Mixing hiphop with drum'n'bass

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
fall

Mixing hiphop with drum'n'bass

Post by fall » Tue Apr 19, 2005 9:23 pm

Hi,

I'm new to Ableton Live, so I'm sorry if I'm asking a stupid question. What should I do if I want to mix a track at about 80 bpm with one at 160 bpm? I don't want them to play twice as fast, obviously. Should I prep all my tracks that are around 80bpm so that Live thinks they are 160 bpm, or is there a simpler way to play them at half the current bpm without loosing the markers?

Thanks.

sweetjesus

Post by sweetjesus » Tue Apr 19, 2005 9:28 pm

look in the clip info just under the bpm of the track, there is a *2 and a :2 button. Tell live that the BPM of the 80 bpm tracks are half of what they are (i.e. 40bpm) and that way in a 160bpm project, they will play at twice that speed (80bpm) which is their actual speed.

kabuki

Post by kabuki » Tue Apr 19, 2005 10:21 pm

The Easiest Way to deal with time tweeks, is to warp-correct the tracks if they need it, and Render them to the round number (80 or 160) with analysis file ON and you will have a perfectly warped and flat track that only needs ONE warp marker (The first down beat). Then you can flip the BPMs on the fly by selecting the warp marker and clicking on the :2 buttons...

If that is confusing, read the manual on warping and rendering...

PM Me and I'll try to explain better...
15" PB 2.5 Ghz, 4 Gig RAM, 750 GB HD, Live 9 still no cue points or program change messages?!?. Doesn't do shit.

robbmasters

Post by robbmasters » Tue Apr 19, 2005 10:32 pm

It's best to keep them at 160 bpm then flip them to 80 bpm when you need to, rather than the other way around.

The reason is that the same track will be twice the number of bars at 160 bpm that is is at 80 bpm. For example, a 5 minute track will be 200 bars at 160 bpm and 100 bars at 80 bpm.