using top rMBP - Live 9.0.2 ONLY prog that beach balls.. !

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Fantismo
Posts: 184
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 2:00 pm
Location: Brentwood, Essex, UK

using top rMBP - Live 9.0.2 ONLY prog that beach balls.. !

Post by Fantismo » Tue Apr 16, 2013 9:27 pm

What is going on with ableton.. live 9 is so shit.
the MOMENT it opens.. beach ball.. fresh install of osx - fresh install of live.. beach ball.
browse to saved preset.. beach ball..
double click a saved channel preset beach ball..
FFS..

im done with ableton.

i have the top of the line rMBP cost me over 2k.. 16 gig of ram.. SSD...

W

T

F


please god save me.

ive been with ableton since version 4.. SPEND SOME MONEY ON PROPER DEVELOPERS.

Tarekith
Posts: 17455
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: using top rMBP - Live 9.0.2 ONLY prog that beach balls.. !

Post by Tarekith » Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:14 pm

Not seeing any of that on my rMBP here. You have a 3rd party plug installed that's maybe not compatible?

SuburbanThug
Posts: 1479
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 9:22 am
Contact:

Re: using top rMBP - Live 9.0.2 ONLY prog that beach balls.. !

Post by SuburbanThug » Tue Apr 16, 2013 11:12 pm

I don't get any either. It's not super snappy or anything but I haven't seen any beachballs yet.

nbinder
Posts: 867
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 1:47 pm

Re: using top rMBP - Live 9.0.2 ONLY prog that beach balls.. !

Post by nbinder » Wed Apr 17, 2013 7:11 am

Huge library and Live's "new browser" is still indexing it...?

DataMusic
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 11:11 pm

Re: using top rMBP - Live 9.0.2 ONLY prog that beach balls.. !

Post by DataMusic » Wed Apr 17, 2013 8:29 am

get a PC, live runs better on windows

and that is comming from a machead

Acid303
Posts: 213
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 12:07 am

Re: using top rMBP - Live 9.0.2 ONLY prog that beach balls.. !

Post by Acid303 » Thu Jun 27, 2013 1:31 pm

I'm getting plenty of these too. Takes ages (sometimes a few minutes) to open, then beachball when I first try and select something. I was thinking maybe I need an SSD but this didn't happen with Live 8. Sometimes I can get hangs of 30 sec to 1 min. This sucks big time. Must be their fault. This is still the same with 9.0.4 too.

TYLRbass
Posts: 277
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 8:51 pm

Re: using top rMBP - Live 9.0.2 ONLY prog that beach balls.. !

Post by TYLRbass » Thu Jun 27, 2013 3:11 pm

Live 9 has always done this to me, even in the beta phase if I remember correctly.

My library should be completely indexed and I haven't been adding/subtracting anything and yet it still beach balls for a good 30 seconds on every launch, can't do anything until it is finished doing it's thing.. I'm going to assume it is the library indexing business but I can't say for sure.
Image

pencilrocket
Posts: 1718
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 10:46 am

Re: using top rMBP - Live 9.0.2 ONLY prog that beach balls.. !

Post by pencilrocket » Fri Jun 28, 2013 8:50 am

run win on mac. it runs Live smoother.
Image

cids
Posts: 480
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2004 5:53 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands

Re: using top rMBP - Live 9.0.2 ONLY prog that beach balls.. !

Post by cids » Fri Jun 28, 2013 11:23 am

Don't listening to the nonsense reactions... try to solve the problem, Live 9 runs fine on Mac.
Mac Pro 2.66Ghz Quad-Core

Genelec 8020; Live 10; macOS Mojave 10.14

Novation ReMOTE 49SL Compact, Focusrite Saffire Pro 14

Fantismo
Posts: 184
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 2:00 pm
Location: Brentwood, Essex, UK

Re: using top rMBP - Live 9.0.2 ONLY prog that beach balls.. !

Post by Fantismo » Fri Jun 28, 2013 11:49 am

the only one that doesnt beach ball on mac is 9.0.5 beta. thats my truth homeboy.

pencilrocket
Posts: 1718
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 10:46 am

Re: using top rMBP - Live 9.0.2 ONLY prog that beach balls.. !

Post by pencilrocket » Fri Jun 28, 2013 1:38 pm

cids wrote:Don't listening to the nonsense reactions... try to solve the problem, Live 9 runs fine on Mac.
it's not nonsense. some people fixes issues by running on win. You just don't know.
Image

Acid303
Posts: 213
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 12:07 am

Re: using top rMBP - Live 9.0.2 ONLY prog that beach balls.. !

Post by Acid303 » Sun Jun 30, 2013 11:10 am

TYLRbass wrote:Live 9 has always done this to me, even in the beta phase if I remember correctly.

My library should be completely indexed and I haven't been adding/subtracting anything and yet it still beach balls for a good 30 seconds on every launch, can't do anything until it is finished doing it's thing.. I'm going to assume it is the library indexing business but I can't say for sure.
Same here.

Moosebear
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 10:46 pm

Re: using top rMBP - Live 9.0.2 ONLY prog that beach balls.. !

Post by Moosebear » Sun Jun 30, 2013 12:02 pm

Hmnn. This is concerning. I am thinking about getting one of the new MBPr Haswell machines when they come out. This would be a conversion to the Mac side for me: what attracts me more than anything else is the quality tech support. But with this thread, I'm finding myself wondering if I should get a windows machine instead... anyone else have the Beta 9.05 running smoother on a MBPr?

Acid303
Posts: 213
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 12:07 am

Re: using top rMBP - Live 9.0.2 ONLY prog that beach balls.. !

Post by Acid303 » Sun Jun 30, 2013 12:59 pm

Moosebear wrote:Hmnn. This is concerning. I am thinking about getting one of the new MBPr Haswell machines when they come out. This would be a conversion to the Mac side for me: what attracts me more than anything else is the quality tech support. But with this thread, I'm finding myself wondering if I should get a windows machine instead... anyone else have the Beta 9.05 running smoother on a MBPr?

Hi, just downloaded the latest beta 32 bit and it is running much better - fast startup - no beachball on menus. This is more like it.

Moosebear
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 10:46 pm

Re: using top rMBP - Live 9.0.2 ONLY prog that beach balls.. !

Post by Moosebear » Sun Jun 30, 2013 4:54 pm

Oh great thanks Acid. Forgive if this is discussed elsewhere, but is the retina display problem also resolved now for Live 9 fonts?

Post Reply