All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Live 8 content not copied into Live 9?
PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2013 3:11 pm 

Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 4:34 am
Posts: 468
Hmmm... I thought that the amount of preset/content in my version of Live 9 seemed a bit skimpy - it looks like Live 9 has not transferred much of the Live 8 library content. :?

For example, in Live 8, in Analog, in Mallets and Keys - I have 15 items. But in Live 9, there is only 1! 8O

It seems to be an issue across the entire library. 8O What is the best way to resolve this matter?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Live 8 content not copied into Live 9?
PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2013 4:51 pm 

Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 5:52 am
Posts: 272
They changed things

It all about your user Library now

So you should have three libraries now

Old L8 - User L9 - and Core or Factory L9


Word round here is it was done for Push but It sucks ass.........


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Live 8 content not copied into Live 9?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2013 6:33 am 

Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 4:34 am
Posts: 468
Sucks ass indeed. 8O

As if the fact that you can ONLY search Live 9 factory content from Push wasn't bad enough. Ugh. :roll: :roll:

Question: If I manually move (ie. DUPLICATE) things from their Live 8 library location on my hard-drive (as per the example in the original post) into their corresponding position in the Live 9 library - is that likely to cause issues?

(and, just as importantly, will future Live updates cause more issues if I start moving things?)

Ultimately, I just want to be able to find things as quick as possible - without the content being arbitrarily divided into Live 8 and Live 9 sections. Is that too much to ask?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Live 8 content not copied into Live 9?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2013 11:25 am 

Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 7:44 am
Posts: 2189
Location: Melbourne/Australia
^^
Quote:
Ultimately, I just want to be able to find things as quick as possible - without the content being arbitrarily divided into Live 8 and Live 9 sections. Is that too much to ask?.


Yes.

Image

_________________
Speciman²
Speciman² on Soundcloud
Speciman² on FaceBook


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Live 8 content not copied into Live 9?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2013 12:01 pm 

Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 4:34 am
Posts: 468
lol :lol:

Thanks Hoff.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Live 8 content not copied into Live 9?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2013 12:55 pm 

Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 5:52 am
Posts: 272
To move to L9 only You have to import everything manually

check out this vid by Subaqueous

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sjiTmfWmEIU


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Live 8 content not copied into Live 9?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2013 9:39 pm 

Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 7:44 am
Posts: 2189
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Asymmetricalmusic wrote:
To move to L9 only You have to import everything manually

check out this vid by Subaqueous

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sjiTmfWmEIU


All older projects will still be looking for Live 8 library links even if you do the above.

Is it worth doing the transfer, or just use 2 libraries ? Seems like a lot of work. I would still have to keep the Live 8 library even after doing this.

_________________
Speciman²
Speciman² on Soundcloud
Speciman² on FaceBook


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Live 8 content not copied into Live 9?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 28, 2013 10:56 pm 

Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 5:52 am
Posts: 272
^yup


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Live 8 content not copied into Live 9?
PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 1:59 am 

Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 4:34 am
Posts: 468
'yup' to what? (confused)

Is there even a proper way to arrange your library so that all your custom sounds are browseable by Push yet?

Also, when you do a Find/Search using the top categories (Sounds, Instruments, Samples etc) - Live ONLY searches the Live 9 library.

Is there any way to do a global search for everything?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Live 8 content not copied into Live 9?
PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 2:46 am 

Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 5:52 am
Posts: 272
In your user library you've got to use the predefined folder structure that the factory library uses in order to get things to appear in push. You have todo some script hacking to delete factory content and even then if you upgrade versions that content will most likely reappear. Once you organize your library under the new ridged scruture, I think only then will you be able to search your sounds. I still haven't done much in L9 cause I waiting to see what changes are coming with the new 9.0.3 rerelease

My yup was agreeing with Sibanger, it be we'll advised to keep the L8 library so you don't lose links

You can save L8 projects to be L9 projects but hot swapping becomes broken and you have to replace the things you'd like to hot swap with the new L9 user library version,

It does seem like alot of work I haven't done it but I'm trying to understand it for the day I might do this. I'd really like hot swap in L9 someday.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group