All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Have you sniffed your Glue yet?
Poll ended at Fri May 03, 2013 1:53 am
Yes, I use it all the time. 38%  38%  [ 20 ]
Yes, but occasional use. 42%  42%  [ 22 ]
What is this Glue thing? 6%  6%  [ 3 ]
No, I have better external plugins. 4%  4%  [ 2 ]
No, no bus compression for me AT ALL. 2%  2%  [ 1 ]
I'm still on Live 8? 8%  8%  [ 4 ]
Dude, I don't even use Live, AT ALL! 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
Total votes : 52
Author Message
 Post subject: Have you been "Glue'ing" your sets already?
PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2013 1:53 am 

Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 10:26 pm
Posts: 3461
Location: Wageningen, Netherlands
So to close another fine synth evening (which I'm stretching for just another 20 minutes)..

I guess we all know about the Glue compressor which got added to Live 9. In my opinion its a very solid addition to the tools provided in Live, even though I wholeheartedly agree with some comments on the forums that Live is somewhat catching up here (from a Reason perspective; the similarity with the Reason Master compressor is pretty funny).

While Live maybe late to the bus compression party, I don't think you can hold it against Ableton though. I mean; I know this DAW(-like) environment which didn't even support audio recording or processing at all during the life span of Live 8. Yet it came out pretty nicely in the end as well.

So...

How are you guys using Glue (if you're using it at all) ?

I find myself using it quite often when doing some experimental stuff to try and enhance or extend my overall sound. And so far I'm quite pleased with it.

I've had quite some interesting results when I applied it to some of the demo songs coming out of my Casio keyboard. It really seems to 'exaggerating' the individual bands quite nicely, even when you don't apply too much compression.

SO... What do you guys think about the Glue ?

_________________
With kind regards,

Peter

Using the Big Trio: Live 9 Suite, Max (for Live) and Reason 6.5.
Blog: SynthFan.info.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Have you been "Glue'ing" your sets already?
PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2013 3:01 am 

Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 3:07 am
Posts: 1426
I've used it on almost every project I've worked on since I started with the 9 beta at the end of December. I love it.

Recently been using it as a distortion box for guitar tracks, and with vocals on a send

Just recently started using it on the master bus for quick-n-dirty loudness when I'm working on a track, and I'm pretty happy overall (although the overdrive ends up sounding really janky so I usually turn off the softclip and put a limiter after)

It and EQ8 are the two things I have been the most unexpectedly pleased about in 9


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Have you been "Glue'ing" your sets already?
PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2013 3:36 am 

Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 4:23 pm
Posts: 6473
Location: Seattle, WA.
Late or not, there's nothing like the present. The Glue is powerful!

_________________
Ableton | Elektron | Access

Music


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Have you been "Glue'ing" your sets already?
PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2013 5:20 am 

Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 6:35 am
Posts: 58
Glue is delicious.

_________________
MacBook Pro (13", 2.7ghz i7, 16gb, 10.9), Suite 9


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Have you been "Glue'ing" your sets already?
PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2013 6:52 am 

Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 4:51 pm
Posts: 414
Location: Hampshire Uk
I have an audio rack on the master channel,as a default.I got the Glue compressor,EQ 8 and a limiter in there :D

I have asked around and found this setup, allows me to hear the true sound of my finished track,rather than compressing the hell out of individual tracks

Also use the glue compressor ( as its designed for this) for group- bussing,esp on drums,what a beaut :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Have you been "Glue'ing" your sets already?
PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2013 11:33 am 

Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 4:34 am
Posts: 468
david.barker wrote:

I have asked around and found this setup, allows me to hear the true sound of my finished track,rather than compressing the hell out of individual tracks


Interesting.... is that to say you are no longer compressing individual tracks?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Have you been "Glue'ing" your sets already?
PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2013 12:14 pm 

Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 9:42 am
Posts: 2680
Location: beneath mouse mountain
Started using it in earnest this weekend. Nice, simple to use, excellent results as far as my (tin and cloth) ear can make out.

_________________
workshop
soundcloud
mixes


live 9.1.2, OS mavericks, push, stray's script, MPD32/LD8, stc, access virus kc, and my life is a never ending tub of awesome


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Have you been "Glue'ing" your sets already?
PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2013 12:47 pm 

Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 3:27 pm
Posts: 299
I think the Glue sounds great. The problem for me is that I have a few other compressors that I tend to "go to". I need to start implementing the Glue in more of my sets.

_________________
My Soundcloud
Youtube vids
Twitter


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Have you been "Glue'ing" your sets already?
PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2013 12:52 pm 

Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2004 1:06 pm
Posts: 1398
Location: Miami
I use the side chain.

_________________
9.0.4 Suite-Samsung Chronos 7 laptop(17")-12GB RAM-Samsung 840 series SSD(250GB)-iPad2-Maschine-TouchAble-SaffirePro24-Saffire6USB-Komplete Audio 6-Axiom25-PCR300-Nocturn-LaunchPad-QuNeo-QuNexus
miTunes


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Have you been "Glue'ing" your sets already?
PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2013 2:39 pm 

Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 8:51 pm
Posts: 257
It's awesome solely for the fact that it has a dry/wet control and you don't have to rack it up to achieve parallel compression.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Have you been "Glue'ing" your sets already?
PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2013 10:20 pm 

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 4:29 pm
Posts: 3477
Location: Dublin, surprisingly
yes. astonishing. didn't think that this was possible.

mastering industry trainwrecked.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Have you been "Glue'ing" your sets already?
PostPosted: Wed Apr 03, 2013 1:54 am 

Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 10:24 am
Posts: 1224
Glue rocks.

Combined with Live's regular compressor it's a pretty sweet compression offering.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Have you been "Glue'ing" your sets already?
PostPosted: Wed Apr 03, 2013 2:32 am 

Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 1:15 pm
Posts: 3
I'm very new to live but am a very interested learner. What exactly is glueing and what can it be used for?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Have you been "Glue'ing" your sets already?
PostPosted: Wed Apr 03, 2013 4:57 am 

Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 3:38 am
Posts: 139
Location: California
Still on live 8 here. Seems pretty cool though.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Have you been "Glue'ing" your sets already?
PostPosted: Wed Apr 03, 2013 5:04 am 

Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 2:18 am
Posts: 78
nøgen jack wrote:
I'm very new to live but am a very interested learner. What exactly is glueing and what can it be used for?


Read this article 10 times then get back to us: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dynamic_range_compression


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group