.asd is missing in Ableton 9? I can't do it anymore!!!

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Zenek
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 5:29 am

.asd is missing in Ableton 9? I can't do it anymore!!!

Post by Zenek » Mon Mar 11, 2013 8:45 pm

.asd is missing in Ableton 9? I can't do analyze folders and samples anymore...

The option to analyze samples/ folder to create .asd with samples seems to be missing, it used to be in the right+click option, or contextual menu...

Anyone with this issue?
Last edited by Zenek on Mon Mar 11, 2013 9:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

nathannn
Posts: 3317
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 2:38 am
Location: U.S.

Re: .asd is missing in Ableton 9? I can't do it anymore!!!

Post by nathannn » Mon Mar 11, 2013 9:03 pm

you cant do what anymore?
The Push / Novation Launch Pad / Novation Launch Pad Pro / Novation Launch Key
/ Launch Control XL / Machine MkII / Machine Studio / BeatStep / Livid OhmRGB / Livid Code V2 / Apc 40 MKII

no computers or synths

20 Copies of Ableton Live Lite.

cotdagoo
Posts: 1042
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:34 pm
Location: canuhduh

Re: .asd is missing in Ableton 9? I can't do it anymore!!!

Post by cotdagoo » Mon Mar 11, 2013 9:21 pm

I'm assuming it was removed (right click on a folder in the Live 8 browser and 'Analyze Audio') due to the way Places works.

though this was found in the manual for 9:
5.2.3
File Pre-Analysis
To avoid waiting for longer samples to be analyzed the first time they are imported into Live, you
may want to pre-analyze them.
To pre-analyze all the files contained in any folder in the Browser, use the [right-click](PC) /
[CTRL-click](Mac) context menu’s Analyze Audio command. This process can also be cancelled
via the context menu.

Zenek
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 5:29 am

Re: .asd is missing in Ableton 9? I can't do it anymore!!!

Post by Zenek » Mon Mar 11, 2013 9:31 pm

@ cotdagoo Yes, i see that too in the manual, but doesn`t works like the manual say ( To pre-analyze all the files contained in any folder in the Browser, use the [right-click](PC) / [CTRL-click](Mac) context menu’s Analyze Audio command )

cotdagoo
Posts: 1042
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:34 pm
Location: canuhduh

Re: .asd is missing in Ableton 9? I can't do it anymore!!!

Post by cotdagoo » Mon Mar 11, 2013 9:34 pm

Zenek wrote:@ cotdagoo Yes, i see that too in the manual, but doesn`t works like the manual say ( To pre-analyze all the files contained in any folder in the Browser, use the [right-click](PC) / [CTRL-click](Mac) context menu’s Analyze Audio command )
Same behavior for me.
The option isn't there at all, not even greyed out.

Image

Zenek
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 5:29 am

Re: .asd is missing in Ableton 9? I can't do it anymore!!!

Post by Zenek » Mon Mar 11, 2013 10:09 pm

cotdagoo wrote:
Zenek wrote:@ cotdagoo Yes, i see that too in the manual, but doesn`t works like the manual say ( To pre-analyze all the files contained in any folder in the Browser, use the [right-click](PC) / [CTRL-click](Mac) context menu’s Analyze Audio command )
Same behavior for me.
The option isn't there at all, not even greyed out.

Image

:? Why Ableton?

BoddAH
Posts: 638
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2010 7:13 pm
Location: Brussels, Belgium

Re: .asd is missing in Ableton 9? I can't do it anymore!!!

Post by BoddAH » Sat Mar 16, 2013 9:04 pm

I just noticed this as well.

Maybe it's a feature not a bug. Live is all about workflow and frankly with today's PCs, pre-analyzing files could be considered pointless. The real-time analysis will rarely, if ever, prevent you from doing anything else.

cotdagoo
Posts: 1042
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:34 pm
Location: canuhduh

Re: .asd is missing in Ableton 9? I can't do it anymore!!!

Post by cotdagoo » Sat Mar 16, 2013 10:09 pm

BoddAH wrote:I just noticed this as well.

Maybe it's a feature not a bug. Live is all about workflow and frankly with today's PCs, pre-analyzing files could be considered pointless. The real-time analysis will rarely, if ever, prevent you from doing anything else.
You're likely right.. there was a lot done to make things easier for Push, and I have a feeling this, along with the other browser 'downgrades' (features that were removed between v8 & v9) are at the mercy of said hardware, and it's integration with Live.

I think the bigger problem here lies in the fact that Ableton/Live decides when to analyze 'Places' - not the user.. and there's no option to change this by the user.

pencilrocket
Posts: 1718
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 10:46 am

Re: .asd is missing in Ableton 9? I can't do it anymore!!!

Post by pencilrocket » Sun Mar 17, 2013 2:13 am

9 is Easy mode. 8 is Expert mode.
Image

BoddAH
Posts: 638
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2010 7:13 pm
Location: Brussels, Belgium

Re: .asd is missing in Ableton 9? I can't do it anymore!!!

Post by BoddAH » Thu Mar 21, 2013 9:05 pm

pencilrocket wrote:9 is Easy mode. 8 is Expert mode.
Word.

Right clicking files is pretty hardcore.

H20nly
Posts: 15844
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:15 pm
Location: The Wild West

Re: .asd is missing in Ableton 9? I can't do it anymore!!!

Post by H20nly » Thu Mar 21, 2013 9:08 pm

my right middle finger is huge right now.

Post Reply