I have Live 8 Suite and M4L do I need to upgrade to 9 Suite?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
parma
Posts: 381
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 11:14 am

Re: I have Live 8 Suite and M4L do I need to upgrade to 9 Suite?

Post by parma » Fri Feb 15, 2013 11:19 pm

kanuck wrote:I just received a reply from Ableton support. They said that even if I don't upgrade to Suite 9 and I only upgrade to Live 9, I will be able to get all of the new Max for live devices because I already owned Max for live with Suite 8
8) 8) 8)

spacecat
Posts: 210
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 8:30 pm

Re: I have Live 8 Suite and M4L do I need to upgrade to 9 Suite?

Post by spacecat » Sat Feb 16, 2013 8:06 am

Out of curiosity...

Can i get the new plugs and stay with live8?

kanuck
Posts: 622
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 5:29 pm

Re: I have Live 8 Suite and M4L do I need to upgrade to 9 Suite?

Post by kanuck » Sat Feb 16, 2013 7:21 pm

I'll post up the exact reply so I'm not putting words in Ableton's mouth:

Hi there Joshua,

Thanks for your email.

Yes, if you upgrade to Live 9 Standard, all of your existing instruments will be carried forward in the upgrade, and you will be able to download the updated versions via your user account at Ableton.com.

To use Max for Live with Live 9, you will need Max for Live 6.1, which will be made available to you on your user account page after the release.

Since you already hold a Max for Live license, the only extra content you'd get would be the Orchestral Instruments Collection.

If you upgrade to Live 9 Standard, you'd still officially be a Standard user, but your upgrade pricing to Suite would be considerably reduced.

For more information, please refer to our Live 9 FAQs:
https://www.ableton.com/en/articles/live-9-faqs/

Should you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to let us know. In the meantime, feel free to browse our Knowledge Base:
https://www.ableton.com/en/help/

All the best,
Freddie

Post Reply