Live 9 Browser suckatude!!

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
spillinova
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 10:20 am

Live 9 Browser suckatude!!

Post by spillinova » Tue Apr 02, 2013 2:12 am

The browser is absolute crap!! It's slow...There's no manual refresh, which it obviously needs since it doesn't recognize manually added files and folders. Theres no way to create your own categories in Places. They got rid of the up-to-parent button. This is a giant step back to the dinosaur :x age. Good work Ableton...

timothyallan
Posts: 5788
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 11:05 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: Live 9 Browser suckatude!!

Post by timothyallan » Tue Apr 02, 2013 2:18 am

Did you tell them that during the beta testing? We got a lot of browser stuff changed during then.

artpunk
Posts: 541
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 1:51 am
Location: The Antipodes
Contact:

Re: Live 9 Browser suckatude!!

Post by artpunk » Tue Apr 02, 2013 3:25 am

Instead of starting a new 'I don't appreciate Live 9's browser' thread you could have simply added your experiences to the other ones covering this same topic... :roll:

“... it was just to make an average listener go: ‘What the fuck is this?’ That’s a real inspiration for me and something that I will explore more on upcoming recordings.”
- Wally De Backer (Gotye) quoting Ween's intention behind making records

Sibanger
Posts: 2225
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 7:44 am
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Contact:

Re: Live 9 Browser suckatude!!

Post by Sibanger » Tue Apr 02, 2013 4:16 am

^^ But there are no related posts with the word 'suckatude!!' in the title.

spillinova
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 10:20 am

Re: Live 9 Browser suckatude!!

Post by spillinova » Tue Apr 02, 2013 6:32 am

I wasn't able to get in to the beta group.

spillinova
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 10:20 am

Re: Live 9 Browser suckatude!!

Post by spillinova » Tue Apr 02, 2013 6:36 am

Plus I forgot to mention that it doesn't remember your last opened folder. I have to drill down again every time I re-enter a 'Place'.

BTW, the other threads for this suck.

artpunk
Posts: 541
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 1:51 am
Location: The Antipodes
Contact:

Re: Live 9 Browser suckatude!!

Post by artpunk » Tue Apr 02, 2013 8:37 am

Sibanger wrote:^^ But there are no related posts with the word 'suckatude!!' in the title.
That is true! :D :D
spillinova wrote: BTW, the other threads for this suck.
Yep, I can see your point...(& I like your consistency with this whole 'suck' thing you have going here)
:D
Last edited by artpunk on Tue Apr 02, 2013 10:37 am, edited 1 time in total.

“... it was just to make an average listener go: ‘What the fuck is this?’ That’s a real inspiration for me and something that I will explore more on upcoming recordings.”
- Wally De Backer (Gotye) quoting Ween's intention behind making records

re:dream
Posts: 4554
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 9:42 am
Location: Hoerikwaggo's sunset side...
Contact:

Re: Live 9 Browser suckatude!!

Post by re:dream » Tue Apr 02, 2013 10:20 am

I think we need a 'suckatude' vst range

You could have 'Suck' compressor, a suck reverb...

artpunk
Posts: 541
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 1:51 am
Location: The Antipodes
Contact:

Re: Live 9 Browser suckatude!!

Post by artpunk » Tue Apr 02, 2013 10:37 am

spillinova wrote:Plus I forgot to mention that it doesn't remember your last opened folder. I have to drill down again every time I re-enter a 'Place'
Hmmm...actually, that doesn't happen for me. I can jump in and out of places and the last opened sub-folder within my Place folders is where I left it...
What version 9 are you using?

“... it was just to make an average listener go: ‘What the fuck is this?’ That’s a real inspiration for me and something that I will explore more on upcoming recordings.”
- Wally De Backer (Gotye) quoting Ween's intention behind making records

pepezabala
Posts: 3499
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 4:29 pm
Location: In Berlin, finally

Re: Live 9 Browser suckatude!!

Post by pepezabala » Tue Apr 02, 2013 10:27 pm

I just had my first moment of "browser is nice" after months of hatred.

ctrl-f is my friend. wasn't possible like this in live8, just searching and enjoying stuff coming up from the library.

:D

spillinova
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 10:20 am

Re: Live 9 Browser suckatude!!

Post by spillinova » Wed Apr 03, 2013 9:37 am

artpunk wrote:
spillinova wrote:Plus I forgot to mention that it doesn't remember your last opened folder. I have to drill down again every time I re-enter a 'Place'
Hmmm...actually, that doesn't happen for me. I can jump in and out of places and the last opened sub-folder within my Place folders is where I left it...
What version 9 are you using?
My bad, I should have said that I have to drill down again if a decide to drill into another pier within the same "Place".

spillinova
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 10:20 am

Re: Live 9 Browser suckatude!!

Post by spillinova » Wed Apr 03, 2013 9:44 am

So now, after using the file manager to manage my set, I clicked on "show files" in the unused files section. Went over to the browser where the unused files were listed. Highlighted them all and deleted them. The live 9 browser responded by removing the whole project from the browser database. The project still exists on my harddrive, but if I try to re-add the folder to places, it adds it grayed out and says this folder is missing and offers to try to locate it. When I relocate it, it is still grayed out.

I've seen better file browsers on a freeware VST. 8O

Awesome job, Ableton!

bradelectro
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 11:29 pm
Location: Austin
Contact:

Re: Live 9 Browser suckatude!!

Post by bradelectro » Tue Apr 09, 2013 3:07 am

I have to say I'm still trying to get my head around it. I'm RTFM'ing and just experimenting. Seems like a lot of the categories are redundant, i.e. I find the same instruments, plugins, etc. in multiple places. Also it doesn't really offer much customization which is hard for the control freak in me, i.e. I really want to delete the categories: Max for live, clips, samples and current project as I have absolutely no use for these. I'd rather build my own folder hierarchy.

I'm not ready to say it sucks just yet, but I feel your pain.

fimpson
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 2:44 am

Re: Live 9 Browser suckatude!!

Post by fimpson » Tue Apr 09, 2013 5:46 am

Woah man... suckatude, that's harsh.

Nah it does some things better but yeah, some worse. I has a massive folder called "drums" which has over 100 folders with a small kit in each (like many others' sample setups I'd think) and when I typed "kick" into the search bar I'd simply get all the kicks right there which I could easily scroll through with the arrow, instead of typing in "kick" while in "drums" and still getting the 100 kit folders which I then have to open with the arrow key and listen to the kick, then go back out and down to the next folder. Very impractical. Sometimes it works better though. Can't really explain specifcally when - haven't opened push in a few days.

MrTingleby
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 6:37 pm

Re: Live 9 Browser suckatude!!

Post by MrTingleby » Tue Apr 09, 2013 12:34 pm

Nah it does some things better but yeah, some worse. I has a massive folder called "drums" which has over 100 folders with a small kit in each (like many others' sample setups I'd think) and when I typed "kick" into the search bar I'd simply get all the kicks right there which I could easily scroll through with the arrow, instead of typing in "kick" while in "drums" and still getting the 100 kit folders which I then have to open with the arrow key and listen to the kick, then go back out and down to the next folder. Very impractical. Sometimes it works better though. Can't really explain specifcally when - haven't opened push in a few days.
Hi
This sounds like a version of the problem I was having. Have you tried clicking the "All Results" category on the left hand side after searching?

Also I found that I had to have the relevant root sample folder stored outside the Live 8 library (it was from an old version of Live) and added as a "place". Then it had to be left a while to index. Check out this thread and see if it helps:

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=192194

Post Reply