Live 9 - 25% March 4th discount vs 40% student discount

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
BoddAH

Live 9 - 25% March 4th discount vs 40% student discount

Post by BoddAH » Sat Mar 02, 2013 3:16 pm

After a 3 year Reason hiatus (which was actually pretty good for learning complex routing and such) from Live, I'm starting to get tired of the fun but awkward and slow way of working and miss the Live workflow and many features.

With the release of Live 9 there's probably never be a better time to get back to it and I want to get Live 9 Suite! :D

I am currently a student (until september if nothing goes wrong) and I'm wondering whether I should get the standard version of Live 9 with the current 25% discount (412 €) or the student version with the 40% discount (329 €).

My main questions are:
  • Will I still be able to use my Educational version of Live 9 when I'm not a student anymore (I'm guessing yes but I want to make sure)?
  • I'm still on the fence for Bitwig, will I be able to sell my Live license if Bitwig 1, 2, 3 (in a couple of years) happens to be awesome and I want to switch to it? I'm guessing I'll have to sell to another student, will this be easy or very difficult compared to just selling a standard licence based on your experience?
  • Will my educational version be converted into a standard version someday if I upgrade it to Live 10 or Live 11 with a standard upgrade or will my licence be considered "Educational" forever?
Thanks a bunch, either way I'm about to pull the trigger! 8)

The Northern Contingent

Re: Live 9 - 25% March 4th discount vs 40% student discount

Post by The Northern Contingent » Sat Mar 02, 2013 3:47 pm

I'm not entirely sure how the student license works. If I were you I'd email Ableton customer support with your questions so that you have it in writing direct from them. Hearsay on the Ableton forum might not be the most realisable source for licensing questions.