Live 9 and OSC

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
fx23
Posts: 798
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 3:23 pm

Live 9 and OSC

Post by fx23 » Fri Feb 22, 2013 10:05 am

anynody knows if liveOSC would work on L9?

it seems all liveOSC free stuff has been abandonned favor to commercial stuff...
im so sad there are not really 'open' OSC planned and maintenanced for a tool such as live.

but maybe im totally off and we won't need it any more with integrated M4L?

can M4L receive OSC from external apps and remote live?

justin
Posts: 395
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2004 11:48 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Live 9 and OSC

Post by justin » Fri Feb 22, 2013 1:27 pm

Max can send receive OSC so i imagine u can do in M4L, but i havent tried it personally.

synnack
Posts: 2053
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 10:55 pm
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: Live 9 and OSC

Post by synnack » Fri Feb 22, 2013 2:37 pm

Yes Max for Live supports OSC both inbound to the devices from anything and outbound to remote devices over whatever port you specify.
MBP | Live 9 Suite | Max for Live | Push | MOTU Ultralite | iPad | Analog Modular Synths | Moog Voyager
aka "Tempus3r" | Music | Blog | Twitter | Soundcloud

Image

fx23
Posts: 798
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 3:23 pm

Re: Live 9 and OSC

Post by fx23 » Fri Feb 22, 2013 4:15 pm

thanks a lot u booth! that great news :)

dr_loop
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 1:15 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Live 9 and OSC

Post by dr_loop » Sat Feb 23, 2013 12:04 pm

anybody knows if liveOSC would work on L9?
i very much hope so!
Ableton would be in for a shitstorm if they break backward compatibility. Not so much because of LiveOSC, apparently few people are actually using it, but breaking LiveOSC would probably mean, i suppose, breaking TouchOSC and Lemur for iPad too.

And then *many* would not be amused!

And Max4Live is (for me) no alternative, i'm not willing to buy it just to use OSC !!!

puzzlefactory
Posts: 360
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 9:39 pm

Re: Live 9 and OSC

Post by puzzlefactory » Sat Feb 23, 2013 12:30 pm

I've tried using LiveControl with the latest beta of 9 and it doesn't work. I'm not sure if they are working on a fix or if they are just concentrating on LiveControl 2 which is coming out soon (probably around the same time as Live 9).

Post Reply