Global chain Macro mapping in a drum rack

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
re:dream
Posts: 4554
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 9:42 am
Location: Hoerikwaggo's sunset side...
Contact:

Global chain Macro mapping in a drum rack

Post by re:dream » Sun Feb 17, 2013 1:27 pm

Hi all

I need some advice on macro mapping in a drum rack

So I have a drum rack with different samples on each pad. And I have the ability to use the macro buttons to control 8 of the parameters.


Now the thing is this. In effect I have 16 simplers / samplers on chains in my chain list

I would like to assign macros globally to parameters (e.g. attack, sustain, etc), in the whole list. So that all the simplers / samplers are affected

But I seem to hit a wall

If I select a particular pad, I can go to the simpler/sampler in that pad's chain, and macro map the parameters there, but it does not affect any of the others. And those macro controls are now exclusively assigned to that pad's samper

If I go to the chain list and select all the pads, I seem to lose access to the samplers. The moment I press shift and select more than one chain, the attached devices disappear. I cannot get them to appear

The only thing I can think of to do is to map each parameter to the first chain, and then to link all the devices below in a chain to the first one (e.g. ve Attack to ve Attack to ve Attac)

Which is 8 x 16 = 128 separate bits of macro mapping to do

Is there a short cut?

StarcAt
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 3:29 pm

Re: Global chain Macro mapping in a drum rack

Post by StarcAt » Sun Feb 17, 2013 1:50 pm

Hi, i'm not sure it will work for you, but when i need to do heavy mapping to macro knobs, i usually create drum rack than put empty simpler/sampler/whatever on one of the cels then i do all mapping on it after just copy cell as many times as needed. Important thing is that you have to drop your samples directly to the device drop area not to drum cells, otherwise it will reload cell with empty simpler.

re:dream
Posts: 4554
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 9:42 am
Location: Hoerikwaggo's sunset side...
Contact:

Re: Global chain Macro mapping in a drum rack

Post by re:dream » Sun Feb 17, 2013 2:11 pm

That sounds like a good idea. So would Live take care of the routing from cell to sampler? I would not end up with one cell triggering all the samples? I will try it.

StarcAt
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 3:29 pm

Re: Global chain Macro mapping in a drum rack

Post by StarcAt » Sun Feb 17, 2013 2:25 pm

Yea, live just copy all the macro knob mappings with the cell, but some times i like to select bunch of samples and drop them to multi-cells simultaneously which just doesn't work that way. So, if you'll find another solution please share.

re:dream
Posts: 4554
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 9:42 am
Location: Hoerikwaggo's sunset side...
Contact:

Re: Global chain Macro mapping in a drum rack

Post by re:dream » Sun Feb 17, 2013 3:16 pm

I will. At the moment I am more or less reconciled to searching for and dropping samples individually - as you say, that's what I will have to do to keep the macro mappings.

sounddevisor
Posts: 129
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 3:31 pm

Re: Global chain Macro mapping in a drum rack

Post by sounddevisor » Sun Feb 17, 2013 3:26 pm

quiet_ou wrote: If I select a particular pad, I can go to the simpler/sampler in that pad's chain, and macro map the parameters there, but it does not affect any of the others. And those macro controls are now exclusively assigned to that pad's samper
Actually, you should be able to successively map, say, the "attack" knob from each of your samplers to a single macro knob. Click your first sampler, click the "attack" knob, control-click and map it to Macro 1. Now move to your next sampler, repeat the process. Your Macro 1 should now control "attack" for both your samplers. Repeat as needed.

StarcAt
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 3:29 pm

Re: Global chain Macro mapping in a drum rack

Post by StarcAt » Sun Feb 17, 2013 3:33 pm

sounddevisor wrote: Repeat as needed
quiet_ou wrote:8 x 16 = 128 separate bits of macro mapping to do

re:dream
Posts: 4554
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 9:42 am
Location: Hoerikwaggo's sunset side...
Contact:

Re: Global chain Macro mapping in a drum rack

Post by re:dream » Sun Feb 17, 2013 3:46 pm

Yep that was quite a bit of mouse clicking on a hot summer afternoon!.

But I now have it set up & will midi map the lot to my MPD32 tonight. Should be fun

sounddevisor
Posts: 129
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 3:31 pm

Re: Global chain Macro mapping in a drum rack

Post by sounddevisor » Sun Feb 17, 2013 3:54 pm

Yeah, I missed the "8 x 16 = 128 separate bits of macro mapping to do" part, sorry!

Oh, well, at least once it's set up you can save it and re-use it as a template.

JuanSOLO
Posts: 3236
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:21 am
Location: Shreveport LA, sometimes Dallas/Ft Worth TX

Re: Global chain Macro mapping in a drum rack

Post by JuanSOLO » Sun Feb 17, 2013 4:21 pm

right click 'map to siblings'

re:dream
Posts: 4554
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 9:42 am
Location: Hoerikwaggo's sunset side...
Contact:

Re: Global chain Macro mapping in a drum rack

Post by re:dream » Sun Feb 17, 2013 6:48 pm

JuanSOLO wrote:right click 'map to siblings'

Where? If I right click in Map mode, no such option appears...

[edit - and in the Live Manual, the word siblings does not appear once...]

re:dream
Posts: 4554
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 9:42 am
Location: Hoerikwaggo's sunset side...
Contact:

Re: Global chain Macro mapping in a drum rack

Post by re:dream » Sun Feb 17, 2013 7:05 pm


re:dream
Posts: 4554
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 9:42 am
Location: Hoerikwaggo's sunset side...
Contact:

Re: Global chain Macro mapping in a drum rack

Post by re:dream » Sun Feb 17, 2013 7:09 pm

http://www.abletonop.com/2012/04/huge-a ... g-mapping/

OK, so if I'd known this it would have saved me a lot of work !

StarcAt
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 3:29 pm

Re: Global chain Macro mapping in a drum rack

Post by StarcAt » Tue Feb 19, 2013 12:58 am

What's an amazing tip!!! Thank you so much.

JAZZTRONAUT
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2014 2:04 am

Re: Global chain Macro mapping in a drum rack

Post by JAZZTRONAUT » Tue Jan 07, 2014 2:04 am


Post Reply