Post your rock solid PC or Mac config and audio card here

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
filter_7
Posts: 370
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 10:05 am

Post your rock solid PC or Mac config and audio card here

Post by filter_7 » Sat Apr 13, 2013 10:39 am

Hi, i would like to hear from satisfied users only their hardware + audio card configuration.

I mean using Live 9 with many audio tracks and VSTs running at the same time, with no glitches or slow motion.
So you don't know what is a problem during recording and you're happy because your setup is rock solid!

Here's a fake example on how to put informations:
computer: Pc 3.4 Ghz / 4Gb ram / Windows 7
audio card: M-Audio Audiophile 2496

Thanks!

Scotty Danger
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 10:08 pm

Re: Post your rock solid PC or Mac config and audio card here

Post by Scotty Danger » Sat Apr 13, 2013 3:35 pm

Mid-2010 Macbook Pro, 4gb Ram, 2.66 GHz i7
Apogee Duet 2
Current Live 9
Waves Rennmaxx v9

Smooooooth.

Live crashes when I install packs, but otherwise not a single hiccup.
Apogee Duet 2, Jam / Macbook Pro - Lion / Waves RenMaxx / Suite 9
I make organic indie rock/pop with guitars and mics and stuff.

filter_7
Posts: 370
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 10:05 am

Re: Post your rock solid PC or Mac config and audio card here

Post by filter_7 » Sat Apr 13, 2013 5:27 pm

Thanks Scotty, it seems very rare to find a happy musician with no hardware issues.
Would like to hear from some other guys though...

I think this post would be very useful.

eddiex
Posts: 1782
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 2:51 am
Location: portland oregon

Re: Post your rock solid PC or Mac config and audio card here

Post by eddiex » Sat Apr 13, 2013 6:44 pm

late 2012 macbook pro. 2.4 GHz i5 8GB RAM OSX 10.7.5 5400 rpm 500GB stock hard drive
apogee duet (1st version)
current LIVE STANDARD 9 (64 bit) (with instruments and MAX4LIVE)
i use the NATIVE INSTRUMENTS ABSYNTH, MASSIVE, FM8, REAKTOR(with RAZOR) i also use ARTURIA MINI V.
i try to keep my projects between 8 and 16 tracks (that is just how i like to do things)
i NEVER have issues of any kind unless i am using more than 2 or 3 instances of REAKTOR. (the CPU meter starts creepin') i'll usually start rendering when my CPUs start cranking up.
the only time i have ever CRASHED live or had serious issues, has been while using LOOPER to the extreme. but i rarely use LOOPER at all, so...
Last edited by eddiex on Sat Apr 13, 2013 7:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
cloud>https://soundcloud.com/eddiexdarko
i love you,please don't die.

ezelkow1
Posts: 366
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 6:22 pm

Re: Post your rock solid PC or Mac config and audio card here

Post by ezelkow1 » Sat Apr 13, 2013 6:52 pm

computer: custom built pc/ i7-2600k / 16Gb ram / Windows 7x64 ultimate
audio card: Native Instruments AudioKontrol 1

No issues except for ones caused by flaky vsts and bugs present in live itself. It can handle most anything I throw at it, but the question of glitching and slow down is very very relative to what you are doing. I could load hundreds of vsts that use almost no cpu power and it would still work fine. Load up 10 instances of diva with pads with long release times and there comes the glitching, so its fairly open ended question without a true relation between a solid hardware setup vs. what your actually doing on that hardware

RhinoInRio
Posts: 118
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 1:48 am
Location: DeutschLand
Contact:

Re: Post your rock solid PC or Mac config and audio card here

Post by RhinoInRio » Sat Apr 13, 2013 7:17 pm

Late 2011 MBP, 2.4 GHz i7, 8GB 1333, 512 SSD. OS X Lion 10.7.5, FW & USB Interfaces, 3rd party plugs. - Never had problems. 8)

Theo Void
Posts: 1021
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 3:00 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Contact:

Re: Post your rock solid PC or Mac config and audio card here

Post by Theo Void » Sat Apr 13, 2013 8:27 pm

Early 2012 MAcbook Pro 2.2 gHZ. Intel Core i7 -8 GB RAM Lion 10.7.5 - Live 9.0.2
Traktor Audio 2 DJ -

Totally Solid !!

When I need inputs to record I use my old M-Audio Fast Track Pro. The pots are crackly but Live is still solid

Also use Maschine in stand-alone and vST.
Shit ton of VST's and Traktor Pro

Muzik 4 Machines
Posts: 769
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 9:35 am

Re: Post your rock solid PC or Mac config and audio card here

Post by Muzik 4 Machines » Sat Apr 13, 2013 9:24 pm

late 2011 MBP, i7 quad 2,16 4 GB ram 500 GB hd
MOTU traveler
live 8,2,4
32 samples buffer
gives me a I/O (roundtrip) latency of 2,2 ms (and a idle load of 6%, 35% when playing and teaking al knobs i can) which is just ok to play live using live as a mixer and sequencer for my hardware synths and FX


i also use an M-audio fasttrack pro to record on the go, with 64 samples buffer

eyeknow
Posts: 5822
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:16 am

Re: Post your rock solid PC or Mac config and audio card here

Post by eyeknow » Sun Apr 14, 2013 4:05 am

Win7x64/i7 860/msi mobo/8GB ram
live 8.4 and 9.02
M-audio profire 610 48k/128 buffer

Pretty freakin' smooth! Crapload of plugs.......many many. No dongles.

Timbeaux
Posts: 754
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 11:47 am

Re: Post your rock solid PC or Mac config and audio card here

Post by Timbeaux » Mon Apr 15, 2013 9:33 am

PC: I7-2600K / 12 GB RAM / Win 7 64
Audio: NI Audio2DJ
Live 8.3 & Live 9 Suite

VST: Maschine; Massive; Reaktor; GuitarRig; Bazille; Beats Zampler; Kore; Aalto

Rocksolid, never crashes with this setup :)

i had some crashes in former time, but these where only caused by crappy Freeware VST's

filter_7
Posts: 370
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 10:05 am

Re: Post your rock solid PC or Mac config and audio card here

Post by filter_7 » Tue Apr 16, 2013 3:51 pm

Very powerful computers... I never had 12 or 16 Gb of Ram.

Other configurations?

login
Posts: 1816
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 12:41 am

Re: Post your rock solid PC or Mac config and audio card here

Post by login » Tue Apr 16, 2013 4:05 pm

Custom built pc: i5 760 / 8g ram/ 2 500g HD 7,200 rpm

Audio card: RME Fireface UC

I dont get crashes just CPU spikes while using many instances of Diva, which then I just freeze or change to draft setting.

filter_7
Posts: 370
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 10:05 am

Re: Post your rock solid PC or Mac config and audio card here

Post by filter_7 » Wed Jan 29, 2014 5:22 pm

A little bump on my post, would like to see more suggestions about rock solid audio cards for pc, let me know, thanks!

solidsilver
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2009 8:42 pm

Re: Post your rock solid PC or Mac config and audio card here

Post by solidsilver » Wed Jan 29, 2014 5:30 pm

Fireface uc. never falters on Win 7 Pro

Had a fireface 800 on my mac, drivers equally good.

Had a UA apollo, lots of -38 errors on mac, less so on Win 7

I like RME drivers whichever platform
Studio: Windows 10 Pro 4770k 4.4GHz, Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD5H, 32GB RAM, 512SSD Running latest Ableton, Cubase, ProTools, S1v3 & Wavelab
Mobile: MBP mid 2014 Retina 15", i7 2.5Ghz, 512SSD - Running Latest Ableton Live

markwphoto
Posts: 76
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 4:27 pm

Re: Post your rock solid PC or Mac config and audio card here

Post by markwphoto » Wed Jan 29, 2014 6:37 pm

Asus N53 Laptop i7 Quad Core 2.2Ghz
16GB Ram
240GB SSD Boot OS Drive
1TB Hybrid SSD Data Drive
Windows 8.1
Live 9 Standard
Reason 7

Audio:
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6
Propellerhead Balance

I love my system! It boots in 4.5 seconds to get to the Windows login screen. Live and Reason run rock solid off the Primary SSD. I keep all my data files on the hybrid SSD and they're pretty quick to access. I use the Scarlett 6i6 for performing and at home but when I travel with a lite load I usually take the Propellerhead Balance audio interface. I get low latency with both interfaces running at 48Khz. My system has never run better since going to Windows 8/8.1 and the SSD drives!

Post Reply