Trigger and stop clips with same Midi mapping

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
BobbyWoody
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 3:43 am
Location: Baltimore, MD
Contact:

Trigger and stop clips with same Midi mapping

Post by BobbyWoody » Sat Apr 13, 2013 11:58 am

Hey! I'm Bobby and I'm new working with Live. I have Live 8 (I'm saving up and learning it until I can afford Live 9), and I was wondering, how I can I use one button on my Midi Controller (an MPD32) to play and stop a clip? I've figured out how to trigger a pad to play one clip, but when I press it again, it doesn't stop. I have to trigger another button to the stop or loop button. That seems extraneous to me.
Thanks!

#1thelark
Posts: 985
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 4:06 pm

Re: Trigger and stop clips with same Midi mapping

Post by #1thelark » Sat Apr 13, 2013 12:24 pm

doubleclick on the clip, then click on the little L down left, select "toggle" for Launchmode.

BobbyWoody
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 3:43 am
Location: Baltimore, MD
Contact:

Re: Trigger and stop clips with same Midi mapping

Post by BobbyWoody » Sun Apr 14, 2013 9:29 pm

#1thelark wrote:doubleclick on the clip, then click on the little L down left, select "toggle" for Launchmode.
Thanks. I've clicked it! Now what do I do to make the one pad play and stop the clip?

dude rancher
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 10:07 pm

Re: Trigger and stop clips with same Midi mapping

Post by dude rancher » Mon Nov 25, 2019 9:27 pm

I am having the same issue. Did you figure it out?

Da hand
Posts: 1642
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2003 8:38 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Trigger and stop clips with same Midi mapping

Post by Da hand » Mon Nov 25, 2019 10:25 pm

In the clip's Launch Mode, select Toggle. So in the picture below, instead of Trigger, you would select Toggle.

Image

Manual: Launch Modes
https://www.ableton.com/en/manual/launc ... unch-modes

dude rancher
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 10:07 pm

Re: Trigger and stop clips with same Midi mapping

Post by dude rancher » Mon Nov 25, 2019 10:38 pm

Thanks...turns out my problem is a little different. Im trying to stop a scene with the same midi note that I am using to trigger a sample in the drumrack. Any ideas?

Da hand
Posts: 1642
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2003 8:38 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Trigger and stop clips with same Midi mapping

Post by Da hand » Mon Nov 25, 2019 11:18 pm

dude rancher wrote:
Mon Nov 25, 2019 10:38 pm
Thanks...turns out my problem is a little different. Im trying to stop a scene with the same midi note that I am using to trigger a sample in the drumrack. Any ideas?
There are two ways to interpret your question. Are you asking:

1) how to launch (or stop) a scene with a midi note from a clip?
2) or you have already mapped one note from a clip to launch a scene and another note to stop a scene, but you want to toggle the scene to start and stop playing with the same note?

If it is 1),

You will need to use a MIDI loopback - either virtually (On MAC: IAC, on PC: MIDI OX, Bome'sM IDI Translator) or physically (with a MIDI cable) - to MIDI map a scene launch play or stop button to the note CC.

If it is 2)

If you notice, a scene doesn't play really - it is only a control that is momentarily activated to launch a row of clips (like a pad on a controller) and the clips are the ones that are actually playing. So if you set your clip or clips to Toggle Launch Mode, then when you launch the scene for the first time, the clips will play normally. When you launch the same scene for the second time - the clip(s) in Toggle mode will stop playing.

dude rancher
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 10:07 pm

Re: Trigger and stop clips with same Midi mapping

Post by dude rancher » Mon Nov 25, 2019 11:35 pm

Basically I have scenes that are triggered from a drumpad....works great. Next I need to be able to stop the scenes with another drumpad that is triggering drum fills, samples, one shots in a nested drumrack. I need to move from session view loops to samples and back again for improvisation with a electronic drumkit. Any ideas or workarounds would be greatly appreciated.

Post Reply