Midi device connection

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Mike Rose 2090
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 12:11 am

Midi device connection

Post by Mike Rose 2090 » Wed Mar 27, 2013 12:13 am

What can I use to connect multiple midi devices up?

infernal.machine
Posts: 1051
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 1:34 am

Re: Midi device connection

Post by infernal.machine » Wed Mar 27, 2013 12:33 am

MIDI cable.

o0bigs0o
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 1:10 pm

Re: Midi device connection

Post by o0bigs0o » Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:34 am

infernal.machine wrote:MIDI cable.
I'll bet you had to "wiki" to get that answer :roll:
Ableton Live Suite 9.01
Windoze 7:Intel Core I7,Gen1-4GB Ram:NI Maschine:NI Komplete 9:Akai Pro APC 40:
Isotonik 8:Novation Launchpad:OktoPad 2
IPad2 64:Touchable:LivKontrol:TouchOSC

darkenedsoul
Posts: 1223
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 10:21 pm
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Contact:

Re: Midi device connection

Post by darkenedsoul » Wed Mar 27, 2013 12:19 pm

Multiple input/output interface like a MIDISport 2x2 or 4x4. That is if you are using standard MIDI cables. Not sure how multiple devices play via USB Bub if all USB connections. You could also use MIDI Thru but not sure how that would all be configured. My devices are USB/MIDI cables (Korg M50) so I currently have the M50 to my Motu 828Mk II via MIDI cables, LPD8 via USB. And are we talking Laptop/Desktop? Doesn't really matter except for possible power issues if USB. If they are USB go get a powered USB Hub.

Mike
http://www.darkenedsoul.net - main website
Ableton Live 8.x/9.x : NI Komplete 8 : Home built 4690K 16GB 500GB SSD, 1TB 7200, 2x2TB.

Post Reply