All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Live 9, 32 or 64bit install?
PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2013 3:21 am 

Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2005 2:01 am
Posts: 574
Location: Brazil
artpunk wrote:
chris vine wrote:
Quote:
+ if you have M4L, it won't work on 64 Bit.


I am staying on 32bit then :P


Max For Live for Live 9 Suite is based on Max 6 which is 64-bit I'm fairly sure...
https://www.ableton.com/en/live/max-for-live/

So that particular bit of info you are basing your decisions on is leading you astray... If you've made any patches in Max 5 I am not sure how well they will work in Max 6 however....

Don't believe everything you read in the forums (what I've just told you could be wrong) it's best to do your own research too.
:D



Thanks for that - I was getting confused with all the different posts re: L9 and 32 vs 64 bit, bridging VSTs, video working or not on PCs with L9 64bit, max 5.1 max6....sheesh. 8O :mrgreen:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Live 9, 32 or 64bit install?
PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2013 5:20 am 

Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 1:51 am
Posts: 537
Location: The Antipodes
chris vine wrote:
Thanks for that - I was getting confused with all the different posts re: L9 and 32 vs 64 bit, bridging VSTs, video working or not on PCs with L9 64bit, max 5.1 max6....sheesh. 8O :mrgreen:


Oh, it's easy to get confused with all the different versions. I think it's easier for me because confusion is my default state!

As I said before, you can have both versions of Live 9 installed, I have both the 32-bit & 64-bit Live 9 beta's, with Max 6 you can choose to open it in 32-bit or 64-bit...
I hope that makes your decision a little easier!
:D

_________________

“... it was just to make an average listener go: ‘What the fuck is this?’ That’s a real inspiration for me and something that I will explore more on upcoming recordings.”
- Wally De Backer (Gotye) quoting Ween's intention behind making records


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Live 9, 32 or 64bit install?
PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2013 6:11 am 

Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 7:44 am
Posts: 2188
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Sorry for the bum steer Chris.

Thought the post was asking about Live 8.4 64Bit.

Need my eyes checked. :x

Yeh, It's just that Live 8.4 64Bit does not work with M4L.

I have 4 versions of Live running on my system atm.

8.4, 32 & 64 Bit versions, & Live beta 9.69, 32 & 64 Bit versions.

It would really depend on your vst collection & how many of these were 64Bit, & how much ram your machine was running, to make a choice.

Doesn't hurt to run both though.

_________________
Speciman²
Speciman² on Soundcloud
Speciman² on FaceBook


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Live 9, 32 or 64bit install?
PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2013 11:23 am 

Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 4:17 pm
Posts: 164
ill install both and see how stable both is. and if you have the HDD space - why not install both.
x32 vst plugins you can easy brigde with jbrigde which i also own here. so that brigding things should be a problem at all.
when you have more as 4GB RAM 64bit is always a win. ive loaded up 21 onmispheres in ableton 8.4b9 and with loading the 22 instance (with the same preset ofc - had a 170MB preset loaded) ableton crashed.
the 21 omnispheres were playable btw fully.
with the 64bit version of the beta i was able to load more instances 32 ones until my ram was full and i got lag.

therefore install both versions and use the 64bit version when the project gets to big and uses more than 3.87GB RAM.

_________________
The Davile Insaide Teh Mashihne.
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Live 9, 32 or 64bit install?
PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2013 11:25 am 

Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2005 2:01 am
Posts: 574
Location: Brazil
Thanks Guys, I have 8 gig of RAM and a pretty fast system, so I was intending to go 64bit. However, seems smart, as y'all say, to install both. 8)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Live 9, 32 or 64bit install?
PostPosted: Thu Mar 07, 2013 12:21 pm 

Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2013 12:08 pm
Posts: 4
I think Ableton makes mistake when 64-bit version discourages people using legacy 32-bit VST/AU plugins. Reason is simple. We all have legacy plugins that are slightly irreplaceable (Brainworx) or even have no equivalent/version (like Waves or Sylenth1) in 64-bit.

Ableton's statement that they have no plans or intentions of building 32/64-bit bridge makes users to turn into jBridgeM. Yet, that's another application and plenty of non-desired factors are suddenly added to the project (stability, latency, sound quality).

Checking around we can find Vienna Ensemble Pro or forthcoming BitWig DAWs which will easily take some users from Ableton's community. Even Logic 9 Pro with FXpansion wrapper (VST-AU) can handle transition and make it nice and smooth.

Looking back on decision of not planning/developing 32/64 bridge and maximising the capabilities of excellent DAW like Live 9, do you still think this is good decision? Can Ableton afford (after 3.5 year development lifecycle for Live 9) to loose more users against competition?

Points of having 32-bit and 64-bit version installed parallel on same machine are bit off for a simple reason. You will miss for sure old plugin in new setup or you will simply have no money to buy new version.

ps. On both machines I run OS X 10.8 with 16 and 32GB Ram.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Live 9, 32 or 64bit install?
PostPosted: Thu Mar 07, 2013 12:32 pm 

Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 12:05 pm
Posts: 208
Patso wrote:
We all have legacy plugins that are slightly irreplaceable (Brainworx) or even have no equivalent/version (like Waves or Sylenth1) in 64-bit.


I respect your opinion, but just for the record I don't have/use any legacy 32 bit plugins & am glad that Ableton didn't divert resources develop a bridge.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group