Convolution Reverb

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
edgarz
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 7:20 pm

Convolution Reverb

Post by edgarz » Mon Mar 18, 2013 7:21 pm

Am I the only one who gets a crash EVERY time I try to use it, all the other M4L plugins work but the one I actually want to use doesn't.

Not happy and I'm definitely not buying A9 until I can use it!

brianbacio
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 9:44 am
Location: Paris, France

Re: Convolution Reverb

Post by brianbacio » Mon Mar 18, 2013 10:50 pm

Yup. You'r the only one.
BrianBacio
a modern computer and all sorts of hardware

evangelink
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 7:25 am

Re: Convolution Reverb

Post by evangelink » Mon Mar 18, 2013 11:19 pm

Takes a few moments to load on my system, but no crashes.

upbeat27
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 6:52 pm

Re: Convolution Reverb

Post by upbeat27 » Tue Mar 19, 2013 12:37 am

You are not the only one.

The difference for me is that I have many other m4l devices that instantly crash live as well...
...and I already bought it, and the constant crashes are really making me regret upgrading.

Submitted multiple crash reports, we'll see what comes of it.

SpeedKing
Posts: 173
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 12:51 pm
Location: North Carolina, USA

Re: Convolution Reverb

Post by SpeedKing » Tue Mar 19, 2013 5:13 pm

Weird, I've used it a ton without crashes (also M4L stuff in general). Do you have the most current M4L stuff downloaded/installed?

Win7
64bit
16GB RAM
Intel i7 CPU
Ableton and M4L 64bit

elwob
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 6:21 pm

Re: Convolution Reverb

Post by elwob » Wed Mar 20, 2013 6:23 pm

No you are not the only one!

my system: Win 64 bit
AMD Multicore
8 gb ram

edgarz
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 7:20 pm

Re: Convolution Reverb

Post by edgarz » Wed Mar 20, 2013 7:30 pm

Yup got all the recent M4L stuff! Really driving me mad.

I noticed your using an AMD elwob, could it come down to processors perhaps? I'm using an 8 core Bulldozer at the minute...

astartes72
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 10:11 am

Re: Convolution Reverb

Post by astartes72 » Thu Mar 21, 2013 7:58 am

Same Problem here, also on an AMD Processor. But that doesn´t seem to be the clue: I discovered that Something kills the ASIO4ALL dll when loading the Convolution Reverg.....and Live hangs. If i start Live with MME Audio enabled the same Process seens to kill the Audioengine and Live crashes.

Same behaviour when i try to load GranulatorII btw

cyclyk
Posts: 144
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2003 3:29 pm

Re: Convolution Reverb

Post by cyclyk » Thu Mar 21, 2013 10:00 am

Same here, it doesn't crash but it doesn't work at all: signal disappear when you're all "wet".
I'm on OSX 10.5.8

aminoplacid
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 7:29 pm

Re: Convolution Reverb

Post by aminoplacid » Thu Mar 21, 2013 3:04 pm

I get the same as well. No effect and signal goes quiet as I increase the wet mix. Anyone opened a support ticket on this?
Computer: MacBook Pro (2.6 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3 SDRAM)
OS: Mac OSX 10.13.4
Peripherals: Allen & Heath ZED-10FX, Push 2, VoiceLive Touch 2, Pioneer DJ DDJ-SX2, Abstrakt Instruments Avalon

dckyoto
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 3:27 pm

Re: Convolution Reverb

Post by dckyoto » Thu Mar 21, 2013 3:33 pm

I've had multiple crashes of Live.. even when doing a search on the max4live folder. All the crashes seem related to max.

(on a Retina macbook)

On a regular PC I haven't had a crash but sometimes I get some weird really long "hangs" when using Max.

73*
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 11:03 pm

Re: Convolution Reverb

Post by 73* » Fri Mar 22, 2013 3:14 am

You're not the only one... I made a post about this two weeks ago. Sent a ticket to support and it was suggested that the issue might have to do with some known issue with Quicktime. Although I haven't had the time to get to the studio and see if updating Quicktime works (and to be honest, I'm not sure I have Quicktime installed).

System Specs

Operating System: Windows 7 64bit

Live Version: Live 9 (Live 9.0.1 64 bit)

Computer Hardware:
Motherboard:
Gigabyte 990FXA-UD5

Processor:
AMD FX-6100 3.3GHz

Ram:
GSkill RipjawsX 12800CL9 4x4GB (16GB total)

System drive:
Intel 520 Series SSD 120GB

Audio Hardware:

DSP Cards:

UAD 2 DUO
UAD Satellite DUO

Audio Interface:
RME UFX

MIDI Interface:
MOTU MIDI ExpressXT

Other Peripherals:
Korg Kaoss Pad 3 (x2)
M-Audio Keystation 88es
Native Instruments Maschine MK1

73*
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 11:03 pm

Re: Convolution Reverb

Post by 73* » Sat Mar 23, 2013 6:10 pm

Installing latest version of Quicktime didn't fix my issue (didn't think it would)... Also obviously Live ver. 9.0.2 didn't fix the issue either...

Has anyone figured this out yet?

My issue seems to be restricted to the Convolution Reverb (Pro), as any other M4L devices I've tired load without any issues...

It's a rather disappointing experience. I made the switch from Cubase to Live 9 mainly for the workflow it offers, but the inclusion of a convolution reverb with suite was also a very needed and important feature that 'theoretically' was supposed to make Cubase unnecessary... :x :x

pencilrocket
Posts: 1718
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 10:46 am

Re: Convolution Reverb

Post by pencilrocket » Sun Mar 24, 2013 1:23 am

There is plenty of convolution reverb that can be used in cubase.
Image

oddstep
Posts: 1732
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 9:47 pm
Location: Plymouth the great

Re: Convolution Reverb

Post by oddstep » Sun Mar 24, 2013 8:15 am

Is it different between 32 bit and 64bit versions. Frinstance quicktime doesn't seem to be as easy on a 64bit windows computer.

Post Reply