Adding Swing in Live 9

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
geometrygod
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:35 pm

Adding Swing in Live 9

Post by geometrygod » Thu Mar 07, 2013 2:50 am

On the push, I am aware that there is a knob that adjusts swing. Where are those parameters in live 9? Is there some kind* of global swing?

I believe i saw in a beta screenshot a swing percentage being at the top left of the DAW.

Thanks!
Last edited by geometrygod on Fri Mar 08, 2013 4:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

geometrygod
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:35 pm

Re: Adding Swing in Live 9

Post by geometrygod » Fri Mar 08, 2013 1:45 am

Anyone?

dazzer
Posts: 1240
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 10:24 am

Re: Adding Swing in Live 9

Post by dazzer » Fri Mar 08, 2013 2:05 am

Yes there's a global swing

geometrygod
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:35 pm

Re: Adding Swing in Live 9

Post by geometrygod » Fri Mar 08, 2013 2:53 am

How do I access it?

Cowlash
Posts: 313
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 7:39 pm
Location: Newcastle, UK
Contact:

Re: Adding Swing in Live 9

Post by Cowlash » Fri Mar 08, 2013 3:06 am

geometrygod wrote:Is there some king of global swing?
I would like to meet the King of Global Swing!

geometrygod
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:35 pm

Re: Adding Swing in Live 9

Post by geometrygod » Fri Mar 08, 2013 4:04 am

lol

re:dream
Posts: 4562
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 9:42 am
Location: Hoerikwaggo's sunset side...
Contact:

Re: Adding Swing in Live 9

Post by re:dream » Fri Mar 08, 2013 5:30 am

Look in the Groove pool. By the two little wavy line sat the bottom of your browser

geometrygod
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:35 pm

Re: Adding Swing in Live 9

Post by geometrygod » Fri Mar 08, 2013 5:45 am

Yes - I know about the groove pool from Live 8... but for some reason I thought there was some different swing control in Live 9. From the Push demonstrations, I noticed that the user would simply turn a knob on the upper left hand corner, and the swing of a selected instrument would change. In Live 8, my process was to select a groove template, then "commit" it to a pattern.

So in other words - have there been any changes to the swing parameter? Or is it the same as Live 8?

Thanks

dazzer
Posts: 1240
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 10:24 am

Re: Adding Swing in Live 9

Post by dazzer » Fri Mar 08, 2013 5:59 am

I'm not at my studio computer now but there's a box near the groove pool for global swing, different from Live 8.

geometrygod
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:35 pm

Re: Adding Swing in Live 9

Post by geometrygod » Fri Mar 08, 2013 6:11 am

Hey dazzer - thanks.. I did see that. It is set at 100% by default (0-130% range). When I turn it up or down it does not change my patterns swing at all.

On the push video i was referring to, someone just turned a knob and the swing timing changed... hmmm

Any ideas?

geometrygod
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:35 pm

Re: Adding Swing in Live 9

Post by geometrygod » Fri Mar 08, 2013 6:13 am

Maybe on the push there is a default groove pool file open?

geometrygod
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:35 pm

Re: Adding Swing in Live 9

Post by geometrygod » Fri Mar 08, 2013 6:17 am

Ok cool. Thanks for your help guys - I think i get it now!

As long as you arm your tracks "Groove" dropdown with a groove template, you can adjust the global swing to affect all tracks armed with that template!

Cool stuff! Thanks Ableton. I LOVE Live 9!

jasper
Posts: 387
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 10:57 am

Re: Adding Swing in Live 9

Post by jasper » Thu Jan 01, 2015 4:24 pm

You have to drag a groove onto every single region, snippet and loop in your song
before the global groove amount will do anything.
And every time you lay in a new clip, you need to drag the groove onto it.
Ableton included logic's swings as grooves in v9, but doesn't tell you which ones they are (swingA, B, C, etc)

In an earlier version of Live the Global swing amount applied to everything automatically.

marcoskohler
Posts: 333
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 3:13 am

Re: Adding Swing in Live 9

Post by marcoskohler » Thu Jan 01, 2015 9:23 pm

It's the groove pool and the global swing setting at the top. Read the manual, seriously.

re:dream
Posts: 4562
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 9:42 am
Location: Hoerikwaggo's sunset side...
Contact:

Re: Adding Swing in Live 9

Post by re:dream » Sun Jan 04, 2015 2:56 pm

:D :roll:

Post Reply