or buggy on Win 7 x64.

_________________
Image Image Image Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Keith McMillen SoftStep with Win7 x64 / Ableton ??
PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 1:07 pm 

Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 4:55 am
Posts: 110
Location: Chicago, IL
not sure about Live 64-bit, but i use Win 7 64-bit with latest stable Live release and SoftStep. works just fine. you will likely want to run SoftStep in "Standalone" mode instead of "Hosted". The Hosted mode runs SoftStep editor software in the background which eats up a lot of RAM and requires the MIDI to be routed through MIDI yoke or the like. Standalone mode can route MIDI directly into live. The MIDI device will be named SSCOM.

_________________
I need a baby sit my boys and work the day job plug-in.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Keith McMillen SoftStep with Win7 x64 / Ableton ??
PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2012 11:11 am 

Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 10:12 am
Posts: 458
+1 for standalone mode


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Keith McMillen SoftStep with Win7 x64 / Ableton ??
PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 9:00 am 

Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2010 3:52 pm
Posts: 130
My apologies for the late reply guys, I appreciate your feedback.

I've been using the softstep for a while now on Win7 x64 with Loopmidi, which works really well in a 64bit host/DAW. I haven't been using it in standalone mode but your right about the high ram usage, although I'm not too bad on win7 as I have 8gig ram.

I've recently moved to an i7 quadcore 2012 Mac Mini (which has been great so far, never liked windows) for my main DAW work & haven't had a chance to use the softstep with it yet. Think I'm gonna have to bump the ram up to 16gig soon because 4gig definitely isn't enough, not only for use with the softstep but in general.

Keith Mcmillen's Softstep is a truly brilliant midi controller , & not just for Guitarists but for any musician really. Especially if like me you like to play as much of your music as possible (less midi editing) & tweak synth parameters with your feet on the softstep while recording. But that's only a small part of what you can do with the SoftStep.

_________________
Image Image Image Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Keith McMillen SoftStep with Win7 x64 / Ableton ??
PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 10:48 am 

Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 6:08 am
Posts: 5
Location: USA
ChiefNugget wrote:
not sure about Live 64-bit, but i use Win 7 64-bit with latest stable Live release and SoftStep. works just fine. you will likely want to run SoftStep in "Standalone" mode instead of "Hosted". The Hosted mode runs SoftStep editor software in the background which eats up a lot of RAM and requires the MIDI to be routed through MIDI yoke or the like. Standalone mode can route MIDI directly into live. The MIDI device will be named SSCOM.

its very good to do .

_________________
dating with an std


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group