Advice setting up BCR2000?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
braj?
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 9:20 pm

Advice setting up BCR2000?

Post by braj? » Thu Feb 28, 2013 6:06 am

I just got it today and want to make the most out of it, any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!

revoltcrew
Posts: 258
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 4:29 am
Location: uSa
Contact:

Re: Advice setting up BCR2000?

Post by revoltcrew » Thu Feb 28, 2013 6:33 am

be sure its back to factory settings
and make your own presets!
i don't use automap'ing...
i simply made a grip of presets all CC's so i can map out my own templates..
this way, anything can be mapped at any moment.
cheers
100000greenCanaries are either violin0rGreen
http://sunfalls.org ||http://soundcloud.com/sunfalls || http://vimeo.com/sunfalls

Tone Deft
Posts: 24067
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: SF, CA

Re: Advice setting up BCR2000?

Post by Tone Deft » Thu Feb 28, 2013 5:27 pm

take an hour or so and do this, I did and it's been great.
on preset 1 start at the top right and assign each control a unique CC# starting at 1 on midi channel 1.

copy that to the presets 2-16.

then change the midi channel of presets 2-16 to 2-16. IOW preset 2's controls are all on midi channel 2, preset 16 are on midi channel 16.

use Automap, dunno why you wouldn't. go to BCR preset 20 (or whatever), hit edit - right preset arrow. the LEDs should start spinning. in Live go to preferences-midi and where your BCR is listed hit DUMP. this tells Live to put the automap preset onto your BCR. when the LEDs stop spinning, hit save.

I did that YEARS ago when the BCR first came out and it's been very handy. great box.
"Obsession is a great substitute for talent." - Steve Martin on learning the banjo

Dell Inspiron 15 7000, Live 10.1, Win10 Home, Edirol UA101, APC40, Remote SL, SPD-SX, mic, POD500HDX, JX305, Nova
soundcloud.com/tone-deft

braj?
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 9:20 pm

Re: Advice setting up BCR2000?

Post by braj? » Thu Feb 28, 2013 5:31 pm

Tone Deft wrote:take an hour or so and do this, I did and it's been great.
on preset 1 start at the top right and assign each control a unique CC# starting at 1 on midi channel 1.

copy that to the presets 2-16.

then change the midi channel of presets 2-16 to 2-16. IOW preset 2's controls are all on midi channel 2, preset 16 are on midi channel 16.

use Automap, dunno why you wouldn't. go to BCR preset 20 (or whatever), hit edit - right preset arrow. the LEDs should start spinning. in Live go to preferences-midi and where your BCR is listed hit DUMP. this tells Live to put the automap preset onto your BCR. when the LEDs stop spinning, hit save.

I did that YEARS ago when the BCR first came out and it's been very handy. great box.
That sounds like great advice.

braj?
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 9:20 pm

Re: Advice setting up BCR2000?

Post by braj? » Thu Feb 28, 2013 6:30 pm

How do you edit the midi channel for a whole preset at once?

braj?
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 9:20 pm

Re: Advice setting up BCR2000?

Post by braj? » Thu Feb 28, 2013 7:49 pm

Well I got the midi channels all worked out using BC Manager. I'm still trying to figure out how to get Automap functioning correctly but it is gonna happen :)

Post Reply