Packing/Unpacking Live Packs using Live 9

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
jsn
Posts: 209
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 2:32 pm
Location: JKPG SWEDEN

Packing/Unpacking Live Packs using Live 9

Post by jsn » Sat Mar 09, 2013 3:35 pm

Hey gang,

According to the L9 manual (section 5.11):

"To unpack a Pack (i.e., to restore the original Live Project), double-click the Pack file (.alp),...drag into Live main window...Live will then install the Pack to its default location and IT WILL APPEEAR IN THE PACKS LABEL in the browser."

This is not the behavior I am experiencing unfortunately, when attempting to go through this process.

I thought I would construct a few new L9 projects and create new packs (using file management procedure) containing presets, clips and whatnot from a couple of legacy packs and in doing so, try to get this content to populate under "Packs", as noted in the manual. I am unable to get anything to appear under Packs in Places, with the exception of downloaded packs from Ableton's website. Has anyone else out there successfully managed to get a custom Live Pack they've created to unpack and its content populate under Packs section? According to the manual this should be the expected result. Did I perhaps misread this? Thanks for any info

Edit: I should confirm in advance that I DID import the external content before creating the new pack from the project, so this is not the issue.
Live Suite 9.5 (32-bit), MFL 6.1.3 (416a295), Win7HP

jyanisko
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 11:05 pm

Re: Packing/Unpacking Live Packs using Live 9

Post by jyanisko » Sun Mar 10, 2013 5:33 pm

I'm having the same issue....

Schmidi
Posts: 321
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2003 2:07 am
Location: Seattle

Re: Packing/Unpacking Live Packs using Live 9

Post by Schmidi » Sun Mar 10, 2013 6:33 pm

Same here!
- By either double clicking the pack, or going through FILE>INSTALL LIVE PACK it brings up a dialog window that says "select where you want to install the live pack".
- I can direct it to install in exactly the spot that the official L9 packs are, and Live goes through the motions of unpacking/importing it, but no new pack shows up in the L9 PACKS menu.

The really strang thing is, if you now look in the actual L9 PACKS folder on your computer, you WILL see that pack installed.

**I just noticed a NEW pack called CORE LIBRARY. Could L9 be dumping other packs in here?

** PIC BELOW (Sorry can't make /img work)
https://www.box.com/s/zquudi2iz289pcbvq9ip

ZooTooK
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:00 pm

Re: Packing/Unpacking Live Packs using Live 9

Post by ZooTooK » Sun Mar 10, 2013 8:14 pm

Aren't you supposed to just drag n drop the alp files into Live main area? No double clicking, no nothing..

Kenny2609
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 10:07 pm

Re: Packing/Unpacking Live Packs using Live 9

Post by Kenny2609 » Sun Mar 10, 2013 8:59 pm

I spent a bulk of Friday afternoon downloading the packs I was entitled to from Ableton. They all appeared under the packs heading in the browser, they were there yesterday also. Today I downloaded Granulator, it was also visible in the browser. Now a couple of hours later, after re-starting Live 9, the files associated with all the packs don't show in the browser, yet when I look for them in windows explorer they are in the default location, however whatever I do I cannot get them to load back into Live, very frustrating !!!!!

ShelLuser
Posts: 3829
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 10:26 pm
Location: Wageningen, Netherlands

Re: Packing/Unpacking Live Packs using Live 9

Post by ShelLuser » Sun Mar 10, 2013 8:59 pm

jsn wrote:I thought I would construct a few new L9 projects and create new packs (using file management procedure) containing presets, clips and whatnot from a couple of legacy packs and in doing so, try to get this content to populate under "Packs", as noted in the manual. I am unable to get anything to appear under Packs in Places, with the exception of downloaded packs from Ableton's website.
This is normal behaviour and has been the case since at least Live 8 (maybe earlier too but that was before my time ;-)).

The issue is that there are two kinds of Livepacks. I'm probably not using the correct jargon, but this is what I tend to call it; you have livepacks, and livepack installers.

A livepack is something which we can all make. Its basically an archive (like a zip or rar file) which can then be extracted to some place. So the moment you drag this into Live the program will ask you for a location to extract the contents too.

Then there's the livepack installer. Maybe not the right name, but what those packs do is basically install itself into your live environment. With Live 8 these were the kind of livepacks which would always automatically end up in your library.

The other issue, as you noticed yourself, is that by 'installing' themselves you'd also get the option to uninstall such livepacks.

That is what is happening here as well. The "Packs place" is basically the same list which you'd got in Live 8's "Library tab" (in the preference screen). The big difference is obviously that you can browse it.

Hope this helps
With kind regards,

Peter

Using the 'Power' Trio: Live 10 Suite (+ Push & Max 8 ), Reason 10 and Maschine Mk3 (+ the ultimate Komplete 12).
Blog: SynthFan (under heavy construction!)

Cowlash
Posts: 313
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 7:39 pm
Location: Newcastle, UK
Contact:

Re: Packing/Unpacking Live Packs using Live 9

Post by Cowlash » Sun Mar 10, 2013 9:26 pm

I'm also noticing this problem from third party vendors.

No matter where I install to, there are no available packs in the correct section within the browser.

Schmidi
Posts: 321
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2003 2:07 am
Location: Seattle

Re: Packing/Unpacking Live Packs using Live 9

Post by Schmidi » Mon Mar 11, 2013 3:31 am

@ShelLuser: I think you must be right. I was just able to add new packs/folders to L9's "Packs" tab. The only ones that actually worked in this way were Covert Operators: Chords and Scales and A Taste of Winter. They now show in my Packs tab!

The majority of my others do NOT install here, so I wonder where is a good place to install these (older/user) packs?

Schmidi
Posts: 321
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2003 2:07 am
Location: Seattle

Re: Packing/Unpacking Live Packs using Live 9

Post by Schmidi » Mon Mar 11, 2013 3:31 am

duplicate, deleted

ShelLuser
Posts: 3829
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 10:26 pm
Location: Wageningen, Netherlands

Re: Packing/Unpacking Live Packs using Live 9

Post by ShelLuser » Mon Mar 11, 2013 4:34 pm

Schmidi wrote:The majority of my others do NOT install here, so I wonder where is a good place to install these (older/user) packs?
That is a difficult one.

I'd go for a dedicated folder, then add it to the places list.

But depending on the amount of livepacks it could get a bit messy...

When I was still on Live 8 I created this directory 'Ableton' which contained the actual Library, some of my samples, Ableton "related" stuff (Reason refills, I usually use Reason within Live) and some Max stuff.

And there I also installed several of those free livepacks. From the 'AbleTen' collection (some of it) to some Covert Operators stuff (which I heavily enjoy), Live 7 demos, and so on.

But when I point one of the Live 9 browsers to this directory, like I always have, I noticed that it doesn't always work as expected. Sometimes I'm missing files, otherwise it takes a while for things to appear / display, etc.

Hope this can help.
With kind regards,

Peter

Using the 'Power' Trio: Live 10 Suite (+ Push & Max 8 ), Reason 10 and Maschine Mk3 (+ the ultimate Komplete 12).
Blog: SynthFan (under heavy construction!)

Dom Murphy
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2010 8:54 pm

Re: Packing/Unpacking Live Packs using Live 9

Post by Dom Murphy » Tue Mar 12, 2013 9:19 pm

I'm just confused as to where these files actually go in the Browser. For example, I just installed Puremagnetik's AmpPack (a collection of effect racks). Puremagnetik make installers which (pre-Live 9) would install directly into the Library.

When I double clicked this pack to install I got a message saying Live will take a while longer to convert the legacy pack and then it installs; I know this as inside Places > Packs I can see it.

However, where are these effects in the Browser? I can't see them in my User Library or in the Categories. The only place they seem to exist is in Packs. The only way to get to them is to navigate down through 5 folders. I'm guessing from there I must then manually copy them into my User Library and then manually organise them into a named folder.

Am I doing something wrong? I have about 30 Puremagnetik packs jammed with hundreds (maybe thousands) of instruments & effects. Am I going to have to manually place them into position?

If so, this sucks and is a giant step backwards.

I'd love any advice / help.

EDIT: OK, so I've found them in the main Library:Categories, they are in Audio Effects > Others > ... . That's great—though—will all my effects & instruments be plonked into a single folder called 'Others'?

Dom

Dom Murphy
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2010 8:54 pm

Re: Packing/Unpacking Live Packs using Live 9

Post by Dom Murphy » Tue Mar 12, 2013 10:11 pm

And now I'm trying to install the 'Bomb Squad Tactical Beats & Sample Artillery' and to be honest, it's asking where to install it and I don't have a clue. I've pointed it to Music > Ableton > Factory packs but nothing is showing up.

Also, when it's copying files over, it says it's installing a Project. And when it's finished, the files in Finder look like a Project (eg: 'Bomb Squad Project' & inside that an .als file).

This is so confusing. :cry:

AfroDjMac
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 11:12 pm
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: Packing/Unpacking Live Packs using Live 9

Post by AfroDjMac » Mon Mar 18, 2013 2:53 am

Hmmm Yea I'm having this problem too with my user created packs. Would love to have them install like the stuff from the Ableton site.
-AfroDjMac -New York producer, songwriter, live electronic musician
http://www.afrodjmac.com

Will The Weirdo
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 3:01 pm

Re: Packing/Unpacking Live Packs using Live 9

Post by Will The Weirdo » Wed Feb 26, 2014 5:01 pm

I'm experiencing this myself, was a solution to this problem ever found?

Martin44
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2009 1:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Packing/Unpacking Live Packs using Live 9

Post by Martin44 » Fri Jan 06, 2017 10:34 pm

Install the pack to anywhere. Then click Add Folder in PLACES, find pack and click OK. From PLACES, browse to the pack. Go to RACKS and drag an .adg file to a MIDI track. Then the instrument will show as an instance of SAMPLER. :idea:
Free MP3 music download:
http://rocking.mobi

Post Reply