Select which clips fire on Scene Launch

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
Buleriachk

Select which clips fire on Scene Launch

Post by Buleriachk » Fri Mar 08, 2013 8:47 pm

I upgraded to live 9 Suite mostly to support Ableton, since I'm a Flamenco Guitarist, and don't want/need many of its features, although I recognize Ableton's extraordinary value in pushing forward the boundaries of music production and creation.

The ONE thing I could really, really use in a live performance, both as an accompaniment tool and as a backing track compose tool is the ability to select which clips are to play at scene launch; I can't BELIEVE Ableton locked us into launching every frickin' clip in the row when we want to launch a scene. There is a ClyphX workaround (sort of) if you create a duplicate track and use it as your scene launch, but it is very awkward to use and difficult to type, and not flexible at all in real time.

What we need is a simple button on each clip (or a drop down menu by right click, although one should be able to do this in real time) that is a simple "Play clip on scene launch (yes/no)". This would allow us (e.g.) to dedicate specific tracks to rhythm,fills, chord change melodies (for bass and/or melodies), etc.

It is a VERY easy thing to do (a boolean and a few program mods, and a change in icon to indicate whether the clip launches or not - maybe reverse the arrow?); immediately after launch, the clip would return to its current function.

It is hard for me to understand why Ableton has left this functionality out - it is NOT the "stop clip" button which does something entirely different.

Sheesh, I really like Ableton, but why can't you guys provide this simple little tweak?

patrick.olson86

Re: Select which clips fire on Scene Launch

Post by patrick.olson86 » Fri Mar 08, 2013 9:16 pm