Access Virus and Ableton Live 9?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
vido
Posts: 238
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 8:39 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Access Virus and Ableton Live 9?

Post by vido » Wed Mar 06, 2013 3:37 am

Working ok, or not working? Any advice?
Collab with Jeremy Blake of Red Means Recording:

Blake and Axe; "All The Light I Do Not See"
Spotify: https://goo.gl/MR8Wjr
Tidal: https://goo.gl/s35W33
Google Play: https://goo.gl/HQ1g7E
Amazon: https://goo.gl/cx5dUL

Not the usual stuff.

schullermusik
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 4:09 pm

Re: Access Virus and Ableton Live 9?

Post by schullermusik » Wed Mar 06, 2013 3:47 am

That's my plan, soon. As soon as I put together the $2K, that is. :) My Ultranova works fine in 9, and did in the beta as well, 64 bit on OS X. There are tons of YouTube videos of people using the TI Desktop and the TI Snow with Live 8 - there's no reason it wouldn't work in Live 9.

vido
Posts: 238
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 8:39 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: Access Virus and Ableton Live 9?

Post by vido » Wed Mar 06, 2013 2:27 pm

schullermusik wrote:There are tons of YouTube videos of people using the TI Desktop and the TI Snow with Live 8 - there's no reason it wouldn't work in Live 9.
Yeah - except: you never know... :)
Collab with Jeremy Blake of Red Means Recording:

Blake and Axe; "All The Light I Do Not See"
Spotify: https://goo.gl/MR8Wjr
Tidal: https://goo.gl/s35W33
Google Play: https://goo.gl/HQ1g7E
Amazon: https://goo.gl/cx5dUL

Not the usual stuff.

Sional
Posts: 156
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 5:36 pm

Re: Access Virus and Ableton Live 9?

Post by Sional » Wed Mar 06, 2013 3:13 pm

My Snow works fine with Live 9 suite 64 bit on a PC.

vido
Posts: 238
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 8:39 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: Access Virus and Ableton Live 9?

Post by vido » Wed Mar 06, 2013 5:28 pm

Sional wrote:My Snow works fine with Live 9 suite 64 bit on a PC.
Perfect - thanks!
Collab with Jeremy Blake of Red Means Recording:

Blake and Axe; "All The Light I Do Not See"
Spotify: https://goo.gl/MR8Wjr
Tidal: https://goo.gl/s35W33
Google Play: https://goo.gl/HQ1g7E
Amazon: https://goo.gl/cx5dUL

Not the usual stuff.

re:dream
Posts: 4586
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 9:42 am
Location: Hoerikwaggo's sunset side...
Contact:

Re: Access Virus and Ableton Live 9?

Post by re:dream » Wed Mar 06, 2013 5:32 pm

So does my old KC 8)

vido
Posts: 238
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 8:39 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: Access Virus and Ableton Live 9?

Post by vido » Thu Mar 07, 2013 4:12 am

And so it seems my TI2! But only just tried it a bit now. Have had some trouble with live 9 though (not in regards to the virus), the spinning-wheel-syndrome. Hopefully just while indexing the library.
Collab with Jeremy Blake of Red Means Recording:

Blake and Axe; "All The Light I Do Not See"
Spotify: https://goo.gl/MR8Wjr
Tidal: https://goo.gl/s35W33
Google Play: https://goo.gl/HQ1g7E
Amazon: https://goo.gl/cx5dUL

Not the usual stuff.

Ascot
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 6:17 pm

Re: Access Virus and Ableton Live 9?

Post by Ascot » Thu Mar 07, 2013 11:27 am

How do you map the virus's knobs to live?

I only seem to be able to map the keys on my polar and im damned if I can figure out how to get it to work......

re:dream
Posts: 4586
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 9:42 am
Location: Hoerikwaggo's sunset side...
Contact:

Re: Access Virus and Ableton Live 9?

Post by re:dream » Thu Mar 07, 2013 11:45 am

In midi map mode, it works like any other midi interface.

tonfilm
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 1:54 pm
Location: in your mind
Contact:

Re: Access Virus and Ableton Live 9?

Post by tonfilm » Thu Mar 07, 2013 12:04 pm

there is a very old problem with live and the virus TI. the midi notes can get out of time, and not just some ticks, but to an amount thats not usable anymore. then you have to stop playback and start again. this is an old issue and access has the statement, that the midi notes from live are the problem.

has anyone experienced this so far? i have no time to test it until next week...

petal
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2013 5:27 pm

Re: Access Virus and Ableton Live 9?

Post by petal » Thu Mar 07, 2013 12:51 pm

Yes, midi timing from Live to external synths is not tight.

Also, I'm experiencing problems with automation of paramters on external synths. Doing it with envelopes in clips does not produce a smooth result. Automation through a M4L-device from the arrangement window however works fine.

But I can not honestly say that Live + External gear is a nobrainer.

vido
Posts: 238
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 8:39 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: Access Virus and Ableton Live 9?

Post by vido » Thu Mar 07, 2013 3:21 pm

quiet_ou wrote:In midi map mode, it works like any other midi interface.
Really?

I get Live to respond to key-strokes, but in midi-map-mode (cmd+M) live does not recognise turning of knobs on the virus. However the virus control-app DOES respond to the turning of the same knobs, so I know the computer/Live is receiving signals when turning the knobs.

Another issue is I get the wrong notes when playing the keyboard. The key I play on the virus is by Live recognised as a key four half-notes further up the scale.

Any thoughts?
Collab with Jeremy Blake of Red Means Recording:

Blake and Axe; "All The Light I Do Not See"
Spotify: https://goo.gl/MR8Wjr
Tidal: https://goo.gl/s35W33
Google Play: https://goo.gl/HQ1g7E
Amazon: https://goo.gl/cx5dUL

Not the usual stuff.


Ascot
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 6:17 pm

Re: Access Virus and Ableton Live 9?

Post by Ascot » Thu Mar 07, 2013 5:00 pm

vido wrote:
quiet_ou wrote:In midi map mode, it works like any other midi interface.
Really?

I get Live to respond to key-strokes, but in midi-map-mode (cmd+M) live does not recognise turning of knobs on the virus. However the virus control-app DOES respond to the turning of the same knobs, so I know the computer/Live is receiving signals when turning the knobs.

Another issue is I get the wrong notes when playing the keyboard. The key I play on the virus is by Live recognised as a key four half-notes further up the scale.

Any thoughts?
Me too when I put it in midi mode the knobs are not recognised by ableton when I twiddle them. All other controllers work fine.

vido
Posts: 238
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 8:39 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: Access Virus and Ableton Live 9?

Post by vido » Thu Mar 07, 2013 10:17 pm

Ascot wrote:
Me too when I put it in midi mode the knobs are not recognised by ableton when I twiddle them. All other controllers work fine.
I think we need to put it in remote-mode (there is even an ableton-template) but I just found out, so don't know how to make it work. Anyone done this?
Collab with Jeremy Blake of Red Means Recording:

Blake and Axe; "All The Light I Do Not See"
Spotify: https://goo.gl/MR8Wjr
Tidal: https://goo.gl/s35W33
Google Play: https://goo.gl/HQ1g7E
Amazon: https://goo.gl/cx5dUL

Not the usual stuff.

Post Reply