Anyone else have novation impulse 49 issues?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
eyeknow
Posts: 5822
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:16 am

Anyone else have novation impulse 49 issues?

Post by eyeknow » Sun Mar 31, 2013 5:46 am

If I had any hair left, I'd be tearing it out!

a) live seems to want to "disconnect" with the I49 regularly. (i.e. I go to move the master fader and it won't work. that goes for all the controls)

b) I get the "gibberish" screen frequently (on the I49). When live is NOT used, this doesn't seem to happen much. But it's pretty much 100% of the time somewhere into a live session.

c) The tab/R + ctrl bug is apparently linked to this specific controller. I'll try my old m audio to confirm but that is pretty annoying.

d) Automap? Is that just a pos?

My specs are win7x64 and I have live 9.02 x64. I have tried the current automap 4.6 as well as the 4.7b (which seems to be better) Any thoughts welcome. I'm pretty much at my wits end with controllers.......I have an m audio that is a POS too.

eyeknow
Posts: 5822
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:16 am

Re: Anyone else have novation impulse 49 issues?

Post by eyeknow » Sun Mar 31, 2013 9:08 pm

probably not something I should say, but it's not good.

I just wanted to know if anyone else is having similar issues.

eyeknow
Posts: 5822
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:16 am

Re: Anyone else have novation impulse 49 issues?

Post by eyeknow » Mon Apr 01, 2013 6:56 am

So, today I decided to work a bit more on another host and guess what? No issues. None. Zero. Zippo. Nadda.

I have no idea why, but this would "seem" to confirm there is something with live that is causing a problem. Considering that the "tab/rename" thing has been linked to this controller, I can only guess there is a correlation. :evil:

It CAN'T just be me. Either there is something wrong with my setup (always a possibility) or others should be having similar issues.

eyeknow
Posts: 5822
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:16 am

Re: Anyone else have novation impulse 49 issues?

Post by eyeknow » Tue Apr 02, 2013 10:34 pm

I know I'm just talking to myself here :lol: but I believe this is triple confirmed to be an issue with live 9. I really wish people with impulses would chime in regardless of what version of the controller they are using. I think it's related to automap and live 9 hating each other. I don't know what other conclusion to draw because I just did a session in 8.4 and it was fine.

nomadjames
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 9:32 pm

Re: Anyone else have novation impulse 49 issues?

Post by nomadjames » Thu Apr 04, 2013 12:52 am

I haven't had any with mine. Not using automap though.

eyeknow
Posts: 5822
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:16 am

Re: Anyone else have novation impulse 49 issues?

Post by eyeknow » Fri Apr 05, 2013 6:12 am

I wonder if that is it.

mbakirov
Posts: 154
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 5:55 am

Re: Anyone else have novation impulse 49 issues?

Post by mbakirov » Fri Apr 05, 2013 6:34 am

Mine is working fine.

status44
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 8:04 pm

Re: Anyone else have novation impulse 49 issues?

Post by status44 » Sat Apr 06, 2013 3:16 am

Its auto map i dont know why everytime i tried to use it it would crash or freeze all the time i deleted automap no issues. i have impulse hooked to a mac

eyeknow
Posts: 5822
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:16 am

Re: Anyone else have novation impulse 49 issues?

Post by eyeknow » Mon Apr 08, 2013 6:40 am

it's just strange. live somehow disconnected itself (smartly??) from automap (just the keys work) and things are cool. I'm too old for this shit! :lol:

Post Reply