live 9 is sucking balls so far.

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
octavious
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 4:11 pm

live 9 is sucking balls so far.

Post by octavious » Sat Mar 23, 2013 7:50 pm

9.0.1 was glitchy as hell.

For an instance, you cant right click the header of any of the subtracks of a drum rack cause it will crash live.

Also, in the piano roll, selecting multiple notes and trying to drag the first one will also crash the darn thing.


I thought 9.0.2 would be better. But turns out it sucks balls too. For starters, my remote script is not even working. And i dont see the colored rectangle for selecting the clip slots.


Gee ableton! One would think that 3 years would be enough for you to put out some fine shit. Turns out it's not. :(

PHY6
Posts: 286
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 2:42 pm

Re: live 9 is sucking balls so far.

Post by PHY6 » Sat Mar 23, 2013 8:04 pm

Love to have my balls sucked, didn't know Live could do that...
Do you have to own m4l to have this happen ?

krizgainz
Posts: 434
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 12:52 am

Re: live 9 is sucking balls so far.

Post by krizgainz » Sat Mar 23, 2013 8:05 pm

,
Last edited by krizgainz on Fri Apr 26, 2013 8:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

crumhorn
Posts: 2503
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 6:04 pm

Re: live 9 is sucking balls so far.

Post by crumhorn » Sat Mar 23, 2013 8:57 pm

If I had known about this feature I would have upgraded
"The banjo is the perfect instrument for the antisocial."

(Allow me to plug my guitar scale visualiser thingy - www.fretlearner.com)

ShelLuser
Posts: 3607
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 10:26 pm
Location: Wageningen, Netherlands

Re: live 9 is sucking balls so far.

Post by ShelLuser » Sat Mar 23, 2013 10:30 pm

When it comes to software updates I'm quite the critic; so far (with 8) I never even closely considered of allowing Ableton to auto-update my stuff. Those evil bastards ;-)

Even so; 2 weeks on Live 9 now and I can't quite reproduce anything you mention up there.

Live 9 has some issues, sure, but for what's it worth; none of those prevented me from doing what I like doing with this stuff. My APC never failed, M4l works normally and I even managed to get the browser to work the way I want it to.

But, uhm, dare I ask... Where should you insert.. uhm.. :oops:

Well; you know ?

I too never discovered that stuff, could be interesting :mrgreen:
With kind regards,

Peter

Using the Big Trio: Live 10 Suite + Push, Max8 / M4l and Reason 10
Blog: SynthFan

taffmonster
Posts: 268
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2010 12:28 am
Location: Japan... you know, ninjas n stuff
Contact:

Re: live 9 is sucking balls so far.

Post by taffmonster » Sun Mar 24, 2013 12:10 am

OctavioPineda wrote:9.0.1 was glitchy as hell.

For an instance, you cant right click the header of any of the subtracks of a drum rack cause it will crash live.

Also, in the piano roll, selecting multiple notes and trying to drag the first one will also crash the darn thing.


I thought 9.0.2 would be better. But turns out it sucks balls too. For starters, my remote script is not even working. And i dont see the colored rectangle for selecting the clip slots.


Gee ableton! One would think that 3 years would be enough for you to put out some fine shit. Turns out it's not. :(
when you update it overwrites the scripts folder so you loose any custom scripts. I had to reinstall my touchable server and add the scripts over again. It worked fine after that.

Jarvisimon
Posts: 762
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2008 7:29 pm
Location: England

Re: live 9 is sucking balls so far.

Post by Jarvisimon » Sun Mar 24, 2013 1:09 am

OctavioPineda wrote:9.0.1 was glitchy as hell.

For an instance, you cant right click the header of any of the subtracks of a drum rack cause it will crash live.
Just tried that on my computer and it's working fine. I've got 9.01.

It feels like my balls are being licked and I like it.
OctavioPineda wrote:Also, in the piano roll, selecting multiple notes and trying to drag the first one will also crash the darn thing.
Also working fine here.
OctavioPineda wrote:I thought 9.0.2 would be better. But turns out it sucks balls too. For starters, my remote script is not even working. And i dont see the colored rectangle for selecting the clip slots.

Gee ableton! One would think that 3 years would be enough for you to put out some fine shit. Turns out it's not. :(
Might not be Ableton's fault and if it sucks them as well as 9.01, then i'll upgrade asap!

Sibanger
Posts: 2225
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 7:44 am
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Contact:

Re: live 9 is sucking balls so far.

Post by Sibanger » Sun Mar 24, 2013 10:02 am

Where is this new pack for Live to get it to suck my balls ?

Can't find it anywhere :x

This is better than being able to hot plug my midi devices in Windows.

Valiumdupeuple
Posts: 1035
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: live 9 is sucking balls so far.

Post by Valiumdupeuple » Sun Mar 24, 2013 10:49 am

OctavioPineda wrote:9.0.1 was glitchy as hell.

For an instance, you cant right click the header of any of the subtracks of a drum rack cause it will crash live.

Also, in the piano roll, selecting multiple notes and trying to drag the first one will also crash the darn thing.


I thought 9.0.2 would be better. But turns out it sucks balls too. For starters, my remote script is not even working. And i dont see the colored rectangle for selecting the clip slots.


Gee ableton! One would think that 3 years would be enough for you to put out some fine shit. Turns out it's not. :(
It's seems serious. Do you use 3rd party (cracked) plugins?

Bagatell
Posts: 620
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Sierra Nevada, Spain

Re: live 9 is sucking balls so far.

Post by Bagatell » Sun Mar 24, 2013 11:17 am

OctavioPineda wrote: For an instance, you cant right click the header of any of the subtracks of a drum rack cause it will crash live.
Just tried doing that and had no problem.
OctavioPineda wrote:
Also, in the piano roll, selecting multiple notes and trying to drag the first one will also crash the darn thing.
Tried that as well, still not getting any personal services. Maybe it's a Windows thing?

dazzer
Posts: 1240
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 10:24 am

Re: live 9 is sucking balls so far.

Post by dazzer » Sun Mar 24, 2013 11:48 am

Bagatell wrote:
OctavioPineda wrote: For an instance, you cant right click the header of any of the subtracks of a drum rack cause it will crash live.
Just tried doing that and had no problem.
OctavioPineda wrote:
Also, in the piano roll, selecting multiple notes and trying to drag the first one will also crash the darn thing.
Tried that as well, still not getting any personal services. Maybe it's a Windows thing?
I'll be well pissed off it it turns out that OS X users don't get their balls sucked. I've not had so much as a hand job from L9 yet.

yur2die4
Posts: 6400
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: live 9 is sucking balls so far.

Post by yur2die4 » Sun Mar 24, 2013 1:07 pm

Ball sucking action confirmed here. Live 9, Win8, Pentium core2duo mobile.

I can save money now on that massage I was considering.

Edit: I'd reveal how I got it to work, but its an ancient Chinese secret.

PHY6
Posts: 286
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 2:42 pm

Re: live 9 is sucking balls so far.

Post by PHY6 » Sun Mar 24, 2013 2:28 pm

You see it everywhere here in Amsterdam now in the red light district.
'Ableton inside' , even the really dodgy places have it !

cstump
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 2:37 am
Location: Dona Ana, New Mexico, in the U.S.of A.

Re: live 9 is sucking balls so far.

Post by cstump » Sun Mar 24, 2013 4:30 pm

I bet OctavioPineda didnn't realize he started a new craze,LOL.
Quote:"There's a Bitwig thread born every second"

turnitto11
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 6:35 am

Re: live 9 is sucking balls so far.

Post by turnitto11 » Sun Mar 24, 2013 4:42 pm

This may not be your problem, but it's my go to when I have problems with apps.

Go into Disk Utility (Applications>Utilities>Disk Utility), in the left hand column, choose Macintosh HD or whatever your hard drive is named. Then click Repair Disk Permissions. It fixes a lot of errors that can be caused by installing apps and other content. It won't delete anything or corrupt anything, just makes under the hood tweaks and it fixes a lot of problems.
MacBook Pro (13", 2.7ghz i7, 16gb, 10.9), Suite 9

Post Reply