Undo (Ctrl+Z) randomly does not work (Live 9.0.1)

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Jrel
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 3:17 am

Undo (Ctrl+Z) randomly does not work (Live 9.0.1)

Post by Jrel » Fri Mar 08, 2013 4:25 pm

Will there be a fix for this soon? No point in working with Live 9 when I can't undo things. It also seems to be random, but it will always happen eventually.

Cut some parts out of audio. Ctrl+Z works.
Cut some parts out of audio. Ctrl+Z doesn't work.

Add automation points, move a few automation lines. Ctrl+Z works.
Add automation points, move a few automation lines. Ctrl+Z doesn't work.

I also noticed that when Ctrl+Z isn't working, it is trying to change Parameter#10.

ian_halsall
Posts: 1711
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 8:52 am
Location: South London
Contact:

Re: Undo (Ctrl+Z) randomly does not work (Live 9.0.1)

Post by ian_halsall » Fri Mar 08, 2013 4:35 pm

I haven't seen any of this behaviour nor seen it reported on the beta forum.

Maybe contact ABleton support - this is a very nasty problem indeed!

estevan carlos benson
Posts: 261
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 5:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Undo (Ctrl+Z) randomly does not work (Live 9.0.1)

Post by estevan carlos benson » Fri Mar 08, 2013 5:11 pm

I've found that undoing doesn't give you expected results when using certain Max patches. For example, if you have a Max patch that is "on" and constantly updating parameters, any CTRL-Z you do is reacting to that. This can go easily unnoticed.

Edit

I've been in a situation, editing a track, hitting undue and nothing seemingly happens. I realized it was simply undoing some automatic parameter change occurring in a Max patch.
Live 9 Suite | M4L | MacBook Pro Quadcore 16gb ram | APC40
estevancarlos.com | The Handsomest Drowned Man

Jrel
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 3:17 am

Re: Undo (Ctrl+Z) randomly does not work (Live 9.0.1)

Post by Jrel » Fri Mar 08, 2013 5:57 pm

It doesn't happen in completely new Live 9 sets; just in my Live 8 ones that I've opened in Live 9, saved in Live 9, and then started working with them. Must be some kind of conversion issue.

H20nly
Posts: 15834
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:15 pm
Location: The Wild West

Re: Undo (Ctrl+Z) randomly does not work (Live 9.0.1)

Post by H20nly » Fri Mar 08, 2013 6:24 pm

wait, you're trying to undo edits in Live 9 that you made to a set in Live 8? is that right?

hoffman2k
Posts: 14683
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Undo (Ctrl+Z) randomly does not work (Live 9.0.1)

Post by hoffman2k » Fri Mar 08, 2013 6:59 pm

estevan carlos benson wrote:I've found that undoing doesn't give you expected results when using certain Max patches. For example, if you have a Max patch that is "on" and constantly updating parameters, any CTRL-Z you do is reacting to that. This can go easily unnoticed.

Edit

I've been in a situation, editing a track, hitting undue and nothing seemingly happens. I realized it was simply undoing some automatic parameter change occurring in a Max patch.
Yeah, I made a few devices that are heavy offenders in this area. I'm doing a rewrite soon, so I'll just work around this issue. Basically, any device that calls up sets of parameters and stores them, will trigger an "Undo Change" upon being loaded. I have a device that loads 16 parameters at once...
The storing of parameters in a Live Set/Preset sounds trivial, but the way it was implemented in Live 8.2.2 felt like working with magic. Before that it was a huge pain and to work around the issue just brings about more pain.

At any rate. A lot of devices are going to have to be revised to account for now having automation in Live. And to make abuse of it :)

escmode
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 3:29 am
Contact:

Re: Undo (Ctrl+Z) randomly does not work (Live 9.0.1)

Post by escmode » Sat Mar 09, 2013 3:31 am

I seem to have a similar issue. I can only undo 1 step back.. but no further than that. No one else seeing this?

H20nly
Posts: 15834
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:15 pm
Location: The Wild West

Re: Undo (Ctrl+Z) randomly does not work (Live 9.0.1)

Post by H20nly » Sat Mar 09, 2013 4:17 am

i just added a track, selected a OI instrument, selected a MIDI device, added another track, selected another OI instrument, and un-armed the track for recording...

with the exception of the arming/un-arming i could undo and redo all of it.

OSX - cmd Z, cmd shift z

Beneficjenci
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Contact:

Re: Undo (Ctrl+Z) randomly does not work (Live 9.0.1)

Post by Beneficjenci » Mon Apr 08, 2013 9:54 am

Same thing here - it drive me crazy - CTRL -Z randomly not working. And I had created a Live 9 set from scratch, but I do have some Max patches opened and I have a same situation as above - as soon as I try to undo, it affects only Max patch but not audio edits etc. Really weird. I am on Win7 64, Live 9 Suite 32 bit. :roll:

Cheers
Color My Sound
High quality online mixing
http://www.colormysound.com/en/index.html

Sibanger
Posts: 2225
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 7:44 am
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Contact:

Re: Undo (Ctrl+Z) randomly does not work (Live 9.0.1)

Post by Sibanger » Mon Apr 08, 2013 11:44 am

Yes, I have come across this issue.

The weird thing is that it seems to be completely random. :x

Last time this happened on 9.0.2

No M4L. Just mixer/volume tweaks etc.

Live 9 is the new Live 8 :lol:

nemoy
Posts: 380
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 1:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Undo (Ctrl+Z) randomly does not work (Live 9.0.1)

Post by nemoy » Mon Apr 08, 2013 1:01 pm

i had that too, but i think the new beta has that fixed!

Parameters linked to either an envelope follower, LFO or the like aren't written into the undo history any more...

it drove me crazy, but seems to work fine now with 9.0.3b
give it a try...

Beneficjenci
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Contact:

Re: Undo (Ctrl+Z) randomly does not work (Live 9.0.1)

Post by Beneficjenci » Mon Apr 08, 2013 2:47 pm

Thanks - downloading now. Hope it works cause its just useless with that bug...
Color My Sound
High quality online mixing
http://www.colormysound.com/en/index.html

pr0fessor
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2008 3:44 pm

Re: Undo (Ctrl+Z) randomly does not work (Live 9.0.1)

Post by pr0fessor » Wed Jul 17, 2013 3:51 pm

I'm getting this too. Just installed Omnisphere 1.5x. I've lost all undo functions on both laptop and tower. Advise.

Live 9.04/ Mac Pro/Macbook Pro

floond
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2011 5:49 am

Re: Undo (Ctrl+Z) randomly does not work (Live 9.0.1)

Post by floond » Wed Jul 17, 2013 5:45 pm

Yep, this happens for me also (using 9.0.4) whenever I use Max4Live devices, use a preset from Live8, or open a Live8 project in Live9. Fingers crossed that it has been fixed in 9.0.5

Mage2k
Posts: 218
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 5:49 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Re: Undo (Ctrl+Z) randomly does not work (Live 9.0.1)

Post by Mage2k » Thu Jul 18, 2013 12:25 am

estevan carlos benson wrote:I've found that undoing doesn't give you expected results when using certain Max patches. For example, if you have a Max patch that is "on" and constantly updating parameters, any CTRL-Z you do is reacting to that. This can go easily unnoticed.

Edit

I've been in a situation, editing a track, hitting undue and nothing seemingly happens. I realized it was simply undoing some automatic parameter change occurring in a Max patch.
Interesting. I see a lot of 'Undo Transposition' in the Edit dialogue. I wonder if that's from my using the Mono Sequencer?

Post Reply