using a midi keyboard to trigger scenes

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
david.barker
Posts: 503
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 4:51 pm
Location: Hampshire UK

using a midi keyboard to trigger scenes

Post by david.barker » Tue Mar 19, 2013 9:22 am

Hi there :D

I should know this,so please don't slap me,ha,ha!! But going to ask you nice people out there,anyway,just to check myself :D

I got this idea of using my Oxygen keyboard to trigger scenes in Live,is it a case of using midi mapping
to do this?
I got a selection of controllers,and have not got the cash to buy a controller just for Live (as I use my controllers for Reason too ,both together via Rewire

Cheers

Pitch Black
Posts: 6451
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 2:18 am
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Contact:

Re: using a midi keyboard to trigger scenes

Post by Pitch Black » Tue Mar 19, 2013 9:45 am

david.barker wrote:is it a case of using midi mapping
to do this?
yes.

ameree
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 2:46 pm
Contact:

Re: using a midi keyboard to trigger scenes

Post by ameree » Tue Mar 19, 2013 11:01 am

Enable midi mapping, click on a scene, press a key ...
multi-window and alternate view MaxForLive tools for Live 8 & 9
http://www.erasermice.com

david.barker
Posts: 503
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 4:51 pm
Location: Hampshire UK

Re: using a midi keyboard to trigger scenes

Post by david.barker » Tue Mar 19, 2013 1:46 pm

Thanks a lot chaps

Yours most embarrassed,ha,ha :oops: :D

Jamoflage
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:13 pm

Re: using a midi keyboard to trigger scenes

Post by Jamoflage » Tue Mar 19, 2013 3:42 pm

I just started doing this too, intro, verse, chorus, mapped to different midi notes...

Also you can use clyphx to change the settings on various channels per scene, (like making the delay times longer in the chorus, muting the vocal channel during an instrumental section etc.) This opens up tons of possibilities for me!!!

An issue I'm having is that after I have mapped scenes to midi notes, I can no longer play those notes to program new basslines etc, because they will launch another scene. I think i will wait till all parts are programmed before doing all the midi mapping.

Post Reply