Playing Live shows with Live

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
guitarlord199
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2013 2:37 am

Playing Live shows with Live

Post by guitarlord199 » Fri Mar 15, 2013 1:21 am

Right now I am just trying to get the hang of using live, and I currently put my songs all onto one track, ad the effects to that track, and then play a set down the list of songs that I imported into the track. I know this is wrong, but I have no idea what I am doing. How do I fade from one track into another? Like have one keep playing and then start another one and then "fade" from one to the next? Any help would be awesome thanks

kanuck
Posts: 622
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 5:29 pm

Re: Playing Live shows with Live

Post by kanuck » Fri Mar 15, 2013 1:26 am

There's a Cross-Fader built into live. Make 2 tracks and have 1/2 your songs on one and the other 1/2 on another. Have 1 set to A and the other set to B. NOw you'll be able to crossfade between them

infernal.machine
Posts: 1051
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 1:34 am

Re: Playing Live shows with Live

Post by infernal.machine » Fri Mar 15, 2013 4:57 am

Also, if you set up multiple tracks, you can just use the volume fader on each of the tracks to control their volume. Especially useful if you hate crossfaders (like me!!).

snakedogman
Posts: 846
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 11:04 pm
Location: the Netherlands

Re: Playing Live shows with Live

Post by snakedogman » Fri Mar 15, 2013 1:28 pm

guitarlord199 wrote:Right now I am just trying to get the hang of using live, and I currently put my songs all onto one track, ad the effects to that track, and then play a set down the list of songs that I imported into the track. I know this is wrong, but I have no idea what I am doing. How do I fade from one track into another? Like have one keep playing and then start another one and then "fade" from one to the next? Any help would be awesome thanks
Are you sure you're talking about playing live because it sounds like you're talking about dj-ing? It also sounds like you should really take a step back and learn the basics of the software first by reading the manual and using the built-in lessons. There's a huge step (or many steps) between "just trying to get the hang of using Live" and playing live shows with it. You can't just skip that by asking a question on a forum.

lo.key
Posts: 360
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 7:05 pm

Re: Playing Live shows with Live

Post by lo.key » Fri Mar 15, 2013 2:26 pm

'playing live' can mean a lot of things ;p

i mean, rtfm of course, but there's nothing wrong with starting out with a meandering path. Play with live! Add tracks, add some effects, play with them! Its an open platform,and there are many ways to accomplish things beyond following the instructions. Experiment!

Post Reply