Sync Video on external monitor with Live

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Ssssharpmusic
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 5:55 am

Sync Video on external monitor with Live

Post by Ssssharpmusic » Sun Apr 21, 2013 2:01 pm

Hi All,
I have a spare PC and would like to use it as slave Video player so that I can run Live on my main system (iMac) while syncing to video for composing. I'm wondering if this is possible to do it with live 9 (and network midi).

Thanks,
Kal

BobSubgenius
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 3:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Sync Video on external monitor with Live

Post by BobSubgenius » Tue Sep 27, 2016 9:13 am

Hello Kal,
I know this thread is already a bit older but did you find a solution back then? I would like to do exactly the same, that's why.
Thanks!

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 2692
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: Sync Video on external monitor with Live

Post by [jur] » Tue Sep 27, 2016 10:04 am

Hi bob,
Simply connect a 2 monitor to your computer and drag Live's video window on it...
Ableton Forum Moderator

BobSubgenius
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 3:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Sync Video on external monitor with Live

Post by BobSubgenius » Tue Sep 27, 2016 10:33 am

Hey thanks for your quick reply! The thing with the 2nd monitor is how I am doing it now, but I want to free up some CPU on the main machine and also be able to use the 2nd screen for plugin windows.

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 2692
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: Sync Video on external monitor with Live

Post by [jur] » Tue Sep 27, 2016 11:03 am

Ableton Forum Moderator

BobSubgenius
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 3:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Sync Video on external monitor with Live

Post by BobSubgenius » Tue Sep 27, 2016 11:09 am

That's what I thought as well but the other computer is so old it can only take mac OS 10.6. maximum. The hardware just can't do more. And Link needs the latest version of Live which needs at least 10.7. as far as I understood?

dougdi
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 2:45 am

Re: Sync Video on external monitor with Live

Post by dougdi » Tue Sep 27, 2016 2:17 pm

Here's a free tool that may work if you run Live with Max4Live on the second pc. These are amxd files, I believe they work on OSX or Windows.

http://showsync.info/tools/livesync/
Doug

BobSubgenius
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 3:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Sync Video on external monitor with Live

Post by BobSubgenius » Tue Sep 27, 2016 2:33 pm

Thanks but this also requires the seconds computer to run Live 9. Live 9 needs at least OS 10.7. but the machine is so old I can't upgrade higher than 10.6. due to hardware limitations.
Guess I have to find a very old school solution to the problem :)

dougdi
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 2:45 am

Re: Sync Video on external monitor with Live

Post by dougdi » Tue Sep 27, 2016 3:10 pm

I wonder if MTC would work. Not as accurate as SMPTE though.
Doug

dougdi
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 2:45 am

Re: Sync Video on external monitor with Live

Post by dougdi » Tue Sep 27, 2016 3:13 pm

Doug

BobSubgenius
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 3:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Sync Video on external monitor with Live

Post by BobSubgenius » Tue Sep 27, 2016 7:02 pm

Thanks again! I was hoping for an easy method without 2 interfaces and midi cables but I guess you can't have it all :-)

Post Reply